Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Extreme Speed Prop Planes
Reload this Page >

smoother engine bearings

Community
Search
Notices
Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

smoother engine bearings

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2002, 04:22 AM
FlooredCOBRA

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default smoother engine bearings

The other day while at our field I was talking to a few guys about bearings in the engines. Somehow we got on the subject. One mentioned that they have this company that makes ceramic bearings a supposedly they do not wear like the metal ones we use and turn much smoother.

Does anyone out there have any info on this or heard of this? I am curious.
Old 12-06-2002, 06:06 AM
RossiRay

Default bearings

I have no experience with ceramics, but I would think if there was a benefit to them the Nelsons, Jetts, etc. of the world use them.

BTW, a worthwhile upgrade for most engines are the bearings that are sold by Performance Specialties. Same Swiss made units as Nelson uses. They have proven to be more durable than the originals in my Rossi .53. And as to smoothness, these are the best I have felt.
Old 12-06-2002, 07:03 AM
FlooredCOBRA

This is true.

But i only hear about this from some guys at the club.
Old 12-06-2002, 01:05 PM
S3HD
My Feedback: (1)

I specifically asked Dub Jett about ceramic bearings when I ordered my Bar Stock Jett 50 FIRE -
He said:" They are a waste of money."
Based on everything that I've emailed Dub Jett about, and a few phone conversations, I believe him.
If you read what he has to say on his website, you'll see that he does change his opinion - after firsthand experience and evidence shows that the change is good.
Example: Read the FAQ about AAC liners vs. ABC - Dub says that years ago, he would have agreed that ABC were better - now, he thinks that AAC are better, and goes on to explain why he changed his mind.