Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Shrike 40/Aileron one servo set/up

Reply

Old 08-20-2003, 10:35 AM
  #1  
Q-Ball
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 554
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Shrike 40/Aileron one servo set/up

I've got one Shrike with the two aileron servo set up and thought I'd go with a one servo setup on this new one to save weight and being our runway is a soft mat,the servos won't drag on the mat when landing.
On page 7,para 1,it sounds simple but doing it is a different story.
The aileron rods that I bought have the 90 degree bend on the threaded end but the other end that inserts in the aileron is straight.The problem is that you can't glue the brass bushing in the grooved stick,glue the stick to the trailing edge and THEN insert the rods thru the bushing from the inside of the fuse.

This is probably confusing so I'll shut up and hope someone out there ran into the same problem and has gone with the one servo set/up and remember how you did it.

Thanx a mil.
Walt
Q-Ball is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2003, 12:27 PM
  #2  
krayzc-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 7,415
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Shrike 40/Aileron one servo set/up

look at a trainer plane and set your one aileron up the same way.....
krayzc-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2003, 01:53 PM
  #3  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Re: Shrike 40/Aileron one servo set/up

It has been a couple of years since I built mine but I don't remember it being a big problem. It seems like I put the torque rods and bushings in as a unit already bent and then glued the trailing edge on. I do remember using thicker CA so it wouldn't get on and restrict movement of the torque rod.

I would do it this way again to save weight and drag. Just make sure to use 4-40 rods and keep things tight to avoid flutter. I over sanded the ailerons and had flutter at high speeds untill I used a 1/64 ply strip over the gap. I ran a Jett 50 on mine.
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2003, 07:51 PM
  #4  
Shawn Palmer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Castle Creations
Posts: 6
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Shrike 40/Aileron one servo set/up

I did mine the same way - bent after the tubing install, then glue on Aileron.

Shawn
Shawn Palmer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2003, 12:20 AM
  #5  
Q-Ball
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 554
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I got it..

OK,it was late at nite the first time I tried to figure it out so the head wasn't working too well but the next day it all worked out. Got em' in and looking good.
Thanx a bunch Guys.

Mike...Great lookin' web page,really.Very well done.

Thanx again...Walt
Happy flying......
Q-Ball is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service