Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

HS-55 for throttle?

Reply

Old 05-18-2006, 10:55 AM
  #1  
afterburner
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
afterburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New City, NY
Posts: 3,021
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default HS-55 for throttle?

Hey guys,
Just trying to finish up a GP Viper with 46FX and wondering if the HS-55 is normally used for throttle on these planes. I've only used them on foamies and have a couple laying around. A standard servo will be a little more work/weight and since my battery is more foward than the suggested space, it might be nose heavy. Thanks.

Marty
afterburner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 11:20 AM
  #2  
petec
My Feedback: (58)
 
petec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Beaver Falls, PA
Posts: 2,077
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HS-55 for throttle?

I usually use the HS-81 for throttle on my planes including my 2 meter pattern bird. If the 55 will do the job and you have it, why not use it.
petec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 11:36 AM
  #3  
MJD
My Feedback: (1)
 
MJD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orangeville, ON, CANADA
Posts: 8,629
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HS-55 for throttle?

The concern I'd have with the HS-55 is not the torque, which is enough for any decent throttle setup, but it's intolerance to vibration and shock loads. It's not hard to strip gears on those guys, but if the motor is running smoothly, nicely balanced prop and all that, it's probably okay. But keep an eye on it. Someone here posted recently that their HS55 had stripped on throttle duty and they were forced to fly out the tank at full bore. Luckily anyone in this forum likely is used to that anyhow..

MJD
MJD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 11:42 AM
  #4  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HS-55 for throttle?

I wouldn't use it, too much vibration.

Hitec 80,81, or 85 would be a better choice.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 12:04 PM
  #5  
afterburner
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (18)
 
afterburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New City, NY
Posts: 3,021
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HS-55 for throttle?

Thanks guys. I might just go back to using the standard as I checked the balance and she's tail heavy. Will move battery foward and then see where it ends up. Right now with HS-55 inside, it's at 3lbs 15oz. and needs about 1 1/2 oz in the nose to balance.

Marty
afterburner is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service