Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Magnum problems

Reply

Old 06-13-2002, 11:14 AM
  #1  
evan-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
evan-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

I've got my Magnum built and have a couple of questions for any one else that has one. First the firewall gave the engine 1.5-2 degrees of down thrust, is this normal, I wouldn't think so. I swapped out almost all the hardware. For the elevator pushrods I used the origanal outer tubes with the Sullivan carbon inner tubes, how does the original joiner hold up? Quality was a major problem, the whole planes covering had to be reheated especially the fauxcarbon trim which needed a higher heat that the yellow to finally stick, and I'm still not sure it'll stay on. I use R/C car chassis protector plastic sheet to protect the belly for landing. Where is this plane normally hurt on landings? What prop are people using? Is the CG pretty accurate? How stable is the lauch compared to a Diamond Dust?
evan-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2002, 04:53 PM
  #2  
MMallory
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: South Plainfield, NJ
Posts: 1,148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

Evan,

If you have that many problems you might want to sent it back for an exchange. Mine didn't need any more heat shrinking than any other ARF. If I remember, my instructions didn't specify a CG so I called JD and got it from them. I can measure for you when I get home. I didn't notice down thrust. I just mounted the engine and went flying. So far, the weird elevator set-up is working fine. Launch is actually a little more stable than the dust.

One problem I did have was the tank split. I know that's what I deserve for using the ARF pre-packaged stuff. No damage to date from belly landings on grass (no extra protection). Added Q500 gear to make this a one man operation.

Mark M.
MMallory is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2002, 06:21 PM
  #3  
Cactus.
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Cactus.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: CamborneCornwall, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 6,136
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

3 magnums here and no covering problems, even the original one is still fine, tatty but fine. yes original, it has the markings on the firewall the ARTF was cut from.
gear installed and the WXL 46 fitted CofG was spot on, the West 50 makes it slighty nose heavy.
i was a bit suspect when i saw those elevator joiners, but all 4 have them and they dont suffer flutter, i would have gone the CF route as well.
firewall is factory fitted, if the film dosnt show signs the firewall isnt butted perfect against the fuz fit your engine and fly.
all 3 fuzes have scores on the underbelly and one has ding in the LE, but this is from rock hard cow and sheep $h*t and the spikes for the fencer.
props here so far for the West 50 and 5% prosynth is the APC 9x8
to launch get your little helper to put the throwing hand behind the wing, support the nose, rev up, check for pilots nod and gentle throw forwards then duck.
i dont know what links you got, but for my "first off line" Cougar i got the worst plastic excuse for links i've ever seen. they got binned.
Cactus. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2002, 07:06 AM
  #4  
Tobias Schlegl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Heidelberg, GERMANY
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

I just finished mine and I also had problems with
the faked carbon decals. After several tries with the iron I finally fixed the sharp edges with CA.
For the maiden flight i will use a 9x7 and then will switch to an 8x8 or 8x10 (all APC).
Tobias Schlegl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2002, 10:02 AM
  #5  
Cactus.
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Cactus.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: CamborneCornwall, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 6,136
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

8x10's are weak and you'll see stress fractures after a few flights, thats if you dont snap it first landing. no one will use that prop here now
i've also been told that if you want to go quick, dont go over 7 - 8 in pitch
Cactus. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2002, 04:23 PM
  #6  
jlong34016
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: columbus, OR,
Posts: 365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 8x10 prop

Is this a cut down 10x10? Mine is quite beefy and i cant imagine it breaking.
jlong34016 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2002, 05:40 PM
  #7  
Cactus.
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Cactus.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: CamborneCornwall, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 6,136
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

nope, standard 8X10's
the guy that had the MVVS40 muts nuts engine was breaking them for a past time even tho they seams to be slightly faster.
to me they seam thin at the root. it could be the bellylanding and long grass, but it isnt a problem to the other props.
he only used them for a few months. 18 months ago

it'll be interesting to see what people are getting out of these West 50's, of course the Weston UK one that flew here a few weeks ago blew the locals away. more % nitro, more engine tuning, dun matter, got another one on the shelf, just have to impress the punters for a weekend
Cactus. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2002, 12:56 AM
  #8  
Isaac F
Senior Member
 
Isaac F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Panama Republic. of Panama , PANAMA
Posts: 387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

Well, I am expecting to receive my Magnum/West 50 in a few day.
I hope to not encounter probrem with the cover.

I was in the hobby shop this past saturday and they dont have any APC in 9 x anything

They have APC 10 x 3 to 10 x 7


The have does black Master Airscrew in 9 x 6, 9 x 7, 9 x 8 etc

So wich one do you recomend me to use to make breaking???

