Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Found good speed measurement software

Reply

Old 12-04-2005, 07:08 AM
  #1  
Strykaas
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Found good speed measurement software

Hi all,

Does anybody know WAVEosSCOPE ? I found this software yesterday, it 's more convenient than the usual excel sheet.
It seems fairly simple and accurate (I've tested it against know speed sounds).
Major drawback is that it's in German. However, it's possible to have an english version for those interested.
Any users here ?

http://www.sprut.de/electronic/soft/scope.htm

Strykaas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 01:02 PM
  #2  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

I would be interested in an english version. Mien Deutsche ist nix goot and spelling in German is even worse.
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 08:47 PM
  #3  
Cyclic Hardover
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Cyclic Hardover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Mexico,
Posts: 7,296
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

I was raised in northern New Hampshire not far from the French province of Quebec, We had the option of Spanish or French. Blew them both off and been out here in New Mexico for 25 years. Never figured on needing french again. Go figure!

I just realized its German. When I was a kid i was raised--------
Cyclic Hardover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 11:21 PM
  #4  
Rudeboy
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software


ORIGINAL: Cyclic Hardover
I just realized its German. When I was a kid i was raised--------
LOL
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2005, 11:28 PM
  #5  
Rudeboy
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

And by the way.. it says on the site 10 seconds are enough for a good measurement... I don't know what speeds these guys are doing, but 10 seconds for me on a straight line would be a plane out of sight.

My experience in this matter is that you need about 1 second for a good pass, providing you do a good low pass (about 3 to 5 feet) over the camera... the lower and the straighter (the means constant altitude too), the better...
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 04:04 PM
  #6  
indoorff
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
indoorff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ladner, BC, CANADA
Posts: 175
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

Thats a funny coincidence, I just found that program yesterday too! Hoping to try it out with my new 1/2a delta I built from plans. You dont really need to know german to use it, I know none what-so-ever, and had no problem figuring it out.
indoorff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 05:52 PM
  #7  
Strykaas
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

Only one guy interested ? Will I spend an hour getting the translation done for one single guy ??
Strykaas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 06:47 PM
  #8  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software


ORIGINAL: Strykaas

Only one guy interested ? Will I spend an hour getting the translation done for one single guy ??
I would say no. I can figure it out but what Rudeboy says concerns me. 10 seconds with a fast plane is a long distance. How long were your wav files Strykaas? I will need to record some wav files from my mpegs.
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 06:58 PM
  #9  
HavinFun
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Crestwood, IL
Posts: 251
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

I used this program last year when I built my Patriot with YS45.
This is the translator I used;
http://babelfish.altavista.com/
Just copy & paste what you want translated.
I made three passes, the program said it was going from about 124mph low to a high of 137mph. This program will also give you a readout of the rpm which said I was at about 17,000 rpm on these passes, I was launching at about 16,400 rpm so when it unloads it probably is right around 17,000 rpm. Don't know how accurate this program is but I'm pretty sure I'm doing at least 120 mph.
HavinFun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2005, 07:09 PM
  #10  
Strykaas
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

The wav files delivered with the software are way shorter than 10 seconds... I don't have any wav files. However some french friends confirmed its accuracy (tested against well know speeds).
Strykaas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 09:48 PM
  #11  
cobratraxxas69
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
cobratraxxas69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

Where do you place the 2 vertical lines (the red and the green one)?
cobratraxxas69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2005, 09:56 PM
  #12  
indoorff
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
indoorff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ladner, BC, CANADA
Posts: 175
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

Post #1 is pretty clear in where the placement of the red and green lines should be the data line, but what is not shown is that it dosnt matter what data line you choose to analyse, they will all give you the same result - try it, you will soon see you get the same number. The ones further to the left however will give you a higher error than the ones further to the right. So you basically want to pick the clearest one furthest to the right for the best result.
indoorff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2006, 08:50 PM
  #13  
Yo! Team Green
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rochester, WA
Posts: 78
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

OK. I must be making a mistake - not surprising since I know no German. I downloaded the software and tried their .wav files. As you move across the screen (moving red and green lines) I get wildly different speed results. What am I doing wrong?

As Gilda Radner used to say - "Nevermind"...... I was trying to measure from one waveform to the next. You actually have to measure each waveform individually. >Thom
Yo! Team Green is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 03:35 PM
  #14  
Strykaas
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

Indeed, you have to measure one single waveform at a time and put the red / green line on the maximum along the horizontal axis. It works very well for me.
Strykaas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 07:17 AM
  #15  
smokingwreckage
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: , TX
Posts: 242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

I would like to have intructions in English, too.
smokingwreckage is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 12:02 AM
  #16  
cobratraxxas69
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
cobratraxxas69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

Hi,

Can someone tell me exactly what I am looking at, when I see those vertical curves (waveforms). I can see that the X-axis is sound frequency. Does this mean that all the vertical curves (waveforms) are harmonics? Are they all occuring together to produce the sound (i.e. all the vertical curves are being played at the same time, rather than sequentially)?

My main question would be this....
Is the Y-axis time (with the top of the graph being the beginning of the file and the bottom of the graph the end of the sound file)? That would make sense to me, as the Doppler shift does go from low freq to high freq as the plane approaches us.

