Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Magnum R with flaperons : any good ?

Reply

Old 09-29-2005, 01:50 PM
  #1  
Strykaas
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Magnum R with flaperons : any good ?

I'm wondering if anyone has ever tried this configuration on his Mag, i.e. one servo per aileron and set them up as flaps when landing this thing... As we can read some complaints about its gliding capablities here and there, I may go that route with mine.

Thx !


Strykaas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 02:34 PM
  #2  
angelrcdesign
My Feedback: (40)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Weehawken, NJ
Posts: 544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R with flaperons : any good ?

It will drop right out of the sky. and you will need power to come in. and break more props. That if you can cut the eng. just before landing. Good luck...........
angelrcdesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 03:31 PM
  #3  
evan-RCU
Senior Member
 
evan-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R with flaperons : any good ?

Strykaas, I've never had a problem gliding the Magnum, it has a much better glide than the Diamond Dusts, does a real cool nose high glide too, like the Space Shuttle. I haven't looked but will you have enough space?
evan-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 04:28 PM
  #4  
Strykaas
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R with flaperons : any good ?

Thank you for your answers.
Evan, I guess yours is balanced way behind the 140 mm from the LE @ wing root. Have you an idea of your balance point from the LE ? I have to get it right from the very first flight.
And yes the runway is pretty small... and I can't miss it (otherwise, plane is history).
Strykaas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 04:47 PM
  #5  
drnickm
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: patchogue, NY
Posts: 38
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R with flaperons : any good ?

I got tired of having someone hand launch my magnum so I made a launching dolly. It works quite well and is has its own servo for steering . Hard to land on however.

Nick
drnickm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 04:56 PM
  #6  
evan-RCU
Senior Member
 
evan-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R with flaperons : any good ?

I balanced it pretty much how the insructions said but mines the old regular version not the R. Nick any pictures of the dolly?
evan-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 09:12 PM
  #7  
Cyclic Hardover
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Cyclic Hardover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Mexico,
Posts: 7,296
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R with flaperons : any good ?

You better thnk twice on that flap thing. I have seen two guys here with these things and they are impressive but-----they have no glide ratio and drop like a brick. You need to keep that power up more so than a warbird on landings
Cyclic Hardover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 09:12 AM
  #8  
Crazy4Flight
My Feedback: (540)
 
Crazy4Flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 3,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R with flaperons : any good ?

YOU NEED TO WORK TO the Aft CG. A guy in my club was shasing thermals after the fuel ran out. If you are nose heavy they sink and come in fast and you could run out of elevator. just my .02 worth.

Bob Revver # 105

Magnum Jett Sport 50
Whiplash Jett Sport 50
Whiplash Jett FIRE 50
Kobra Jett SS.40
Crazy4Flight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 12:57 PM
  #9  
Strykaas
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R with flaperons : any good ?

A guy in my club was shasing thermals after the fuel ran out
[sm=bananahead.gif]

I think yes there is some margin regarding cg location ... what I would like to have is a good initial setting. I'll perhaps go a bit more aft than instructions (that are all very conservative).
Strykaas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 02:38 PM
  #10  
drnickm
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: patchogue, NY
Posts: 38
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R with flaperons : any good ?

Evan

I'm not sure how to put a photo on this site but here goes.[img][/img]
drnickm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 02:39 PM
  #11  
drnickm
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: patchogue, NY
Posts: 38
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R with flaperons : any good ?

Nope, that did not work. I need someone to tell me how to insert a photo or video for that matter.

Nick
drnickm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 03:32 PM
  #12  
Bob.R
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Bob.R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canyon Lake, TX
Posts: 788
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R with flaperons : any good ?

Drnickm, to post a photo, click "post reply". At bottom of box, click "click here to upload". Browse your computer and select photo. Then click "ok".
Bob.R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2005, 06:59 AM
  #13  
drnickm
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: patchogue, NY
Posts: 38
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Magnum R with flaperons : any good ?

Here goes

The first photo is the top. the key to the whole thing is a pin sticking up from the dolly which fits into a tube I put in the plane. This keeps it from pulling out too soon.. I also have rails which keep it from moveing side to side. On the undersurface you can see the servo and its own receiver. Does not look pretty but works fine.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw68333.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	93.8 KB
ID:	332586   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lg17653.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	92.7 KB
ID:	332587  
drnickm is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service