Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Rudder on Shrike ?

Reply

Old 07-26-2005, 08:59 AM
  #1  
AndyRcer
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Rudder on Shrike ?

Has anyone added a rudder to a shrike 40 ? I was thinking about adding a front rudder off of the steerable nose wheel below the fuse. I have some concern about disturbing the air flow. Any thoughts appreciated.
AndyRcer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 09:15 AM
  #2  
jlingrel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Posts: 421
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rudder on Shrike ?

I haven't, but I am about to build a Shrike 40 with retracts and have considered adding a rudder. Hoping to make it a real fast airplane. Going to use a 46AX for a start (cuz I have 2 of them). Post pictures when you do it and let us know how it works.


John
jlingrel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 10:52 AM
  #3  
Flyboy Dave
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pinon Hills, CA
Posts: 13,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rudder on Shrike ?

A rudder would come in handy for knife-edges and such, the weight wouldn't
matter much on the 40 size.

FBD.
Flyboy Dave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 05:06 PM
  #4  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rudder on Shrike ?

Do a search for Shrike in this form as there has been a lot of discussion about landing gear and rudders. My preference was to leave my Shrike as clean and light as possible for maximum speed.
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 06:00 PM
  #5  
jlingrel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Posts: 421
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rudder on Shrike ?

I have to have the gear, I have arthritis and hand launches are out if I don't have a helper.

John
jlingrel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 06:06 PM
  #6  
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)
 
piper_chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 8,039
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rudder on Shrike ?

ORIGINAL: jlingrel

I have to have the gear, I have arthritis and hand launches are out if I don't have a helper.
I'm finding the hand launches and belly landings to be one of the reason my shrike 10 stays home more often than other planes. There's just something about taking off and landing that seems missing.
piper_chuck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 06:17 PM
  #7  
jlingrel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Posts: 421
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rudder on Shrike ?

I've got a Shrike 10 with a Norvel 061 which flys well, is fast and drops like a rock when the engine cuts. I have spent a lot of time repairing it. I built a Shrke 15 for a buddy. He put fixed gear on it for flying off pavement, but takes it off when we fly on the golf driving range. It is amazing the difference in performance. If I were going to be here in Egypt for another couple of weeks, I would add rudder to his Shrike just to see how it works. I kind of doubt that it will knife edge as it has no side area to support it on edge. But we don't build these for acro, we build them to go fast. Hence, retracts. All problems sovled. Still clean and you can take off and land normally.

John
jlingrel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 08:03 PM
  #8  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rudder on Shrike ?


ORIGINAL: jlingrel

I have to have the gear, I have arthritis and hand launches are out if I don't have a helper.

John
I usually have a female that loves the Shrike and Dust. There is usually too much wind here to do it yourself.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp44666.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	13.6 KB
ID:	301943  
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2005, 11:17 AM
  #9  
Evil Homer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CubbingtonWarwickshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 331
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Rudder on Shrike ?

Stick a 32 on the Shrike 10 and it pulls out of your hand - no need to launch
Evil Homer is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service