Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

F20 and dual aileron servos?

Reply

Old 01-21-2006, 03:24 PM
  #1  
jzinckgra
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (11)
 
jzinckgra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Standish, ME
Posts: 729
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default F20 and dual aileron servos?

I am rebuilding a DC F20 and am just starting the wing. I was thinking of using two aileron servos for more precise aileron control,but since the ailerons are already pretty short, I am not sure it is worth it. My old F20 has a single servo. If two servos was suggested, would a hitec hs81 be ok, or should I stick with a pair of standard 3004's? Also, if I go the dual servo route, should I place each servo in the middle of each aileron? On my Dago, they are near the end nearest the fuse, which to me doesn't give as much leverage compared to being in the middle. thanks.
jzinckgra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 09:16 PM
  #2  
Cyclic Hardover
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Cyclic Hardover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Mexico,
Posts: 7,296
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: F20 and dual aileron servos?

I've had mine for a few years and only a single servo. Honestly, I don't think you need them. If it were me and I wanted to, I'd get a pair of basic $15 Hitecs.

Do you have retracts in it?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf98051.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	93.4 KB
ID:	392362  
Cyclic Hardover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 12:53 AM
  #3  
buddude8
My Feedback: (10)
 
buddude8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Placentia, CA
Posts: 385
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: F20 and dual aileron servos?

ive had my dc f-20 for 3 years now. i have a single hitec hs77 low profile wing servo in the stock location. turns are very precise and it centers accurately. dont think you need two.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk24988.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	54.1 KB
ID:	392479  
buddude8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 10:12 AM
  #4  
jzinckgra
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (11)
 
jzinckgra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Standish, ME
Posts: 729
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: F20 and dual aileron servos?

Do you have retracts in it?
yes, BD pneumatics. Sounds like the standard one servo approach will be sufficient. The only other reason maybe to have two would be for flaperons, but with my old f20, i can slow her down enough as it is.
jzinckgra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2006, 01:28 PM
  #5  
Flyboy Dave
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pinon Hills, CA
Posts: 13,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: F20 and dual aileron servos?

The single servo has been OK in my F-20 for about three years now.

FBD.
Flyboy Dave is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service