Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Shrike .10

Reply

Old 01-04-2005, 03:29 PM
  #1  
Joe Ortiz
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (75)
 
Joe Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Shrike .10

Looking at getting the Shrike .10, I have a NIB MDS .28, any comments on this combo and building advise?
Joe
Joe Ortiz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 05:19 PM
  #2  
Strykaas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

Joe,

You have to reinforce the main spar. Many of overpowered Shrike flyers have snapped their wings ...
Balsa-cover the tail plane also, and maybe the whole wing to add strength.

That's what I will do on mine (Webra .32 power ).
Strykaas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2005, 07:08 PM
  #3  
Joe Ortiz
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (75)
 
Joe Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

Thanks, maybe a fiberglass or carbon rod through the center of the wing, or some kind of hardwood spar, or both should do the trick.
Joe[8D]
Joe Ortiz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 04:17 PM
  #4  
cobratraxxas69
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
cobratraxxas69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

Watch that CG....I lost my Shrike .10 because it was too far back... (it was doing uncommanded loops in mid air and then later it didn't pull out of a high speed low pass-- pancaked straight in despite up elevator)
cobratraxxas69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 05:32 PM
  #5  
Strykaas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

it didn't pull out of a high speed low pass
that means a too far forward cog ...
Strykaas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 05:33 PM
  #6  
Joe Ortiz
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (75)
 
Joe Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

I read somewhere about moving the firewall back 1/4 inch, how do I approach this?, what will it look like?, and what about the sides of the fuse?, I'm a little confused in this area.
Joe
Joe Ortiz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 05:39 PM
  #7  
Strykaas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

Joe,

Use the balsa blocks partially detached from the fuse sides (for the firewall) and glue them back in place.
Move the firewall rearwards as much as needed to have the prop hub just at the right place.
Then glue the firewall :
- either you drill square holes inside fuse sides to put the firewall in place
- or you simply cut the balsa blocks on the sides of the firewall, glue the firewall, and then use tri stocks to add strength.

That's all, no reason to get confused about it.
Strykaas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2005, 08:46 PM
  #8  
FlooredCOBRA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hampton, GA
Posts: 1,551
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

I had my wings fold on my Shrike .10 At the time I it it fully built before I read the post about reinforcing my wings. To bad because it is a fun plane.

But as for my CG I mounted my battery pack in the rear section as far as it would go. My firewall I cut out two slots and slide the mount from behind. My engine still stuck out past the fuse so I glued a balsa block to the nose to extend so it. I measured how long it would need to be to be close to my prop hub the cut off that section. Then I tacked on the ply ring it came with and cut it down to shape. After all the extra wood was cut down it hardly added any weight at all since most of it was cut away anyhow and cut out from center. I also liked the longer nose on it on how it came out.
FlooredCOBRA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 05:53 PM
  #9  
Joe Ortiz
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (75)
 
Joe Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

Move the firewall rearwards as much as needed to have the prop hub just at the right place.
So, basicly mount the engine on the mount and firewall, and move it back untill the prop hub is lined up with the plan?, I don't have the kit yet, it should be here by Tuesday.
Joe
Joe Ortiz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 06:08 PM
  #10  
Strykaas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

ORIGINAL: Joe Ortiz

Move the firewall rearwards as much as needed to have the prop hub just at the right place.
So, basicly mount the engine on the mount and firewall, and move it back untill the prop hub is lined up with the plan?, I don't have the kit yet, it should be here by Tuesday.
Joe
Yes. I would also suggest using a custom hard-wood engine mount to reduce front weight and to locate the engine as close to the FW as possible ...
Strykaas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 06:36 PM
  #11  
Joe Ortiz
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (75)
 
Joe Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

Wow, this is nuts, trying to stuff a 454 into a Fiero, but it's been done, I would like to see some close up pictures of the firewall and engine mount setup if anybody has it avaiable, this will be a jaw dropping plane for sure at my field, there are too many 3D and stick planes where I fly.
Joe
Joe Ortiz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 07:34 PM
  #12  
Strykaas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

there are too many 3D and stick planes where I fly
Here too [:'(][:'(][:'(], let's scare them a bit.

