Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Kangke F3D pylon plane

Reply

Old 10-16-2005, 05:53 PM
  #1  
LGM Graphix
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (22)
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,566
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Kangke F3D pylon plane

I just aquired one of these airplanes and I'm wondering if it will handle a Nelson Q40 engine or something like the West50VI. It's all composite, but I have no idea what the spar structure in the wing is or anything. I'm sure with this airframe 200mph is not out of the question, but I don't know much about this plane so thought I'd ask if anyone has put that size of engine in them and how they held up.
Jeremy
LGM Graphix is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 06:13 PM
  #2  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

I can't anwer your question but here you go pushing the envelope again [X(] LGM Graphix sounds good. Your work is impressive.
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 06:35 PM
  #3  
LGM Graphix
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (22)
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,566
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

Hey, if you're gonna go, you gotta go hard and, I've always said, "man, if you're gonna be dumb, you better be fast". So if putting one of these engines in here is dumb, even if for a short while I'll bet it will be fast
LGM Graphix is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 10:17 PM
  #4  
LGM Graphix
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (22)
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,566
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

Well, went with the 50VI and pipe, I figured, if something flutters, I wanna have a throttle :P so I shoehorned it in there tonight, quite a squeeze!




No the rear of the pipe is not mounted yet, I know it's crooked :P
LGM Graphix is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 08:47 AM
  #5  
bob27s
My Feedback: (19)
 
bob27s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

The only issue folks tell me about with the .40-50 size engine in this plane is a bit of yaw instability. The vertical fin is basically too small. Other than that, the plane is fairly good.

A few weeks ago I posted a thread on a slightly modified one of these, with an old jett racing .40 engine on it. Might give you some ideas. Look back a bit.

Bob
bob27s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 10:52 AM
  #6  
MJD
My Feedback: (1)
 
MJD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orangeville, ON, CANADA
Posts: 8,629
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

Also looks like a lot of rudder area:vert stab area for an airplane of this type, no? With luck at least half the pipe's lateral area is behind the NP so hopefully that won't aggravate the yaw issues. Only one way to find out!

MJD
MJD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 02:00 PM
  #7  
rmenke
Senior Member
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Merced, Ca., CA
Posts: 2,118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

LGM:

You don't know how good it is to see another crazy out there, will take some of the long term heat off me for sure. Ok you have shown us the befor pictures, you are hereby obligated to send us the "after" pictures. Prediction: Will have to move the battery way back to get reasonable CG. Will come off the ground well as long as you make a 60-90% throttle start. If you try to takeoff from idle, it will torque roll into the ground shortly after liftoff. You may get lucky, I did once before splat. Is a tough little plane and will take a smack with little damage. Had a Webra 35 and Jett 35 I mine, and it truly was overpowered. The Jett 35 powered F3d was faster any of the club Quickees but they are sports engine powered. If all elese works, you will have a tough time getting it back on ground safely. It will slow down after a while and fly slowly if your CG is correct. Frankly I don't think you will be able to get a 40 or 50 in without a lot of firewall mods. Wish you the best, expect poop will happen!
rmenke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 03:01 PM
  #8  
MJD
My Feedback: (1)
 
MJD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orangeville, ON, CANADA
Posts: 8,629
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

Looks like he already has the .50 in it!

Let 'er rip, not R.I.P.!

MJD
MJD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 03:44 PM
  #9  
strong
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: savannah, GA
Posts: 293
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

Im thinking about putting that same engine with pipe on a GP viper........placed a post this morning to try and find out if it would fit.I don't know how fast the viper will be, but from the looks of the F3D it should be realllllll......fast.
strong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 08:50 PM
  #10  
LGM Graphix
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (22)
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,566
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane


ORIGINAL: rmenke

LGM:

Frankly I don't think you will be able to get a 40 or 50 in without a lot of firewall mods. Wish you the best, expect poop will happen!

