Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

sevos for dago red

Reply

Old 12-03-2004, 01:23 PM
  #1  
Radcom
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Radcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: newrichmond, WI
Posts: 171
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default sevos for dago red

Help me out folks....
I have a wm dago red still in the box,I plan on putting in
a ys-110. I will be using a hitec eclipse 7 Q-pcm tx.
What servos would you recommend for this plane ?
I'm willing to pay up to 30 to 40 bucks a servo,but if
theres something cheaper that would help.I like to stay
with Hitec.
Radcom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2004, 03:41 PM
  #2  
Razor-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (50)
 
Razor-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mira Mesa, CA
Posts: 5,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: sevos for dago red

I really like my Hitec 645MG's, but they are slow... Not a factor on your bird--

107 oz @4.8V and 133 at 6V

Sweet plane/engine combo BTW-
Razor-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 12:15 AM
  #3  
Cyclic Hardover
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Cyclic Hardover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Mexico,
Posts: 7,296
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: sevos for dago red

Well I have built several of these .40 size WM Mustangs and Dago. Some for my friends and some for me. This is my current sweetie with a Saito 100. I am running a 12/12 apc up front. Remove the retracts and slop a lot of epoxy on the insides of the retract mounting blocks. I used a Hitec 605 and split the wires on the rod to go to each elevator.. They fly really well.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk24851.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	89.3 KB
ID:	199114   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bw71023.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	42.0 KB
ID:	199115  
Cyclic Hardover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 10:55 PM
  #4  
Radcom
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Radcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: newrichmond, WI
Posts: 171
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: sevos for dago red

Snoop ,
What do you mean by split the wires on the rod to
go to each elevator ?
I went to hitec website and couldn't find a 605 servo.
found 625 ,635,645.
Sweet looking mustang you got there...
I notice on the table you like subway.
Radcom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2004, 09:40 AM
  #5  
Cyclic Hardover
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Cyclic Hardover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Mexico,
Posts: 7,296
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: sevos for dago red

Sorry, those hitec people keep changing the darn numbers. You know how some control rods are made of metal and wood? You have the servo, then a few inches of 2-56/4-40 then a long dowel to the back ,then another piece of 2-56 coming out the back of the fuselage to the elevator. Well instead of the rod coming out only one side, attach another rod to the dowel to come out the other side, thus going to each servo.

Makes the elevator a bit more stable. I also secure the 2-56/4-40 to the dowel using epoxy and glass cloth to keep it from moving around. I prefer using 4-40 control rods. Keeps from "Bowing out" when force is applied to the elevator.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn35627.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	28.8 KB
ID:	199585  
Cyclic Hardover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2004, 10:04 AM
  #6  
kennyandannie
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Universal City , TX
Posts: 647
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: sevos for dago red

Hey Jolly,

Hitec eliminated the 605 and went to the 635. The biggest difference is they switched to the Karbonite gear train instead of the plastic in the old 605 and renamed it 635. The resulting servo is a little faster and the new gear train is supposed to be a lot stronger and last a lot longer. I believe they both use the same case.

Great servos, I have them in my Quest 3D.

Ken
kennyandannie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2004, 10:12 PM
  #7  
Radcom
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Radcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: newrichmond, WI
Posts: 171
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: sevos for dago red

Snoop + KA >
What do you think of this ...
On the wm dago I put HS-635's for the elev.,ali.,and rud.
would you put a different servo for the throttle. I read some
treads where fliers use different servos on their planes.
especially on the throttle, whats up with that ?
Radcom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2004, 11:26 PM
  #8  
Radcom
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Radcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: newrichmond, WI
Posts: 171
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: sevos for dago red

razor ...
you sure you were born in 1910 ?
I think I will go with the 635's ,did you read my
last tread and tell me what you think I should do.
Radcom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2004, 09:10 AM
  #9  
Cyclic Hardover
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Cyclic Hardover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Mexico,
Posts: 7,296
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: sevos for dago red

Too be honest I use the cheap servos for the throttles. I have never had a throttle servo fail. I have had throttles stick and my luck they are always wide open but it was not servo related.
Cyclic Hardover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2004, 12:10 PM
  #10  
SSAN
Senior Member
 
SSAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: sevos for dago red

JollyFlyer,

A good servo would be the Hitec HS-5475HB for your Mustang. It's a digital servo with precision centering and have the awesome Karbonite gear, which have no slop or play like metal gear due to wear. This is the best servo yet that I've found for Sport flying use and I use them all on my daughter trainer. This digital servo is within the price range you're looking for and I would highly recommend it.

Check the attached link for more details, http://www.servocity.com/html/hs-547...d_digital.html .

Hope this helps.
SSAN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2004, 12:58 PM
  #11  
Radcom
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Radcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: newrichmond, WI
Posts: 171
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: sevos for dago red

SSAN.....
Thanks for your imfo....
I have a question about using digital servos'''''
I know they use more juice to operate,I was
wondering how much more would it cut down
on my flight time compare to using 635's ?
I'll be using 6v battery on board.
would it be minuscule difference ?
Radcom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2004, 03:13 PM
  #12  
SSAN
Senior Member
 
SSAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: sevos for dago red

JollyFlyer,

I don't have specific details to the battery drain difference, but it didn't seem to affect too much what I've experienced. However, if you don't want to use digital servo, you can get the non digital one with same spec at a lesser price. See links below for the two servos. Karbonite gear is the way to go!


Digital Servo, http://www.servocity.com/html/hs-547...d_digital.html

Non Digital Servo, but same spec, http://www.servocity.com/html/hs-475...er_pro_bb.html
SSAN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2004, 10:01 PM
  #13  
Cyclic Hardover
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Cyclic Hardover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Mexico,
Posts: 7,296
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: sevos for dago red

I use 1100mah (5cell). 5 cells really hold the juice a long time. I mean a real long time.
Cyclic Hardover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2004, 11:28 AM
  #14  
Radcom
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Radcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: newrichmond, WI
Posts: 171
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: sevos for dago red

Snoop...
I went to Servo City webpage and looked up batteries,
how about 6V 2000mah flat NiMH. 5 cell also...
I have to meassure it up to see if it would fit in the Dago,
these batteries seem to be very inexpensive. I could buy
a couple of extras ,have them charged up and fly the Dago
all day.My Hitec Eclipse 7 q-pcm came with a 600mah 8cell nicad
and I'm assuming that it is 9.6V,doesn't say what voltage
anywhere.Maybe I should up the mah and go with Nimh on the
tx. What do you think....
All other fliers are weclome to jump in....
Radcom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2004, 01:00 PM
  #15  
SSAN
Senior Member
 
SSAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: sevos for dago red

JollyFlyer,

I will answer the question for you even though it was address to Snoop without any response (yet).

I would highly recommend anybody and everybody to use the higher capacity NiMH batteries. They are great and I use them in all my R/C planes, from racing (Quickie 500) model to trainer. I also use them in my 9CAP TX. After all, a little assurance is better than no insurance for safety.
SSAN is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service