Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Magnum R balance point

Reply

Old 07-06-2004, 01:12 PM
  #1  
CFII1974
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
CFII1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sand Springs , OK
Posts: 755
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum R balance point

I just got my new Magnum R, I remember I had to change the CG from the instruction on my last kit so I could get a good flair. I was wondering if I needed to do the same to this one?

Thanks

Dave
CFII1974 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 03:20 PM
  #2  
SJN
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Copenhagen, DENMARK
Posts: 6,273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R balance point

I just maidened mine today, and it flys exactly the same as the old one........and thats not a bad thing

My CG is at 140mm. This gives me lots of elevator controle with the engine off during landing. Givvung a nice nose high landing.

But ofcourse I landed one the only 2" diameter rock that was lying on the enormous grass field. This damaged my LE [&:]
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge94642.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	63.0 KB
ID:	151265   Click image for larger version

Name:	Up48104.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	77.5 KB
ID:	151266   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ch96262.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	47.9 KB
ID:	151267  
SJN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 04:58 PM
  #3  
CFII1974
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
CFII1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sand Springs , OK
Posts: 755
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R balance point

SJn ...

Thanks .. I should get started on mine this weekend. It should be flying by next!

Dave
CFII1974 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 10:36 PM
  #4  
Rudeboy
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R balance point

ORIGINAL: SJN

But ofcourse I landed on the only 2" diameter rock that was lying on the enormous grass field. This damaged my LE [&:]
Dang... but LOL too...
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 04:21 AM
  #5  
SJN
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Copenhagen, DENMARK
Posts: 6,273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R balance point

now mine has black LE `s [8D]
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge94407.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	54.9 KB
ID:	151476  
SJN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 09:32 AM
  #6  
CFII1974
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
CFII1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sand Springs , OK
Posts: 755
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R balance point

It looks good, I wonder if that reflective chrome stuff on the LE would make it easier to see comming right at you??

SJN Jet question, do you just have the Euro setting on some foam? I have been afraid to set mine on the nose like that after the nose was cracked when I got it.

Dave
CFII1974 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2004, 09:48 AM
  #7  
SJN
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Copenhagen, DENMARK
Posts: 6,273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R balance point

I dont think it will make any differences hvadever color you make the LE......the wings are so thin


My euro rests on a large chunk of foam.

But....the whole nose of my euro is full of the same kind of foam which surrounds my 5 cell rx bat, and 6 cell ECU bat. I think that strengthens it a little too

My nose was also damaged, when I got it, but I think it is strong enogh to support its own weight.....I know it is because sometime assemblying it in the field, it just rests on its nose in th grass....
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki20054.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	54.3 KB
ID:	151519  
SJN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 06:32 PM
  #8  
Isaac F
Senior Member
 
Isaac F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Panama Republic. of Panama , PANAMA
Posts: 387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R balance point

ORIGINAL: SJN My CG is at 140mm. This gives me lots of elevator controle with the engine off during landing. Givvung a nice nose high landing.
Sorry to ask, but how much is 140mm in centimeters????[&o] All the rulers I have are in centimeters

THX
Isaac F is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 09:58 PM
  #9  
SJN
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Copenhagen, DENMARK
Posts: 6,273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R balance point

14 cm [8D]

10mm=1cm

5.51181102 inch

http://www.google.dk/search?q=14cm+i...-8&hl=da&meta=
SJN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 08:51 AM
  #10  
CFII1974
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
CFII1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sand Springs , OK
Posts: 755
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R balance point

Another quick question,
It looks like they made the header a little bigger in diameter that came with this one, when compared to my old Magnum west 50 combo. I had to cut a good half an inch off the old header to get it on pipe good with an 8x8 APC. DO you do the same on this one?

I may just leave it for now and see what she needs after it flies but it is always easier to cut before you mount the pipe. (no removal)

Dave
CFII1974 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 08:58 AM
  #11  
KevinS
My Feedback: (6)
 
KevinS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bellingham, MA
Posts: 94
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R balance point

If you read the manual that came with your west 50 engine, it clearly states to cut off 1 inch off the header pipe when putting on a 8x8 prop.
KevinS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 09:39 AM
  #12  
CFII1974
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
CFII1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sand Springs , OK
Posts: 755
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R balance point

Manual - who needs a manual When you have RCU

I have not even opened the engine... guess I would have seen that ..
CFII1974 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service