Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

How do you mount fuel tank on Dust???

Reply

Old 02-04-2005, 12:20 PM
  #1  
cobratraxxas69
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (31)
 
cobratraxxas69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default How do you mount fuel tank on Dust???

I have a Dust (that I purchased on RCU)...but the fuel tank was super-glued (or epoxied) to the balsa wood floor of the fuel compartment. This has caused a horrible problem with vibration and subsequent severe foaming of the fuel. This leads to air bubbles in the fuel line going to the engine, which causes the engine to run rich then lean then rich then lean. etc.

My question is how do you mount the fuel tank on a Dust? I would imagine it would involve putting foam around the tank to prevent the "foaming".

Your ideas are appreciated.

Thanks

Mike
cobratraxxas69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2005, 01:37 PM
  #2  
bob27s
My Feedback: (19)
 
bob27s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do you mount fuel tank on Dust???

The easy way out is to remove the tank and replace it with a bubble-free fuel system.

The DD and Whiplash tank installations were both pretty tight. With higher rpm engines, yes, fuel foam is an issue.

Can you get the existing tank out without destroying too much?
bob27s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2005, 02:15 PM
  #3  
cobratraxxas69
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (31)
 
cobratraxxas69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do you mount fuel tank on Dust???

Thanks Bob for the response.

I'm not sure how to remove it []...its really glued in there. I would probably have to take a hobby knife to it...
cobratraxxas69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2005, 06:40 PM
  #4  
Hotrodkid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Buffalo , NY
Posts: 145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do you mount fuel tank on Dust???

if its in there good, just knife it and replace it ..... way better then taking an hour to pry it out and still managing to break the plane itself
Hotrodkid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2005, 08:40 PM
  #5  
-pkh-
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
-pkh-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Emmaus, PA
Posts: 3,354
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do you mount fuel tank on Dust???

Another thing you might try is a header tank. Not sure if any of you "speed" guys use them at all. They are common on helis and I've used them on a couple of SPADs where air in the carb fuel line was a problem. Basically, it's just a small 1 or 2 oz tank piped in series with the main tank (between the main tank and the carb). This header tank stays completely full of fuel, with little to no air, so vibration won't cause it to foam. The main tank will vibrate and foam, but it feeds into the header tank, which will keep the carb line pretty well free of air bubbles. Works on my SPADs and my heli... might work on a dust too...
-pkh- is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2005, 12:18 AM
  #6  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do you mount fuel tank on Dust???

Two Dust and well over 100 flights without fuel foaming problems. I used foam aroung the bottom and sides of a six ounce tank with Monokote holding it in. This pic has a sheet of 1/64 ply over the top of the tank.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Bz79375.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	58.7 KB
ID:	225544  
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2005, 03:08 AM
  #7  
cobratraxxas69
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (31)
 
cobratraxxas69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do you mount fuel tank on Dust???

Hi Mike,

Can Monokote alone really hold in a heavy fuel tank (especially during high G manuevers)?
cobratraxxas69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2005, 11:12 AM
  #8  
evan-RCU
Senior Member
 
evan-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do you mount fuel tank on Dust???

Yes, especially since all the "high G" manuvers on a Dust are positive G, The Dust isn't really the best outside loop or 3-D airplane... I used the Sullivan slant 6oz tank that you could heat mould to get it in the spot and not have any problems with the tuned pipe going right above it.
evan-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2005, 11:42 AM
  #9  
bob27s
My Feedback: (19)
 
bob27s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do you mount fuel tank on Dust???

Mike's installation works just fine. Some foam, and gently attached to the airframe. But having it glued to the airframe is likely a serious issue

Id get out the surgical equipment and re-do that section of aircraft as needed.
bob27s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2005, 12:24 PM
  #10  
cobratraxxas69
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (31)
 
cobratraxxas69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do you mount fuel tank on Dust???

What do you guys think about using velcro straps attached to the base and wrapped around a foam encased fuel tank??

Thanks

Mike
cobratraxxas69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2005, 01:18 PM
  #11  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do you mount fuel tank on Dust???

The MonoKote is stronger then a couple of rubber bands that many use to hold their tanks in. As Evan stated, most G forces will be positive and enough negative G's to throw the tank out would probably clear the tail and you would just have a dead stick landing. My main reason for using Monokote to hold the tank in was to reduce drag from an exposed tank. When pushing on my tank you can feel the foam compress. I have read where some just used velcro on the bottom of the tank. The velcro absorbed most of the vibration if the tank did not come in contact with the airframe anywhere. I do not remember reading about any problems doing it this way.
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2005, 01:33 PM
  #12  
cobratraxxas69
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (31)
 
cobratraxxas69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do you mount fuel tank on Dust???

Mike,

I've never worked with covering before. Do I just take some Monokote and use a heat gun to make it stick to the surrounding area or do I have to do some additional prep work?

Thanks,

Mike
cobratraxxas69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2005, 06:23 PM
  #13  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do you mount fuel tank on Dust???

The heat gun will help remove wrinkles when you are finished but you need to use an iron to begin with. If you don't have a MonoKote iron you can use a clothes iron but the size makes it more difficult. MonoKote will stick to wood or other MonoKote but the surface needs to be clean. I would take some scrap balsa and your tank and practice some as covering is an art that requires practice and the correct heat. Too much heat will burn holes in your covering and not enough heat makes it not stick well. Covering the tank and makeing it look good is not easy. I would recruit someone with some experience if possible to get you started on the right foot.

The Dust requires rapairs often on the bottom covering because of landings. You can use clear packing tape for small and medium tears at the field but recovering the bottom will need to be done over time. I can recover the entire bottom with one piece of MonoKote in 15 or 20 minutes.
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service