I wich one for flying???
Isaac F is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2002, 08:14 AM
  #9  
Cactus.
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Cactus.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: CamborneCornwall, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 6,136
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

forget the Masters, unsafe at these speeds.
you NEED! that 9x7 APC or 8x8 even if you have to ask Weston to put a few in the box for you. you may be able to use a 10x6, but you might as well have brought a trainer
Cactus. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2002, 10:09 AM
  #10  
evan-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
evan-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

The faux carbon definitly has no glue backing. Both mine and another friend, hear that Guido???, friend have the same problem, it just peels off. Mine had about 3 of down thrust, two washers under the front mounting bolts and it was close enough to fly. Flew three flights yesterday, I used a 8X9 prop and tried a 9X7. It flys about the same speed as my Dust, but is a bit more stable and airplanish. Everything does seem to be holing up well. I had a problem with the tank leaking around the stopper, I really had to crank down on the screw to get it to stop, a sullivan stopper or tank are in the future. I don't think this will be a self lauch plane like the Dust or Outlaw are. Anyone doing their own launching?
evan-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2002, 11:07 AM
  #11  
Cactus.
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Cactus.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: CamborneCornwall, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 6,136
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

im gonna have to look at my friends magnums to see this down thrust thing.
i know one has lost a canopy carbon bit, but wings are ok
we lauch for each other so they havent tried yet, there is one guy with the flat sheet old version and a standard 46, and he launches ok, underarm type lob.
Cactus. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2002, 11:46 AM
  #12  
MMallory
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: South Plainfield, NJ
Posts: 1,148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

Evan,

Replace the entire tank and not just the stopper. My tank split on both sides of the stopper. I now have 5 flights on the plane with Q500 gear. The plane is self launching and the speed decrease isn't too much. I just glued a piece of 1/4" ply on the bottom of the fuse under the tank and bolted the gear to it. Simple, light and it works. I put a wing tip skid on the tail.

Mark M.
MMallory is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2002, 01:27 AM
  #13  
Isaac F
Senior Member
 
Isaac F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Panama Republic. of Panama , PANAMA
Posts: 387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

Today I receive my Magnum and the covering looks OK

The only complain I have at this moment is that I do not receive the silicone coupling that atach the header and the pipe


I hope I have time this week to beguin to asemble it.


Isaac
Isaac F is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2002, 11:30 AM
  #14  
evan-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
evan-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

Try peeling up th carbon covering at the back of one of the tips, none of the ones I know of had the coupler....
evan-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2002, 02:08 PM
  #15  
Sawyer692-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redding, CA
Posts: 692
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

Are you guys obtaining the speeds this plane claims? 185 mph?
Sawyer692-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2002, 02:18 PM
  #16  
evan-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
evan-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

Pretty close if not....
evan-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2002, 05:48 PM
  #17  
Isaac F
Senior Member
 
Isaac F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Panama Republic. of Panama , PANAMA
Posts: 387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

About the Pipe installation in the Magnum. It says to atach the pipe to the fuse with a plastic thing and two plastic tie raps.

My question is this plastic thing can be melted by the hot pipe??

Isaac
Isaac F is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2002, 06:10 PM
  #18  
Cactus.
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Cactus.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: CamborneCornwall, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 6,136
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

nope, the plastic is able to cope, and that part of the pipe isnt the hotest bit, cable ties also hold up ok. dont skimp on the joiner, cheap stuff will melt and blow out.
make sure that pipe holeer is on a washer or block inside the fuz and wont vibrate loose, also the pipe and header should not touch, 2mm gap is right.
Cactus. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2002, 01:38 AM
  #19  
Isaac F
Senior Member
 
Isaac F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Panama Republic. of Panama , PANAMA
Posts: 387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

Also, can I use regular servos on the Magnum or do I have to put Hi Torque ones???

The instrucctions dont say anything about this

I dont have any Torque ones Can I use JR 517 servos???
Isaac F is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2002, 07:24 AM
  #20  
Cactus.
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Cactus.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: CamborneCornwall, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 6,136
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

hi torque servos are best, but the ones here have the standard Futaba 3004's, but ballraced versions, 3009's? no flutter problems so far
Cactus. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2002, 12:01 PM
  #21  
evan-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
evan-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

I have 9303s in mine, anything fast you should use coreless servos so they center good, or you'll find yourself always going slightly left or right and decent torque, I've lost planes coming out of a high speed dive before..... better safe than sorry....
evan-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2002, 12:54 PM
  #22  
Tobias Schlegl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Heidelberg, GERMANY
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

I don't think torque is an issue but speed (and precision of course) so I used the Hitec 525 instead of the 545 I also found in my boxes.
Tobias Schlegl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2002, 12:05 AM
  #23  
Isaac F
Senior Member
 
Isaac F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Panama Republic. of Panama , PANAMA
Posts: 387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

Well, I have some 525.................... So you recomend to put fast servos in elevator and aileron or just in elevator???

Putting fast servos is not going to be to sensitive?????

I was tinking of use exponential????


any advise will be welcome,

THX

Isaac
Isaac F is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2002, 07:16 AM
  #24  
Tobias Schlegl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Heidelberg, GERMANY
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

I have 525 on both and on the ailerons the Magnum is indeed very sensitive but I think it's the bird not the servo - maybe I will try a piezo some day. On elevator my Magnum is very lazy with a conservative CG at 120 mm. I also thought about using expo on aileron but stoped using it years ago on when I switched from thumb only to three fingers stick control.
Tobias Schlegl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2002, 10:12 PM
  #25  
Champ-RCU
My Feedback: (132)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mt. Pleasant, PA
Posts: 203
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum problems

Don't have one of these and don't want one. A friend HAD one lost fake carbon fiber covering within minutes of first flight. Sratch one plane. Importers response was I don't build em, contact England, but I'll sell you one at cost.
Champ-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service