Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

What if this were RC?

Reply

Old 06-26-2011, 12:24 PM
  #1  
Kmot
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Kmot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 10,941
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default What if this were RC?

Could a ukie speedster be converted to radio control? Would this thing be able to fly without the support of the u-control wires?

It certainly looks like it would be fast!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...#ht_500wt_1156
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Gd93875.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	38.5 KB
ID:	1627965   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ql34537.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	34.5 KB
ID:	1627966   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wb74977.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	29.6 KB
ID:	1627967   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dx67596.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	40.4 KB
ID:	1627968   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ju11694.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	24.1 KB
ID:	1627969   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ul79665.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	24.6 KB
ID:	1627970  
Kmot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 02:37 PM
  #2  
Pylonracr
 
Pylonracr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 846
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What if this were RC?

Holy crap that thing looks fast!!!

I know absolutely nothing about that plane but it looks cool. I does not appear to have much wing, so it will probably have to go quite fast to stay in the air. The F4 was the perfect example of if you put enough thrust on a brick it will fly, and they actually flew fairly well. Didn't land worth beans, but they flew pretty well.

All kidding aside, with not much wing area it will have to be pretty light to have any chance of flying well enough to make you want to fly it a second time. I have a couple of stupid fast planes that I flew once.. Measure the wing area and figure the weight, that should give you an idea of what it will be. A small plane should be able to use standard size high torque servos, figure 1.5 Oz each, a .7Oz micro servo for throttle if it has one. I make 800ma LiPo receiver packs, use a 6v regulator from Batteries America, about 1.6 Oz for both.

A pound per 100 Square inches wing area flies pretty well. Much more than that landing speed becomes an issue.

Keep us posted.
Pylonracr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 02:51 PM
  #3  
combatpigg
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
combatpigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: arlington, WA
Posts: 19,891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What if this were RC?

I've messed around with hybrid control line speed / RC planes and the weight of the onboard equipment penalizes you in a hurry. I've come up with compromise designs that are pretty fast and easy enough to handle in the .049-.061 power range.
The .15 size has all kinds of potential that I've never played with. I think 180-200 mph is doable with a world class engine prepped for competition.
combatpigg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 06:45 PM
  #4  
Kmot
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Kmot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 10,941
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What if this were RC?

Not mine pylonracr, I just spotted it on the auction site. I also thought it looked pretty awesome!
Kmot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 06:52 PM
  #5  
Pylonracr
 
Pylonracr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 846
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What if this were RC?

Darn it. I was looking forward to seeing a video of it going a buck eighty next month. Oh well, it is a cool looking plane.

Who wants to be the first person to build one????
Pylonracr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 12:00 PM
  #6  
airraptor
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fairfield, CA
Posts: 4,191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What if this were RC?

for that plane the answer is no. you would not have enough aileron to control the torgue roll on the launch. in the CL flight the wires prevent it from rolling over. now if you scalle that plane up to around 250-300 sq and add to the fus lenght then it might work.

Now if the plane is cheap then but it. Add some servo's anyway and throw it on the flight line with your other planes. Then ask if anyone wants to race you. LOL
airraptor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 01:41 PM
  #7  
Pylonracr
 
Pylonracr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 846
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What if this were RC?

I guess this plane would not even have to fly to win races, just set it out and scare people with it. Maybe start it once in a while if it is loud...
Pylonracr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 01:53 PM
  #8  
Kmot
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (24)
 
Kmot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 10,941
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What if this were RC?


ORIGINAL: airraptor
throw it on the flight line with your other planes. Then ask if anyone wants to race you. LOL
Hahahaha!! Awesome idea!
Kmot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 04:23 PM
  #9  
B Shipp
Senior Member
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Johns Island, SC
Posts: 185
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What if this were RC?

I don't think I would be able to see it after 100'
B Shipp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 05:44 PM
  #10  
foodstick
 
foodstick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ankeny, IA
Posts: 5,551
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What if this were RC?

I think vision would be the weakest link as well !
foodstick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 07:07 PM
  #11  
Pylonracr
 
Pylonracr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 846
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What if this were RC?

You need to enable the Binoco-Vision feature. It is usually the switch on the top left of the transmitter.
Pylonracr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 08:11 AM
  #12  
iron eagel
 
iron eagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Middleboro, MA
Posts: 3,271
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: What if this were RC?

It looks fast just sitting there!
It would be an interesting experiment to see if it could be reworked for R/C.
Although with a $500 price tag I'd be tempted to build my own version of it for R/C before buying it.
To me it looks a bit like the Bell X1...
iron eagel is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service