Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Cermark F-16 Q?

Reply

Old 07-05-2006, 08:30 PM
  #1  
setxws6
Thread Starter
 
setxws6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Cermark F-16 Q?

Can you guys that have the jet tell me what servos (and how much torque is needed) you would recommend for each control surface. Also what servo for you used for the landing gear. I like using Futaba, but other recommendations are fine. I'm planning on getting this plane soon and just doing my homework on it. Thanks Bros!
setxws6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2006, 10:40 PM
  #2  
hummingbird111
Senior Member
 
hummingbird111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 346
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

i use Hitec 322 standard servos with 42 oz trq. on all controll surfaces except the elevators,,,,,and rudder,,,,, on the elevators i use the Hitec 635 HB 69 oz of trq.( two servos-one for each elevator,,,,, then i use the Hitec 81 with 36 oz trq. on the rudder,,hope this helps,,,, ..[8D]------i have air retracts that came with it and it gets the standard servo too HS 322...
hummingbird111 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 01:44 AM
  #3  
setxws6
Thread Starter
 
setxws6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

Why use less torque on the rudder?
setxws6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 03:23 AM
  #4  
hummingbird111
Senior Member
 
hummingbird111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 346
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

well.. because it was all i could do to fit the hs 81 in there,,,, any servo bigger then the HS-81 will not fit,,, it will be too big,.besides i think 36 oz of tourque is enough for this bird,,,besides i only use the rudder for take off's or landing anyways..i'm really not into Knife edges anyways,,, although i think it's enough for Knife edges too,,,but.............
hummingbird111 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 06:39 AM
  #5  
DougV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Miramar, FL
Posts: 958
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

Hi,

I use Futaba 9202 for the Elevators and Ailerons, 3003 for the Throttle nose gear and Retract servo, and 3102 mini servo for the Rudder.

Hope this helps!

Regards,
-Doug.
DougV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006, 01:48 PM
  #6  
setxws6
Thread Starter
 
setxws6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

I'll probably use the 3010 in place of the coreless 9202's which are twice as much, but both have the same torque. The 3102 mini servo looks like a good choice for the rudder. It has pretty high torque for it's size. Thanks a lot DougV.
setxws6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2006, 01:51 AM
  #7  
kmtranmd
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Irvine CA
Posts: 884
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

Futaba S3152 are digital and put out 87oz torque with 6V, best of call cost $30 at Tower. I use these on the elevators of all my 120 class warbirds and the Cermark F16. Own about 12 of these and have not seen any fail yet. I like to use the Futaba S3001 on the ailerons for better centering than standard S3004. You don't need torque on those small ailerons. Rudder on that F16 will take HS-81 nicely with little trimming needed. Don't need much torque on that tiny rudder. Besides, that small rudder will not allow you to knife edge this plane anyway. It's not a 3D plane. I've had negative experience with Futaba S3010 so don't use them anymore, almost lost a plane due to centering problem. This is obviously less of issue with digital servos.
kmtranmd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 02:43 PM
  #8  
setxws6
Thread Starter
 
setxws6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

kmtranmd, what is the difference between the S3001 and S 3004 other than price?
setxws6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 11:10 AM
  #9  
kmtranmd
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Irvine CA
Posts: 884
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

S3001 has slightly better centering, designed for choppers. It's an inexpensive alternative to using digital servos at the aileron position. I don't like to use cheap standard s3004 servos at aileron position where good centering is important. I almost lost a warbird once using S3004 servos that decided to not return to center position intermittently in flight. In fact, I thought it was interference at first. But I discovered the centering problem after some tinkering. Also had same problem with the Hitec standard servos. My 2 cents here is not to use cheap standard servos on any bird above 40 size at critical positions like elevators and ailerons. I do use them for rudder, throttle, retract valve.
kmtranmd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 02:38 PM
  #10  
smirniotisice
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

Well I figured if i'm going to be spending money on a Jett why skimp on the servos. So I put HS945mg's on the elevators and HS635mg's on the ailerons. on the rudder is just an HS81mg and the rest doesn't matter. Has anyone just used elevons and no ailerons? I've been thinking of doing this. I only have 7 channels and I ran out with the brakes. Good luck
Matt
smirniotisice is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 02:55 PM
  #11  
setxws6
Thread Starter
 
setxws6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

You're using brakes on this plane? That's pretty crazy! So what was did you use the other channel on besides retracts?
setxws6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 03:05 PM
  #12  
setxws6
Thread Starter
 
setxws6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

Where did you guys place reciver antenna?
setxws6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 03:52 PM
  #13  
kmtranmd
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Irvine CA
Posts: 884
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

I run the antenna up the fuselage inside a clear Dubro tubing.
kmtranmd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 06:15 PM
  #14  
KC36330
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 5,952
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

ORIGINAL: kmtranmd
.............Besides, that small rudder will not allow you to knife edge this plane anyway.
the heck it wont, the rudder is so effective on this plane that it'll do full rolls with it, takes about 1/4 of the deflection to knife edge the entire length of our field (a few thousand feet). if Your's won't knife edge, you don't have enough speed. for servos myself, i run JR DS8231's on all flying surfaces except the rudder where i use the Hitec HS-85-MG metal geared. on the other three their just standard ball bearing JRs

kc
KC36330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 06:58 PM
  #15  
setxws6
Thread Starter
 
setxws6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

I thought that it should be able to knife edge at least, guess you just have to put enough torque on the rudder.

Where is the Throttle servo located at?
setxws6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 07:06 PM
  #16  
KC36330
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 5,952
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

the F-16 has a very low lift area when in knife edge so it takes allot of speed to provide lift, it's not torque of the servo. throttle and nose steering servos are located in the forward section of the fuselage under the rear of the canopy.

kc
KC36330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2006, 09:13 PM
  #17  
setxws6
Thread Starter
 
setxws6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 304
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

Another question guys.

How many servo extensions did you guys use and what length.

Thanks
setxws6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2006, 09:29 PM
  #18  
KC36330
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 5,952
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

2@24" And 2@36" i used separate channels on everything so no Y's in mine. this also allows individual sub trim of every surface which is handy on the nose steering.

kc
KC36330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 06:19 AM
  #19  
smirniotisice
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

I have the retracts, brakes, and flapperons. If you put brakes on it mix it with down elevator I couldn't think of any better channel to mix it with. I also mixed in spoilers with the brakes.
smirniotisice is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 09:54 PM
  #20  
kmtranmd
My Feedback: (71)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Irvine CA
Posts: 884
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

How much deflection did you set up on the flaperons for landing?
kmtranmd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 07:08 PM
  #21  
smirniotisice
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Cermark F-16 Q?

Not to post on an old thread but the plane doesn't need to much I just use them to slow down then bring them back to maybe 5-10 degrees(1/4")
smirniotisice is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service