Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

How much do I have to shave this engine mount?

Reply

Old 06-18-2004, 09:07 PM
  #1  
Rudeboy
Thread Starter
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default How much do I have to shave this engine mount?

There is a gap of about 5 millimeters between the venturi and the engine mount.
And looking from the rear the mount covers about half of the venturi hole.

Do you guys think it is enough when I just round the mount a little for smoother flow, or should I notch it for a straight shot? The mount is only like 5mm or so thick, so for a real straight shot I will have to make a hole in the firewall too...

I'm thinking just rounding it into a nice flow pattern will be enough.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt56842.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	27.8 KB
ID:	144825   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wr55700.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	32.2 KB
ID:	144826   Click image for larger version

Name:	Di99603.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	30.6 KB
ID:	144827   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ex68961.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	31.5 KB
ID:	144828  
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2004, 09:21 PM
  #2  
Rudeboy
Thread Starter
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How much do I have to shave this engine mount?

A little sketch...
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf97518.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	10.6 KB
ID:	144836  
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2004, 01:48 AM
  #3  
Flyboy Dave
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pinon Hills, CA
Posts: 13,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How much do I have to shave this engine mount?

I'd say....open it up, and let 'er rip !
Flyboy Dave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2004, 03:17 AM
  #4  
der_steuermann
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
der_steuermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Stolberg, GERMANY
Posts: 238
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How much do I have to shave this engine mount?

From my experience you definitely have to open both the engine mount and the firewall.

The OS .91 VR-DF engine for instance likes at least 40 mm of free space behind the venturi.

The diameter of the hole in the firewall should be about 20 mm in your case.

der_steuermann is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2004, 08:18 AM
  #5  
AirGar
My Feedback: (7)
 
AirGar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ontario, Ca. AZ
Posts: 1,122
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How much do I have to shave this engine mount?

I agree with both above. Let it breathe and perform to it's fullest potential by not restricting any air flow.

Are you concerned about weakening the mount? Looks stout, so I don't think I, personally, would worry about it.

What's it in?


Gary
AirGar is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service