Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Patriot XL--Questions for the Experts

Old 11-15-2005, 01:58 PM
Rcpilot
My Feedback: (78)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Patriot XL--Questions for the Experts

This will be my first speed plane with retracts. I'm an accomplished kit builder.

I got questions. I've read a lot of posts (search function) about this plane.

Reducing frontal area to make it faster:
What are you guys talking about? It looks like a bullet to my untrained eye. Are you eliminating the side intake scoops over the wings? What are ya doing to "reduce frontal area"?

Retracts:
Lots of controversy about air and mechanical. I've never had retracts before--so I'm having a REALLY hard time with this. The air system is VERY expensive. Mechanicals are cheaper--but where can I get a decent set? Those el-cheapo hobbico retracts aren't going to cut it for my tastes.

Is it really worth the $200 for the air retracts?

I don't mind modifying the kit to some degree. I haven't built a "stock" kit yet. They ALL end up getting re-engineered in a couple places.

Engine:
2-stroke for me. I really can't afford a Jett engine--although it would be nice. And I'm NOT slapping an OS 91FX[:'(] in this plane---not a chance. I've had one of those.[:'(]

I'm flying at high altitude--and a 1.00 engine doesn't seam to be rediculously overpowered. Maybe a 1.20?

Help a wanna-be speed freak out and give me all the hot tips on making this bugger fast and clean. [8D]

Thanks
Old 11-15-2005, 02:31 PM
SitNFly
My Feedback: (54)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Patriot XL--Questions for the Experts

See notes below. I was a little disappointed overall with my XL. Takeoffs were a joke until you modify the gear for a more noseup attitude. The retract install was a little cluttered. Also comes out very noseheavy.