Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Extreme Speed Prop Planes
Reload this Page >

Experts, please weigh in

Notices
Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Experts, please weigh in

Old 06-20-2011, 10:42 AM
ckombo
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Experts, please weigh in

So, I am new to the speed-plane world, so please bear with me on my limited understanding of the physics behind what makes 1 aircraft faster than another.

Basically, i have a .75 OS 2 stroke that i will be putting in on one of the following planes running a 10x10 prop or an 11x10. The planes are:

1. Sundowner 50
-63" wingspan
-7lbs
-Thin airfoil

2. Phoenix Extra 300 (40-size)
-58" wingspan
-6lbs
-Thicker airfoil

Can you all help me understand which plane would ultimately fly faster? Even though the Extra has a larger airfoil, does the fact that 5" shorter wingspan make up for it in drag coefficient?

Perhaps a Jackal would be a better "speed" plane, but i jsut dont think i can fit the .75AX in it...
Old 06-20-2011, 01:38 PM
Pylonracr

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Experts, please weigh in

I see a few people have read this and no one has responded, so I will begin with a very basic answer to get people thinking. The basic physics of the situation is this.

Speed = thrust - drag.
The thrust is fairly easy on a basic level, prop efficiency, rpm unload in the air, prop blade airfoil at any given speed, etc. all contribute to thrust.
Drag, on the other hand, gets complex quickly. Static drag is caused by direct wind resistance, ie, Frontal area, airfoil thickness, cylinder head in the airstream, etc.