Thanks,

Mike

My follow up question would be: Someone advised earlier to choose a clear waveform furthest to the right, as that waveform had the least error in terms of speed measurement. What is the physical principle behind that?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Zw69523.gif
Views:	8
Size:	17.0 KB
ID:	402117  
cobratraxxas69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 06:19 AM
  #17  
Strykaas
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

How do you guys extract WAV files from WMV video files ? I've done that with Audacity program, but I am not fully statisfied with the results... Any suggestion ?
Strykaas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 12:08 PM
  #18  
dwc
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: bismarck, ND
Posts: 40
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

I can't get a reading on any files I had recorded with Windows Sound Recorder. It just fills a small area on the left like everything is all compressed together. Changing all the settings does nothing. I got good readings on the Pampa wav file that came with the program but when I copied it with Sound Recorder and tried to get a reading it compressed it to nonreadle like the others. Is it a sampling rate problem? I did not see a way to change that in Sound Recorder.
thanks, Dan
dwc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 12:46 PM
  #19  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software


ORIGINAL: Strykaas

How do you guys extract WAV files from WMV video files ? I've done that with Audacity program, but I am not fully statisfied with the results... Any suggestion ?
I use Windows sound recorder with a mic while the wmv is playing. I have a similar problem as dwc with a small area of the left being displayed most of the time. Attached is my best effort so far and it is of the f3d video posted earlier. Where do I get the rpm reading?

smokingwreckage,
http://babelfish.altavista.com/
posted earlier does a decent job of tranlating web pages.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Wt59256.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	54.3 KB
ID:	402424  
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 01:09 PM
  #20  
cobratraxxas69
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
cobratraxxas69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

I use OSS Audio Extractor to extract the audio in WAV format from my videos:


http://www.onestopsoft.com/mi-a-extr.html



You do have to play with the sampling rate (frequency), as the tone will sound different on playback when you don't have the right sampling rate. Also attached is the result when I used the program on the F3D video.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Fc90373.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	33.1 KB
ID:	402431   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn36510.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	50.8 KB
ID:	402432  
cobratraxxas69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 02:23 PM
  #21  
Strykaas
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

Mhhh it seems that you have the same problems that I have been through. Reducing samplerate to 8000 Hz (in the program used to recapture audio from the video) helps for my wmv files. If I leave the default 44kHz setting, then indeed everything is "compressed" on the left side on the window (low frequencies region).

It seems that the results you got 287 vs. 291 are quite consistent, which is a good point.
Strykaas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 02:52 PM
  #22  
drnickm
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: patchogue, NY
Posts: 38
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

before i thow this laptop through the window. How do get the program to read the wav. I got as far as hearing the wav which came with the program but can't figure how to actually do anything with it.

drnick
drnickm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 03:13 PM
  #23  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software


ORIGINAL: drnickm

before i thow this laptop through the window. How do get the program to read the wav. I got as far as hearing the wav which came with the program but can't figure how to actually do anything with it.

drnick

Click the button where the blue arrow is pointing and the box displayed will pop up. Use the translater posted earlier on the web site and all your questions will be answered.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt56052.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	44.0 KB
ID:	402491  
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 05:34 PM
  #24  
cobratraxxas69
Senior Member
My Feedback: (31)
 
cobratraxxas69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 434
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

Hi Nick,

Let's number the 5 buttons from left to right (1,2,3,4,5)

Button #1 is the File Open button.
Button #2 is the listen to current file button.
Button #3 is the Update Graph button (that is a VERY VERY important button, it updates the graph after you've made changes to the Setup Button (Button #5))
Button #4 is the Print Graph (I never use it)
Button #5 is the Setup Button (after clicking this button, set the slider to 1024 FFT-- the graph will always looks best at this setting)



After starting the program, use button #1 to open a file (if that's not working then maybe the file u r looking at is not a .WAV).

If u have an error message, there are 2 possible reasons.

1) If the error message is "Fehler bei Bereichsprufung", the file is too long (the program won't work for audio files over a certain number of seconds/samples (like 14 seconds or so).

2) Or you get the "Division durch Null" error (which means "Division by Zero"). In this case you need to clip a tenth of a second or so off of the beginning of the audio file (using audio editing software), and then re open it (it always works for me after doing this quick fix). If the wave amplitude of the beginning of the audio file is too low (or zero), then the program errors out. A tiny clip off the beginning will yield a better place to start the file.


After the file is opened:

Hit button #5 to set the slider to 1024 FFT (leave the other boxes checked and keep the GraphMode in 2D)

Hit the Yellow button in the Set-up window to exit Set-Up.

Then make sure to hit Button #3 to Update the graph!!!

Then find the clearest, most complete waveform (that's furthest to the right), and place the red and green lines on the extreme left and right portions of the waveform.

Voila, you have the speed in km/hr! (multiply by .62137 to convert to MPH)

-Mike
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mj24366.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	39.1 KB
ID:	402661   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yt62220.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	44.0 KB
ID:	402662  
cobratraxxas69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 11:40 AM
  #25  
Yo! Team Green
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rochester, WA
Posts: 78
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Found good speed measurement software

OK... I think I have the basics sorted out. I cna make the system work with the embedded recordings. But.......

I purchased a digital recorder and set it out on the straightaway between pylons 1 & 2. I recorded a couple of good passes. I copied the .wav file into the PC and tried to use the 'scope' software but I get the "divide by zero" error every time. I have clippped the leading and trailing edges of the recording several times with no effect. Is it possible that my digital recorder is a problem? I have it set to "High Quality" for best recording but I can't recall what the sampling rate is ( the manual is at home - I am at work).

Any thoughts?
Yo! Team Green is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service