There was no firewall in mine when I got it, so it was easy to put a new firewall in. It's got the West50VI in it now

LGM Graphix is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 09:07 PM
  #11  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

Landing gear?? Or just land on the pipe and engine.
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 11:27 PM
  #12  
LGM Graphix
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (22)
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,566
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

it will have gear just as soon as I find some :P
LGM Graphix is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 12:04 AM
  #13  
dclancey
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: , CO
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

I have one of these airplanes, and it flys great with a Nelson Q 40. Take of just like any other Q 40 with about 1/4 inch of right rudder. Take off with full throttle just like all Q 40's do. I did have to replace the original firewall with one that fit my engine installation. I also tossed the original gear an went with a Great Planes version of similar size. Great airplane for the price, too bad they are no longer available.

Doug
dclancey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 09:54 PM
  #14  
buddude8
My Feedback: (10)
 
buddude8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Placentia, CA
Posts: 385
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

I used a Jett 50 with the black tunned pipe in mine. I cut out the original motor mount and doubled up the fire wall. engined was installed using the radial back plate.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt57651.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	59.2 KB
ID:	355100   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ez81615.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	43.6 KB
ID:	355101   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ze87049.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	48.5 KB
ID:	355102  
buddude8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 11:12 PM
  #15  
SPEED51J
 
SPEED51J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: DELTONA, FL
Posts: 140
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

Dub 40 with apc pylon prop. Flys great, and its fast
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq45968.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	51.2 KB
ID:	355174   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xs58452.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	48.9 KB
ID:	355175   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ze87062.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	52.8 KB
ID:	355176  
SPEED51J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 11:53 PM
  #16  
buddude8
My Feedback: (10)
 
buddude8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Placentia, CA
Posts: 385
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

thats funny that looks just like mine, except for the 40 lol
buddude8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 04:18 AM
  #17  
SPEED51J
 
SPEED51J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: DELTONA, FL
Posts: 140
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

I still beat you
SPEED51J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 06:26 AM
  #18  
LOONY BOY
Member
 
LOONY BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: N.S.W., AUSTRALIA
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

Does anyone know where can I get a Kangke F3D
Thanks
LOONY BOY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 08:47 AM
  #19  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

I believe the line has been discontinued. You may find one, good luck.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2005, 09:37 PM
  #20  
osborjr
Junior Member
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Roland, OK
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

A friend of mine has one is his hobby shop, tlrascal@aol.com, I have one with a 28cc on it, I would say I am push 130mph on it, I did not know I could put a bigger engine on it, I have an OS 32 I might mount.
osborjr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2005, 12:32 AM
  #21  
SPEED51J
 
SPEED51J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: DELTONA, FL
Posts: 140
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

I had an os 32 in mine, I thought it was fast until I put my DUB 40 in her. What a difference.
SPEED51J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2005, 02:11 AM
  #22  
rmenke
Senior Member
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Merced, Ca., CA
Posts: 2,118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

Looney:

Did you ever find your F3D. I have one that I can't see well enough to keep up with going on 71. Let me know?
rmenke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2005, 05:42 AM
  #23  
LOONY BOY
Member
 
LOONY BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: N.S.W., AUSTRALIA
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

rmenke, daven was correct the Kangke F3D has been out of stock for over 2 years due to supply problems.
If you are willing to get rid of your f3d please PM me
LOONY BOY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2005, 11:56 AM
  #24  
Crazy4Flight
My Feedback: (540)
 
Crazy4Flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 3,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

I ordered a new stab for my F3D Kangke USA, they believe the F3D will have a production run next spring. Also a new speed plane comming out.
Crazy4Flight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2005, 09:00 PM
  #25  
OVER WORKED
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Deer Park, NY
Posts: 145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kangke F3D pylon plane

If all goes well we will have another production run on the F3D, and if you like this plane the new one will knock you socks off!!!! Don't ask I can't tell you more
OVER WORKED is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service