Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Extreme Speed Prop Planes
Reload this Page >

??? on setup for GP Patriot

Community
Search
Notices
Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

??? on setup for GP Patriot

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2003, 11:59 PM
FUZZ

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ??? on setup for GP Patriot

I been considering on moving up to speed plane. I have been flying for a few years now. I have flown a couple of 40 size pattern planes that would move at around 100mph +, and I have built many 40 and 60 size planes and even a few giant scale planes. I Think I have finally narrowed my selection to one of the Great Planes Patriot kits.
Now,... My question is this... What is the most popular setup for this plane? I will be flying on a paved runway and was also looking into retracts. I was kinda leaning to a mechanical set. What retracts would be best and what engine combo? I saw that several people were using a YS45 and several different types of Jett engines and have even read posts of people using a .46FX. I am leaning to one of the sport Jett engines,.... What would be the best size for the Patriot? I would like the best possible setup that can get me in the 150mph range for the lowest amount of $$$. I need to hurry and get the info sent to Mrs. Claus aka "The Wife",...lol

Thanks,
FUZZ
Old 12-17-2003, 12:56 AM
Razor-RCU
My Feedback: (50)

Default RE: ??? on setup for GP Patriot

Good question!