Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Lanier shrike 10 kit

Reply

Old 09-09-2005, 12:01 AM
  #1  
RC-Captain
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
RC-Captain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: RCHill, NJ
Posts: 2,981
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Lanier shrike 10 kit

will it handle a .28 engine ?

has anybody Incorporated landing gear on one ?
RC-Captain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2005, 06:28 AM
  #2  
dkreitz
Junior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lanier shrike 10 kit

I had an os25fx in a Lanier Shrike 10 with no structural problems while flying at speed. But, the larger engine brings higher wing loading with it. The plane was fast and I was learning. Unfortunately, the plane was lost when I turned upwind to land after the engine ran out of fuel. Trying to make it back to the field, I lost too much airspeed and it nosed in from ~10 feet.
dkreitz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2005, 06:54 PM
  #3  
RC-Captain
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
RC-Captain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: RCHill, NJ
Posts: 2,981
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lanier shrike 10 kit

Thanks DKreitz, I am going to order the 10. and give it a shot. What the hell it will only be a .28 magnum on the nose. If I don't like it then I will order the 1/2A shrike being that I am leaning toward getting allot of planes in this size range.
RC-Captain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2005, 11:01 PM
  #4  
FlooredCOBRA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hampton, GA
Posts: 1,551
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lanier shrike 10 kit

I would reinforce the main spar when you build it. If I could have went back to do mine that way I would have. I would use like a carbon fiber arrow rod from walmart or something and expand it to entire wing.

I am running a MVVS Combat Wombat engine on mine and I ended up cracking my main spar twice on mine. I fixed it, well I thought I fixed it but it ended up cracking again. I could see the wings trying to fold when I made my turn back to land. It is fixable but a real pain and totally took the fun out of flying that plane having to fix after flights. If I would have reinforced the main spar I would still be having a good time with it today. Now it pretty much just sits on a shelf collecting dust. A shame too because it was a pretty fast plane and very fun to fly.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk25322.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	96.2 KB
ID:	322054   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lg16989.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	106.8 KB
ID:	322055  
FlooredCOBRA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2005, 12:16 AM
  #5  
RC-Captain
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
RC-Captain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: RCHill, NJ
Posts: 2,981
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lanier shrike 10 kit

thanks for the info. How could you let a pretty bird like that just sit on the self ? oh well I can't wait to complete mine .
RC-Captain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2005, 05:52 AM
  #6  
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)
 
piper_chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 8,039
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lanier shrike 10 kit

Move the firewall back to help deal with the extra weight up front.
piper_chuck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2005, 09:39 AM
  #7  
FlooredCOBRA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hampton, GA
Posts: 1,551
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lanier shrike 10 kit

I know it is agravating to just let it sit. I guess if I put a smaller lighter engine in it it would do okay. Shame though because that engine runs awesome.

I agree with Piper Chuck about the fire wall. The stock location would make the plane to nose heavy with that engine if it was kept there. At the time I was building mine I had already glued my firewall in place then seen on here on RCU about moving it back. I ended up cutting out 2 slots and then sliding my engine mount from the rear through firewall. The engine still stuck out a little further than the length of the fuse so I glued a balsa block to nose. Then I hollowed out the block to make a new nose extention and sanded it to a point to fit my spinner. In the ended so much was cut away that extention didnt hardly weight anything. About the same as a peice of paper.

Also use a flat battery pack and slide it as far back to end of the fuse as you can to get CG.
FlooredCOBRA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2005, 12:16 PM
  #8  
RC-Captain
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
RC-Captain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: RCHill, NJ
Posts: 2,981
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lanier shrike 10 kit

Also use a flat battery pack and slide it as far back to end of the fuse as you can to get CG.
I use 3000Mah battery packs now , and get 4-6 flights in before worrying about changing them. I think the weight of the pack will make up for the weight of the bigger engine.
RC-Captain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2005, 01:04 PM
  #9  
Rudeboy
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lanier shrike 10 kit

You only get 4 to 6 flights out of a 3000 mAh battery...? [X(] Something must be wrong...

A plane like the Shrike will do like an entire weekend on a 3000 mAh pack!
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2005, 01:24 PM
  #10  
FlooredCOBRA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hampton, GA
Posts: 1,551
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lanier shrike 10 kit

Yeah something must be wrong if your only getting that many flights with a 3000 mah. I was able to get that on a regular 600 mah back in the day.
I would check all the servos to see if any of them are binding at idle. Maybe the throttle is binding at idle or at WOT.
FlooredCOBRA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2005, 06:05 PM
  #11  
RC-Captain
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
RC-Captain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: RCHill, NJ
Posts: 2,981
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lanier shrike 10 kit

You only get 4 to 6 flights out of a 3000 mAh battery...? Something must be wrong...

A plane like the Shrike will do like an entire weekend on a 3000 mAh pack!
I never said I had to change the pack nor did I say I fly more than 4-6 flights in a flying session. To be honest I am not sure how long a 3000mAh pack will last but I do check after 3 or 4 flights. You never know when the load tester is giving the wrong information.
RC-Captain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 05:11 AM
  #12  
dkreitz
Junior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lanier shrike 10 kit

I found a photo of my old Shrike 10 with the 25FX installed, before its demise. Being small and fast, I opted for a very bright color scheme for improved visability.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca82018.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	54.9 KB
ID:	324700  
dkreitz is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service