Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

G.P. Patriot drivers

Reply

Old 05-20-2002, 04:03 AM
  #1  
astrohog
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
astrohog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 1,724
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default G.P. Patriot drivers

I just picked up a Great Planes Patriot. It is my first propjet. it seems to be a popular model, so let's see em guys.. Also, what are ya all using to power yours. I have a Webra .50 on mine, but it doesn't seem too awfully fast. I have an HP .61 lying around that I may try in the future. Anybody ever clocked theirs? What can I realistically expect out of this plane speedwise? I think I am probably close to 100 mph. right now (Webra .50, no pipe, no retracts) I do have another wing kit I will build and put retracts in it. Give me some feedback, guys!!!

regards,


Jeff
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	11669_338.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	63.1 KB
ID:	7834  
astrohog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2002, 01:09 PM
  #2  
Bob Parker
My Feedback: (18)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wabash, IN
Posts: 239
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Patriot

Must say your Patriot looks a lot fancier than mine, mine is done up in charcoal with two white strips under wing. It was clocked by Wabash police at 140mph at a fly in that we have there. It has a Webra speed 50 with a 10/9 prop, but my fast one is a Shrike 40 with a speed 50 and a pipe. would like to post pics but not sure how to. I have a new kit that i would like to have retracs in.
Bob Parker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2002, 06:58 PM
  #3  
MMallory
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: South Plainfield, NJ
Posts: 1,148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default G.P. Patriot drivers

Jeff,

What prop are you using? The right prop and smooth flying are keys to speed.

Mark M.
MMallory is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2002, 11:54 PM
  #4  
Dustflyer
My Feedback: (13)
 
Dustflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 913
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Patriot

From everything I've seen it takes a lot of work to get a Patriot much over 150 mph, but apparently one guy has done it. Check out Bob Holmes at the www.jettengineering.com "Hall of Fame." He claims to have clocked his at 190 with, get this, a Jett 90 for power!
Dustflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2002, 03:37 PM
  #5  
Steve Collins
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St.Charles, MO
Posts: 2,662
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default G.P. Patriot drivers

Patriot

A flying buddy of mine has one of these that we radared at 142 mph in level flight. He has a YS .45 with Performance Specialties Ultra-Thrust muffler. It is equipped with retracts. When the plane was built, he left off those flat simulated intakes so this contributes to the speed potential.

A few years ago, a fellow pilot had one without the simulated intakes which was powered by a Webra GT .50 using the Webra Q500 muffler. I don't recall the specific radar reading on this one but it was in the low 170s to the astonishment of all the folks at the field that day. I do not know what prop he was running.

The Jett .50 would be the ideal engines for this plane.
Steve Collins is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2002, 02:01 AM
  #6  
AeroD79
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
AeroD79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Placentia, CA
Posts: 105
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default G.P. Patriot drivers

does anyone have this kit for sale ? This plane fits well to my needs but discontinued
AeroD79 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2002, 11:24 PM
  #7  
Steve Collins
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St.Charles, MO
Posts: 2,662
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default G.P. Patriot drivers

A better choice than the Cermark F-20 is the Direct Connection F-20 ARC. You could use the Jett .50 and go much faster than the Cermark with Jett .90.
Steve Collins is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2002, 12:37 AM
  #8  
Cyclic Hardover
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Cyclic Hardover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Mexico,
Posts: 7,296
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default G.P. Patriot drivers

Originally posted by aptar
A better choice than the Cermark F-20 is the Direct Connection F-20 ARC. You could use the Jett .50 and go much faster than the Cermark with Jett .90.
*I have both. The DC Tigershark with a MVVS .40 Q500. I am in the middle of "bashing" the Cermark F-20. All I am really doing is stripping the butt ugly red and recovering in charcoal gray. I am going to run the new Jett 1.0.
* Frankly the Cermark is the best deal going right now. Comes with an aluminum spinner and nice set of (hobbico clone) retracts.
One more thing is you better get it quick, they are discontinued and not many left. Call them first.
Cyclic Hardover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2002, 11:35 PM
  #9  
Flyboy Dave
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pinon Hills, CA
Posts: 13,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default G.P. Patriot drivers

If you put up a Cermark .60 size F-20...don"t mount the elevator servo like they say...mine came loose on the first flight and crashed.

