Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Diamond Dust...

Reply

Old 07-22-2002, 10:09 PM
  #1  
Snaggs
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 96
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diamond Dust...

Diamond Dust
Hitec HS-5625 Digital Servos on the elevons.
Hitec HS-225 servo for the throttle.
Jett .50 w/ Q-500 muffler up front turning 8.75x7.0 APC prop.
Right out of the box, this engine turned 19.2k with the above prop on Cool Power 15% w/ additional caster added to it.

Speed is around 180 MPH.

A guy that flies a turbine powered airplane at our field had his clocked flat out at 180 MPH by police radar. After I got done flying the dust he came over and said it looked like it was flying faster than his jet.

The fins are glassed as are the elevons. Notice the servos don't come out the top of the fuse. They are mounted sideways in the #1 rib and a hatch is installed on the top. Also the push rods are on the inside of the fins instead of the outside.

Extreme fun!

-Snaggs
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	18649_265.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	56.3 KB
ID:	11817  
Snaggs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2002, 11:30 PM
  #2  
JohnVH
My Feedback: (38)
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,094
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diamond Dust...

naked, mine has a OS.46 and jr507 servo's, it goes dang fast, Ive got to try a whiplash
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	18670_167.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	52.1 KB
ID:	11818  
JohnVH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2002, 11:37 PM
  #3  
RSands
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 433
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Lets see all the other ones out there!

Nice looking bird. I'll race ya!

Mines got a K&B .48 with Macs tuned pipe running an APC 9x10 & JR 8411 digitals. So fast your eyes can't focus fast enough on those down the middle of the runway passes. Woo whoo! What a rush!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	18673_5738.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	43.5 KB
ID:	11819  
RSands is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2002, 04:07 AM
  #4  
CONTENDER
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Holtsville, NY
Posts: 75
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diamond Dust

Not as fast as the ones you guys are posting.....but a good bit faster than anything at my field!!! What a rush to fly!! Bone stock with a Max 32sx, Mac's muffler, and 9x7 Master Airscrew.
Very stable! Like flying a lawn dart....a REALLY fast lawn dart, that is!!
CONTENDER
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	18706_5286.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	34.2 KB
ID:	11820  
CONTENDER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2002, 12:42 PM
  #5  
Dustflyer
My Feedback: (13)
 
Dustflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 913
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RPM

RSands,

Just wondering, what kind of rpm are you getting with that 9X10?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	18822_257.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	23.4 KB
ID:	11821  
Dustflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2002, 12:45 PM
  #6  
Snaggs
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 96
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diamond Dust...

DustFlyer,

I saw your Dust on Dub's site and how you launch it. I opened the space between my elevons as well. How easy is it to lauch by yourself?

Thanks,

-Snaggs
Snaggs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2002, 12:53 PM
  #7  
JohnVH
My Feedback: (38)
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,094
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diamond Dust...

Snaggs, thats how I do it also, I just hold onto the center and leave it hanging down, give it full throttle, then raise it to an incline and give it a tiny push, Dust doesnt have to push his
JohnVH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2002, 02:35 PM
  #8  
Dustflyer
My Feedback: (13)
 
Dustflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 913
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Dust launch

Snaggs,

Easy as pie. With the Jett 50 it pulls hard. I actually put little pieces of Great Planes stick-on sandpaper between the fins and underneath to give me a better grip.

To launch it all I have to do is let go. Until I saw myself on video I didn't realize what it really looks like, which is kind of a continuous motion from holding it in front of my waist to raising and extending my arm and letting go. It looks like I am pushing it but in reality it is just kind of an arm extension.

I have a couple of short (couple of seconds) video clips I'll email you so you can see it for yourself.

Gene
Dustflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2002, 03:00 PM
  #9  
Snaggs
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 96
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diamond Dust...

DustFlyer,

That would be great, thanks! I had a Sig Wonder that I always had someone hand launch, but I was almost to the point where I was brave enough to throw it myself. After having several people give me a bad launch, I figured I couldn't do any worse.

I did have one bad launch with the Diamond Dust... It was the 3rd flight. The engine was running too rich and it wasn't pulling real hard. It was held up about a 45 degree angle when the guy let go of it. It went up about 6 feet as it rolled to the left, lost a lot of altitude in the knife edge position and rolled inverted. By the time it was inverted, it had enough air speed that I stoped the roll. I just pushed in quite a bit of down to level it out and gained some altitude. When it was flying a little faster I rolled it upright and it flew out just fine. The lowest it got was about 2ft to the ground, followed by a standing ovation from the rest of the fliers.

-Snaggs
Snaggs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2002, 04:36 PM
  #10  
Mike Rojas
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Mike Rojas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Covington, LA
Posts: 845
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diamond Dust...

It's not mine,but a close friend has a .40 size Dust(I'm not sure if they come in other sizes) with an OS.91Ducted fan engine.It is very very FAST!!!I will try and get some pics and post them.The only problem we have is keeping a prop on it.It shatters them usually right after launch.He bought some bigger ones and is going to cut them down,hopefully that will work.
Mike Rojas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2002, 02:07 AM
  #11  
RSands
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 433
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diamond Dust...

Sorry Dustflyer, I've not tached it yet. As you can see from the pic, the pipe is still untuned. I got it together on a Friday night, took it to the field on Saturday, and scared the s***t out of a couple club members who'd never really seen a fast plane. It's still a rush, and until I get so comfortable with it that it becomes boring there won't be any pipe tuning happening The only thing I know about how fast it's going came from watching Terry Nitche's jet fly (and crash ) a couple weeks ago. It was clocked at 180. A couple guys from the club said my plane was noticeably faster, and I'd have to agree. 180+ suits me fine for now
RSands is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2002, 06:27 PM
  #12  
jlouden
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Re: Diamond Dust...

Originally posted by Snaggs


The fins are glassed as are the elevons. Notice the servos don't come out the top of the fuse. They are mounted sideways in the #1 rib and a hatch is installed on the top. Also the push rods are on the inside of the fins instead of the outside.

Extreme fun!

-Snaggs
Putting the servos inside is a great idea. I have built several over the years and never shout of it. I will do that on my next one.

John
jlouden is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2002, 07:21 PM
  #13  
Dave Barrow-RCU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Covington, KY
Posts: 481
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diamond Dust...

lv2rcav8, I'd like to see a pic of that diamond dust, what size props is he trying on it? I heard a couple people on the jet forum talk about putting OS.77's on their dust, but never heard how it worked out. I would think it would be hard to get a big enough fuel tank in it.
Dave Barrow-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2002, 07:36 PM
  #14  
JohnVH
My Feedback: (38)
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,094
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diamond Dust...

hey, I have a OS.77 sitting here, I have not heard of anyone thinking about it though... Hmmmm
JohnVH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2002, 10:38 PM
  #15  
Mike Rojas
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Mike Rojas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Covington, LA
Posts: 845
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diamond Dust...

I will post a pic as soon as I get them,probally be a week or so cause I will be out of town.
Mike
Mike Rojas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2002, 01:08 PM
  #16  
edgreenlee
My Feedback: (314)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: abilene, TX
Posts: 61
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default diamond dust

my dust has a k & b 7.5 ducted fan motor....turning an 8 x 8 apc prop - it is quick!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	19679_3801.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	60.3 KB
ID:	11822  
edgreenlee is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service