Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Ripmax Rapier

Reply

Old 08-22-2002, 03:15 AM
  #1  
Glenn McIntosh
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: AnnArbor Mi.
Posts: 24
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ripmax Rapier

Hi all, Just recieved a Ripmax Rapier arf from Tower,there in stock
119.00 . I just want to say very nicely done arf, came in Transparent Yellow for I don't care for the color ..will make do with it. I've been flying a Lazer Models Lazer Aerrow w/ a Sport Jett .40...yes goes like hell.. I saw the Rapier and just had to have one ...Thinking about using a MVVS .49 w/ mini pipe. I'll let you all know how it goes ...Nice arf.. Later ..Glenn McIntosh
Glenn McIntosh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2002, 05:14 PM
  #2  
3dmagic
Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: sulphur, LA
Posts: 83
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default me too

i ordered one too but it came in damaged but my new one will be here tomorrow ,hopefully crush free heheh ecant wait to fly it and i agree it a great arf good quality
3dmagic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2002, 02:22 AM
  #3  
Glenn McIntosh
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: AnnArbor Mi.
Posts: 24
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ripmax Rapier

Hey 3dmagic, I thought some one else would think too that the ripmax was nicly done arf.. I too can't wait to get it flying... It's constructed just like the Lazer Arrow I've been flying.. The only thing that is really different is the Arrow is all delta wing, no fuse at all, and was a lazer cut kit. i think the Rapier is just a bit smaller
with about the same airfoil and thickness.. One thing I do know, I like the way the delta wings fly..Great speed,handles like it's on rails, goes where you put it.. Pure speed.. I decided on a MVVS .49 w/ mini-pipe..w/ a APC 9-9 , or a 10-8 to start with.. Do you know what engine you are going to use yet ? G. McIntosh
aka; "Midair"....

Forgot to ask: Did your's come in Trans yellow film ?
Glenn McIntosh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2002, 02:55 AM
  #4  
3dmagic
Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: sulphur, LA
Posts: 83
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default engine

i am goin to use a os 46 with a macs pipe
3dmagic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2002, 07:00 PM
  #5  
COLE
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Paducah, KY
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ripmax Rapier

I've been looking at the Rapier myself. Question: does the Rapier have rudder control or is it just an elevon only setup?

Thanks
Michael
COLE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2002, 07:20 PM
  #6  
3dmagic
Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: sulphur, LA
Posts: 83
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default both

the directions said you can set it up either way would it be better to go with a rudder than with elevons i had a zagi with elevons and it worked great i guess it would be the same
3dmagic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2002, 07:21 PM
  #7  
3dmagic
Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: sulphur, LA
Posts: 83
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default yello

yeah mine is yellow transparent film
3dmagic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2002, 07:34 PM
  #8  
COLE
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Paducah, KY
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ripmax Rapier

IMHO, I would prefer BOTH elevons and a vertical rudder (or two!). The plane would probably fly fine without the rudder, but with one you could likely wring out some additional crazy aerobatics. (pinwheels, flatspins, snap rolls, etc.)

You could also mix the two rudders to act as a speed brake by deflecting both rudders outboard.

Michael
COLE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2002, 07:46 PM
  #9  
3dmagic
Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: sulphur, LA
Posts: 83
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default great

now i am gonna have to hook up the rudder hehehehe
3dmagic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2002, 03:28 AM
  #10  
Glenn McIntosh
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: AnnArbor Mi.
Posts: 24
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ripmax Rapier

working rudders on a Delta Rapier,remember there set in a V-tail
for the most part.IMHO, waste of weight and time. I have mine together already...waiting for the engine to come in the mail..
Later...Glenn
Glenn McIntosh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2002, 04:18 AM
  #11  
3dmagic
Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: sulphur, LA
Posts: 83
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default that true

one more servo to be pulling around. i finally got my new rapier in undamaged but i havent started on it yet but will soon i have decided not to hook up the rudder so i can save weight
3dmagic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2002, 12:18 PM
  #12  
Glenn McIntosh
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: AnnArbor Mi.
Posts: 24
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ripmax Rapier