Cut a hole in the horiz. stab., and bolt the servo rails through two thin plywood doublers...right onto the stab. Use a #4 metal rod to connect to the elevator horn. The servo will be sticking through, and is exposed...but a simple shroud can be made to cover it.

This may sound extreme, and perhaps "mickey"....but this mod is not optional...It's a must.

I learned this one the hard way. It took two weeks to rebuild, plus putting a new crankcase on the engine.

Here's the current state of the .40, and the .60.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	14858_5977.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	15.7 KB
ID:	7835  
Flyboy Dave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2002, 11:53 PM
  #10  
Flyboy Dave
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pinon Hills, CA
Posts: 13,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default G.P. Patriot drivers

Here's a pic of the servo mod....has a skid over it. My Bud... Airgar, put a cover over his...a little neater.

The retracts that come with the plane are junk. Get a set of Robart #609 HD's...mechanicals, heavy duty.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	14863_5977.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	27.9 KB
ID:	7836  
Flyboy Dave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2002, 12:11 AM
  #11  
Dave Barrow-RCU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Covington, KY
Posts: 481
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default G.P. Patriot drivers

My Patriot has a ST Como.51 with Mac's tuned pipe, 10x8 wood prop, Hobbico retracts, Red Monokote with white trim. It's in the shop for repairs, will get pic after completed.
Dave Barrow-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2002, 05:54 PM
  #12  
hattend
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: King Salmon, AK
Posts: 2,419
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default G.P. Patriot drivers

Originally posted by AeroD79
does anyone have this kit for sale ? This plane fits well to my needs but discontinued
I was looking for a replacement for the Patriot as well and found these guys:
http://www.rcwarplane.com/sweep02.html

I haven't built mine yet. I bought two. One will be stock and the other will be swept forward.

Here's my Patriot (ST .51/no retracts). Built for sport flying not ripping up the radar gun (I have a Holy Smoke for that).
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	16801_3.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	69.9 KB
ID:	7837  
hattend is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2002, 06:47 AM
  #13  
seller20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Needham, MA
Posts: 50
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default G.P. Patriot drivers

I am selling a new in box patriot kit. For more info email me at udahan@attbi.com
seller20 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2002, 05:45 PM
  #14  
Razor-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (50)
 
Razor-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mira Mesa, CA
Posts: 5,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Servos for Patriot?

Can standard servos be used in this plane? I was going to use my system from my Sig SE ( 148's and 3003? non BB..), but at high speed, do I need BB servos?

Thanks,
james
Razor-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2002, 03:53 AM
  #15  
Razor-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (50)
 
Razor-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mira Mesa, CA
Posts: 5,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Oops!

Sorry about that: I missed the question... I am "planning" on using a just broken in Irvine .53, stock, then prob. with a Macs or PS pipe!

Later,
james
Razor-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2002, 11:35 AM
  #16  
Dave Barrow-RCU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Covington, KY
Posts: 481
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default G.P. Patriot drivers

I used standard S-148 Futaba's in mine, with a ST Como .51 and Mac's pipe. They seemed to work fine, just check them regularly for play.
Dave Barrow-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2002, 02:12 AM
  #17  
F900
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ft.Lauderdale , FL
Posts: 406
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default f-20

Flyboy Dave,

if your elevator servo tray came loose, and you know the crash was due to fault due the tray came loose, why did you not call Cemark and get a new one rather than rebuild a crashed F-20.

If its a known problem with the servo tray, 1st thing i'd do is call them and make them aware of what happened and ask for a replacement.
F900 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2002, 01:29 PM
  #18  
Flyboy Dave
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pinon Hills, CA
Posts: 13,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default F-20 crash

I did call 'em...they bounced me around...and finally I talked to a man (the plane guy) and he was totalally unsympethetic my problem...."said there hadn't been any problems".

They wouldn't even give me a discount on my next order. You know how them places are....you catch 'em in a good mood...and they'll help you out. Catch 'em in a bad mood...and they don't want to hear it.

I've been flyin' RC for a long time....and considered it my fault for not spotting the weak design...and modifying the servo mount in the first place. At the very least...I could have screwed the servo mounts to the Horiz. Stab from the outside. ( using spruce )

I didn't even use the balsa/ply mounts they sent.

Had I been an IRATE COSTUMER....who knows....

The next plane I put up was their 40 size F-20. I mounted the servo in the cabin (not in the back) and used a fiber-glass rod...and haven't had a problem.
Flyboy Dave is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service