I'll post pix as soon as mine is done.
Strykaas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 08:19 PM
  #13  
FlooredCOBRA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hampton, GA
Posts: 1,551
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

heres a close shot of mine
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Gd93840.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	91.8 KB
ID:	212909  
FlooredCOBRA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 08:36 PM
  #14  
Joe Ortiz
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (75)
 
Joe Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

Thanks, photos will be good.
I'm the kind that likes to fly something diffrent, just to get peoples attention, just like Aeroworks, they are a major sponsor of our club, when they come out and fly their huge 3D planes, just about everybody stops flying and watches the show, it's awesome. So, with that in mind, I would like to do some really fast speed passes as close to the ground as I can, that would be cool.
Joe[8D]
Joe Ortiz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 08:39 PM
  #15  
Joe Ortiz
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (75)
 
Joe Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

Thanks Floored..
Joe Ortiz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 10:16 PM
  #16  
FlooredCOBRA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hampton, GA
Posts: 1,551
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

Your going to have a lot of fun with your Shrike. It wll turn some heads for sure. They are pretty quick planes and even looker faster being so small. I have no clue how fast mine went but it moved along good.
FlooredCOBRA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 01:52 PM
  #17  
ckoerner
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
ckoerner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Crest Hill, IL
Posts: 429
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

Gotta love the Shrikes. Here are the links to mine. No real good closeups though.
http://www.911teletrainer.com/craig/shrike4.htm
http://www.911teletrainer.com/craig/shrike3.htm

I actually moved my firewall back to help with the cg. I moved it back the width of the cutout that is in the side of the fuse to hold the firewall.
ckoerner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 04:52 PM
  #18  
Strykaas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

ckoerner,

Which tuned pipe do you use on your 2nd Shrike ? This unmuffled one ?

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXZ558&P=7

Actually, I bought it for my webra .32 but I find it a little short and I don't dare using it... On how much nitro do u run ? Which prop ?

thx
Strykaas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 05:06 PM
  #19  
ckoerner
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
ckoerner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Crest Hill, IL
Posts: 429
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

That's the pipe. It's not too loud. Quiter then my Jet FIRE .50.
I can't remember which prop. I will check tonight.
ckoerner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2005, 07:44 PM
  #20  
Joe Ortiz
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (75)
 
Joe Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

ckoerner, nice Shrike, I can't wait to get mine.
Joe
Joe Ortiz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 04:49 PM
  #21  
smchale
My Feedback: (67)
 
smchale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 2,743
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

wow, those will be rocket ships!!

here's a picture or 2 of my shrike 10. just finished it before the holidays and will test fly it in the spring. Just went with a magnum 15 on a tuned pipe. i wanted a little more of a jet look so i moved the canopy forward and shortened the hatch slightly. this meant rotating the engine about 135 degrees to run the pipe underneath out of sight. i built a fiberglass belly pan using foam, then glass, then removing the foam. it's very solid and i'm pleased with how it turned out. oh, and behind the stick I modified a williams bros pilot for more of a jet jock look. [8D]
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig11715.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	72.7 KB
ID:	214661   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bw70949.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	80.5 KB
ID:	214662   Click image for larger version

Name:	Af90009.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	72.8 KB
ID:	214663   Click image for larger version

Name:	Nh12304.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	66.3 KB
ID:	214664  
smchale is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 04:58 PM
  #22  
Strykaas
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

Sean,

will you have her taped during the maiden ?
Strykaas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 07:08 PM
  #23  
Joe Ortiz
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (75)
 
Joe Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

Sean, that is one Bad ***** looking Shrike[X(], I like the way you did the belly, I have a pair of .15's, a Magnum and a OS LA, I was using these for SSC Combat, but they barely pull my Ripper, I might put these in the 1/2A Shrike, do you know what pipe and header fits the Magnum?, I got to get the same setup.
Joe Ortiz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 03:46 PM
  #24  
smchale
My Feedback: (67)
 
smchale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 2,743
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

sure, i'll see what i can get for footage when the time arrives.

joe, thanks for the comps...the Macs pipe and header came from Tower Hobbies.

The header: LXZ604 http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/WTI0001P?&I=LXZ604
The pipe: LXZ557 http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/WTI0001P?&I=LXZ557

Yes, the OS size is the same for the magnum. [8D]
smchale is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 06:57 PM
  #25  
Joe Ortiz
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (75)
 
Joe Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Shrike .10

Thanks Sean, I got my Shrike today, whoohoo!, can't wait to get started on this one, I might go with a piped Magnum .25.
Joe
Joe Ortiz is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service