Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Extreme Speed Prop Planes
Reload this Page >

Viper vs. Diamod Dust

Community
Search
Notices
Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Viper vs. Diamod Dust

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2005, 11:14 PM
Lomcevak Duck
My Feedback: (14)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Viper vs. Diamod Dust

Hey guys. I'm looking for a fast plane to fly around the club. (sport not competition) And want to know what you think about the two planes and how they compare to each other. Also Thinking about power plants- either Jett or OS. I know the Jett will be faster, but I have a lot of experience with OS engines and can vouch for their longevity and easy operation; never owned a Jett, but hear good things about them. What's your recomendation?
Old 02-10-2005, 08:04 AM
evan-RCU

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Viper vs. Diamod Dust

Both will go fast, the DD will go faster. The DD is a cheap, easy to build kit. If you want to go faster the DD with a Jett is the answer, if the cost is too high check out a MVVS Q500 motor for the dust. If you want to go fast easy get the Viper and put a .46FX with a pipe on it, a little slower but cheap and easy.
Old 02-10-2005, 10:09 AM
bob27s
My Feedback: (19)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Either aircraft will keep you happy.

As noted, the DD is a unique aircraft, somewhat inexpensive, and very quick. It also lends it self toward using a rear exhaust engine should you choose (but is just as happy with a side exhaust). The Q-500 designs provide a bit more of a conventional aircraft to work with, and outstanding smoothness in the air.

Engine wise, you will find the Jett engines are one of the most user-friendly engines you will ever own. Price wise, keep in mind it comes with the tuned exhaust, chromed sleeve, leak free remote needle, and excellent bearings. Owner tech support is second to none.