Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

My Magnum

Reply

Old 08-01-2004, 07:35 PM
  #1  
ossie
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
ossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Abu Dhabi, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 343
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default My Magnum

Just logged 200 flights on my Magnum.
For anyone interested in speed planes I can recommend the Magnum, a rock solid flyer, and boy, does that West 50 sing a mean tune...........
As you can see in the pic I recovered her in bright orange Profilm with black trim, much easier to see. The original covering lasted around 30 flights.
Cheers
Ken
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tq48869.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	131.1 KB
ID:	159697  
ossie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2004, 07:54 PM
  #2  
ossie
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
ossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Abu Dhabi, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 343
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

Here's a couple of other projects I'm working on
The ES will have its maiden in a couple of weeks, hopefully around Oct for the L39.
Cheers
Ken
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Db84564.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	55.5 KB
ID:	159702  
ossie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 03:10 AM
  #3  
Dave03B
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bournemouth, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,249
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

I took your advice on making my magnum dolly steerable. i'll take a pic later and post it here.

cheers
Dave
Dave03B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 03:23 AM
  #4  
ossie
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
ossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Abu Dhabi, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 343
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

Dave,
Another tip........ Instead of using dowls on the front, I used 1/8th steel rods covered with clear tube and bent them inwards onto the fuse acting like a clamp (only softly though). If you have a bumpy strip you may want to consider this option also. The first couple of lanuches I had the Magnum bounced off the dolly prior to VR speed. This method has worked perfectly for me for last 12 months. Can post some more pics of the dolly if you want.
Got another 6 flts in today............
Cheers
Ken
ossie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 03:30 AM
  #5  
Dave03B
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bournemouth, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,249
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

yes, please post more!!

although SJN will tell me i dont need a dolly!
Dave03B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 03:36 AM
  #6  
ossie
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
ossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Abu Dhabi, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 343
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

Yep will do.
Hand launching.....thats for park flyers............
ossie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 03:46 AM
  #7  
Dave03B
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bournemouth, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,249
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

heres mine
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv64538.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	102.0 KB
ID:	159781   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ez82067.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	76.1 KB
ID:	159782  
Dave03B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 04:04 AM
  #8  
ossie
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
ossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Abu Dhabi, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 343
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

Nice Job Dave, here's some more pics
Cheers
Ken
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mj24431.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	61.0 KB
ID:	159783   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bx74172.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	63.8 KB
ID:	159784   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mr41579.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	48.6 KB
ID:	159785  
ossie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 04:06 AM
  #9  
Dave03B
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bournemouth, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,249
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

[sm=thumbup.gif]
Dave03B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 04:14 AM
  #10  
SJN
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Copenhagen, DENMARK
Posts: 6,273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

hehe, the dolly is a great idea.

I have experience in launching tons of electric planes, and am comfortable with launching the magnum by hand.
SJN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 04:21 AM
  #11  
ossie
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
ossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Abu Dhabi, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 343
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

Just bought myself one of these..ALFA Models MIG15..to fly in the paddock down the end of my street. Its my first electric model in 35years of aeromodelling.....
So I guess I'll get plenty of hand launching practice soon.
Cheers
Ken
Attached Images  
ossie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 04:22 AM
  #12  
Dave03B
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bournemouth, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,249
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

what sort of AoA is your magnum sat at on the dolly?
Dave03B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 04:28 AM
  #13  
ossie
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
ossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Abu Dhabi, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 343
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

Not quite sure I didn't measure the AoA. At a guess, its around +5deg.
Looking at your pics the AoA looks about the same on both dollies.
ossie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 04:31 AM
  #14  
Dave03B
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bournemouth, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,249
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

yep, thats what i thought....well, i can adjust it, just give the u/c a little bend
Dave03B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 03:20 PM
  #15  
CFII1974
My Feedback: (5)
 
CFII1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sand Springs , OK
Posts: 755
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

congrats on 200!
CFII1974 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 04:31 PM
  #16  
Dave03B
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bournemouth, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,249
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default magnum inflight pics?

does anyone have any good quality magnum inflight shots????????
Dave03B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2004, 02:16 PM
  #17  
Douglashimself
Junior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: HAGERSTOWN, MD
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

I am interested in buying a Magnum but can't seem to find a web site. Could anyone post one.

Thanks

DH
Douglashimself is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2004, 09:27 PM
  #18  
Isaac F
Senior Member
 
Isaac F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Panama Republic. of Panama , PANAMA
Posts: 387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

Hey guys, I was thinking on doing the dolly with steering but just the servo on the dolly and with the servo wire conector conected by a servo extension to the same receiver inside the Magnum and when the airplane get airbone the wire get disconected..............I think I need to use some type of servo extension that disconected quickly without to much force
What you thing of this idea...............Any sugestion???

Isaac F is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2004, 02:48 AM
  #19  
Dave03B
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bournemouth, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,249
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

ORIGINAL: Isaac F

when the airplane get airbone the wire get disconected..............I think I need to use some type of servo extension that disconected quickly without to much force
I've seen this done on a DF plane the bloke hooked the "dolly servo" up to a jack plug on the dolly, which the the jet sat on which completed the "wire" and allowed the signal to pass to the servo from the same rx. when the plane lifted, the jack plug came away from the jet and stayed on the dolly. looked pretty neat. i would not know totally how to do this, but other may know what i'm babbling on about
Dave03B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2004, 02:52 AM
  #20  
Dave03B
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bournemouth, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,249
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

ORIGINAL: Douglashimself

I am interested in buying a Magnum but can't seem to find a web site. Could anyone post one.
http://www.modellbau-usa.com/Magnum.htm
on back order though over. Is it worth/possible to order from the uk? theres plenty floating about in shops over here[8D]
Dave03B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2004, 03:24 AM
  #21  
ossie
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
ossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Abu Dhabi, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 343
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

G'day Isaac
Yep, that will work with a little modification to the fuse. You don't want the lead/plug hanging of the fuse when landing.
Cheers
Ken
ossie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2004, 03:26 AM
  #22  
Dave03B
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bournemouth, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,249
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

so just have the extension lead method?
Dave03B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2004, 03:42 AM
  #23  
ossie
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
ossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Abu Dhabi, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 343
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

Personally........No I wouldn't do it that way, for 2 reasons.....
1. Too much work
2. I get a lot of oil around the rear of the fuse including the bottom. Having a hole in the fuse increases the risk of ripping the covering (on landing) and eventually you'll soak the rear with oil.
Cheers
Ken
ossie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2004, 03:44 AM
  #24  
Dave03B
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bournemouth, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,249
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

so our way is ok
Dave03B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2004, 02:16 PM
  #25  
jlindqui
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 20
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Magnum

So I just ordered my Magnum and plan on using a YS45 I've got laying around the house. Does anyone have a prop recommendation? I have not yet tuned the pipe on the 45, so this is still up for grabs. The motor is rated to 18,000 RPM, and I was thinking of the APC Pylon 8.75x8.75 or 8.75x9 since I can't get the RPM as high as the West. Also, I've noticed that APC makes a wide and a narrow prop, so any recommendations on this? Lastly, I'm a bit nervous about landing this puppy. Any techniques / tips?

Thanks!
jlindqui is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service