Good to hear U got your's undamaged..It goes together so easy,
One thing I did was to fuel proof the engine comparment and hand holds before I started assembly, easyer to handle..Glenn
Glenn McIntosh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2002, 02:15 PM
  #13  
3dmagic
Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: sulphur, LA
Posts: 83
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default good idea

i was looking at that engine compartment but never crossed my mind to fuel proof it cause you know what happens if you dont heheheh later
3dmagic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2002, 02:35 PM
  #14  
Glenn McIntosh
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: AnnArbor Mi.
Posts: 24
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ripmax Rapier

I know one thing, I don't like this yellow, I think I'm going to use some black and white trim and turn it into a Yellow jacket bee or something.........G.
Glenn McIntosh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2002, 04:35 AM
  #15  
3dmagic
Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: sulphur, LA
Posts: 83
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default did you fly it yet

i was wondering if you have flown your rapier i finally started on mine getting close to finishing it i was just wondering how it flew?
3dmagic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 06:11 PM
  #16  
JOHNBONE
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Armed Forces Europe
Posts: 55
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ripmax Rapier

3dmagic, you wouldnt happen to have a couple pics of your Rapier would you?
JOHNBONE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 06:34 PM
  #17  
3dmagic
Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: sulphur, LA
Posts: 83
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default sorry

i sold my digital camera sorry are you having problems with your rapier?
3dmagic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 06:43 PM
  #18  
JOHNBONE
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Armed Forces Europe
Posts: 55
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ripmax Rapier

No, just ordered one and am wondering how the yellow covering differs from Towers website. Is it a nice wing? Did you fly it yet?
JOHNBONE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2002, 07:32 PM
  #19  
3dmagic
Member
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: sulphur, LA
Posts: 83
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default yellow it is

the covering is transparent and it is a nice arf i still havent finished mine i got into helicopters but i will finish it soon
3dmagic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2002, 01:32 AM
  #20  
3DFlight
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Danville, IN
Posts: 89
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Flying the Rapier

I have just started mine, using a Rossi .45 with pipe. Does anyone have much flying experience yet? I have been flying a Wild Wiz.
3DFlight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2002, 05:30 PM
  #21  
Dan Taylor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Juneau, AK
Posts: 171
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ripmax Rapier

do't have a ripmax, but did build a Balsacraft Rapier ( looks the Same)
flew it with A magnum 46 and elevons.
Added Tricycle Landing gear (no soft areas to land in)
Flew great untill a bad battery finished it off
Dan Taylor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 02:33 PM
  #22  
marc sommer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: edinburgh, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 23
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ripmax Rapier

hi everybody,I have been using Rapiers for ages now.The latest one is a canard conversion using two st 51s in a push pull config.Others I have are twin and single engined plus df.The Rapier is a truely excellent plane but I have to say is better in kit form,especially if you want to start using hairy motor(s).I will be pleased to offer my findings on this aircraft if you wish.Regards Marc Sommer.UK.
marc sommer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2002, 04:01 PM
  #23  
3DFlight
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Danville, IN
Posts: 89
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Rapier

Below is a picture of recently finished Rapier with a Rossi .45. Waiting for weather to fly it. Ended up very nice. Weighs 4 pounds. Did have to work the motor mount over quite a bit to get the Rossi to fit.

Regards,
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	40808_20930.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	41.4 KB
ID:	14095  
3DFlight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2002, 07:54 PM
  #24  
marc sommer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: edinburgh, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 23
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ripmax Rapier

rudders on the rapier make all the difference.On one of mine I stuck them together and put the fin upright.Trouble is you halve your fin area,indeed I flat spun the ac into the ground.Solution-scrap the v shaped fins by making them into one vertical unit,add a central under fin that is approx 50% of main fin area.Add retracts or fixed u/c and a very large rudder throw-keep the rudder aerodynamic though.Result-spins,inverted spins,inverted flat spins and with practice,knife edge(difficult as not much fuz area).Cant get pics in-working on this damn computer.M.Sommer
marc sommer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2002, 03:44 AM
  #25  
3DFlight
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Danville, IN
Posts: 89
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Rapier Flight

Flew the Rapier for the first time today. Faster than anticipated with Rossi .45 turning an APC 10x7. Gotta have one with rudders, anyone know where the kit can be procured? Thanks.
3DFlight is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service