Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

Reply

Old 02-13-2005, 05:08 PM
  #1  
Synthetic
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,685
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

I bought a Diamond Dust a couple of years ago and have never flown it. I am about to though and I am wondering the correct way to hand launch this thing...both with help and without any help. Thanks.....
Synthetic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 06:05 PM
  #2  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

I had my helper hold both wing tips with the nose pointed about 40-45* up and just let go. I have 2 short video clips of a dust launch on my site. When the wind is low I have seen some hold the plane between the elevons with the left hand and the radio in the right.
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 06:24 PM
  #3  
McFlyboy
Senior Member
 
McFlyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: nairn, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 595
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

somone in another thread mentioned holding 1 tip, resting the other on the ground and then using power and a slight launching action to lift the tip. havent seen it myself but something to look for.
McFlyboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 06:38 PM
  #4  
RC-Captain
Senior Member
 
RC-Captain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: RCHill, NJ
Posts: 2,981
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

get wheels if you can
RC-Captain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 07:01 PM
  #5  
Synthetic
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,685
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

Thanks guys.. I will also check the videos out Mike.
Synthetic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 07:06 PM
  #6  
Rudeboy
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

ORIGINAL: McFlyboy

somone in another thread mentioned holding 1 tip, resting the other on the ground and then using power and a slight launching action to lift the tip. havent seen it myself but something to look for.
This works... put it down on the ground with one tip (the right one, because it torques to the left), add power, and chuck it slightly upwards.

On my Dust I reinforced the aft center sheeting between the two lite ply main ribs (between the fins) with a couple of false ribs... and I shortened the elevons so they didn't reach inboard of the vertical fins. This allowed me to hold the plane at the trailing edge of the wing without the elevons interfering, and without crushing the sheeting.
Full throttle, and a slight push straight up was all that was needed on my .32 powered Dust for a good lauch... until I got stuck with my landing gear switch in my pullover.... but that's another story... (crunch)
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2005, 10:30 PM
  #7  
combatpigg
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
combatpigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: arlington, WA
Posts: 19,891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

I hand launch mine with the left hand gripping the trailing edge between the elevons too, but if a strong enough head wind came up, the prop could get blown back in my face. A helper or a" stooge" type plane holder is the best way to go.
combatpigg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2005, 11:41 PM
  #8  
cobratraxxas69
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
cobratraxxas69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

Or you could build a dolly for it and have launches like this!!


http://www.resume-connection.com/Dus...ngTakeOff2.mpg


The torque of the engine causes this....but it usually isn't this interesting!!

Here are some more normal launches:

http://www.resume-connection.com/TakeOff1.mpg

and

http://www.resume-connection.com/TakeOff3.mpg



Here's a collection of my best runs that day...


http://www.resume-connection.com/DiamondDustMontage.mpg

-Mike
cobratraxxas69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2005, 07:58 AM
  #9  
Synthetic
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,685
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

Thanks, I will check them out!
Synthetic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2005, 07:43 PM
  #10  
Joe Ortiz
Senior Member
My Feedback: (75)
 
Joe Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

I don't want to highjack this thread, but since we are to subject of hand launching, how do you hand launch a .25 powered Shrike 10?
Joe
Joe Ortiz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2005, 09:15 PM
  #11  
Synthetic
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,685
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

No problem Joe! You never know....I might have one of those someday too!!
Synthetic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2005, 09:51 PM
  #12  
Kaos1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Charles Town, WV
Posts: 170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

Though I never tried it, I often thought about it, has anyone tried to launch pointing nearly straight up with left aileron? With this method the dust might attain such a speed and rotation that it would be "stable" in a second. Then just straighten out the wings and establish level flight.

I was never brave enough...
Kaos1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2005, 09:18 PM
  #13  
cobratraxxas69
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
cobratraxxas69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

The first 2 videos show the take-off dolly I use for my Shrike:

http://www.resume-connection.com/ShrikeTakeOff1.mpg (6MB)

http://www.resume-connection.com/ShrikeTakeOff2.mpg (7MB)

http://www.resume-connection.com/ShrikeFlyBy2Good.mpg (4MB)

http://www.resume-connection.com/ShrikeFlyByBest.mpg (7MB)

http://www.resume-connection.com/ShrikeFlyByBest2.mpg (2MB)

http://www.resume-connection.com/ShrikeMontage.mpg (40 MB)
cobratraxxas69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 09:54 AM
  #14  
Evil Homer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CubbingtonWarwickshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 331
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

Shrike is easy to hand launch.
Make sure you have TX to support the TX ; start engine and hold the Shrike under the wing in your left hand, TX held around your neck (getting up with Shrike running and TX aerial waving all over the place can be fun), with your right hand give it full throttle while you still hang on to the Shrike, gentle toss with nose angled up at 45 will get it going no probs, right hand is already on the controls (mode 2 that is) so you can counter any nasties.
One thing watch the prop size, i ran a 9x6 on a 32 on my Shrike 10, troque roll on take was nasty, lot better on 8x7.

otherwise build wheels....
Evil Homer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 10:10 AM
  #15  
Hotrodkid
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Buffalo , NY
Posts: 145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

buld a triangular cart with the wheels at the points and give the leading edges of the cart some 2" fingers so that they hit the wings leading edge

another option would be to have 2 strings on the top surface that form a handle like a duffel bag has ..... start it on the stand, give it gas and use the handle to toss it
Hotrodkid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 10:21 AM
  #16  
Rudeboy
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

I was thinking about building a "launch pad" of some sort for my next Dust... probably out of PVC drain pipe lined with hot water conduit isolation. The plane would be positioned nearly or completely vertical for launch.

Just put the pad where it isn't in the way for landing, start the engine, put the Dust on the pad, add power and off she goes...
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 11:12 AM
  #17  
KBG2104
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Placentia, CA
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

cobratraxxas69, the videos look cool!!!
KBG2104 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 11:17 AM
  #18  
cobratraxxas69
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
cobratraxxas69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

Here's a sketch of the dolly I used for the Shrike and Diamond Dust videos up above.

(For the Diamond Dust, I put a plywood insert on the dolly. I use 3 pieces of plywood nailed together that fit in the groove to raise the dolly base for the Dust--I use a nail at the CG (on the plywood) and a staple nail at the rear of the plywood to keep the plane on the dolly until takeoff).

This sketch is for the Shrike configuration:
(It must be fully expanded in a large window to see all the fine detail)

-Mike
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl30917.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	43.7 KB
ID:	232504  
cobratraxxas69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 11:33 AM
  #19  
cobratraxxas69
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
cobratraxxas69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How Do You Hand Launch A Diamond Dust?

Hey Rudeboy,

How about these for launch pads?

-Mike
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Db85187.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	50.1 KB
ID:	232510   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dy79491.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	40.1 KB
ID:	232511   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wb75540.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	74.3 KB
ID:	232512   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cw64133.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	48.7 KB
ID:	232513  
cobratraxxas69 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service