Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Extreme Speed Prop Planes
Reload this Page >

speed motor recommendation

Community
Search
Notices
Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

speed motor recommendation

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2006, 09:49 PM
rjbranchii

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default speed motor recommendation

I'm hooked on speed now too. I'd like to do fast speed plane. I'd like to get a feeling on some motor recommendations. I'd like to work with about a .90 sized motor. I want the pipe inside the fuse, not outside. I don't mind having a custom header done to get that if needbe or a rear exhaust engine is fine. I've noticed the interesting results with the OS .91 DF on one of the threads, and I have nothing against a motor like that, but I'd like some recommendations for you folks on what "works" to go fast. I'm a competent builder, and have had considerable design experieince and some ideas about what I want to design. But I need to work out the power system from the get go. I've noticed some good motor experience on the group from Bob at Jett Engineering, and I don't mind him or anyone else recommending his stuff if its the way to go. But I'd like some options. So what say ye all?

bob
Old 09-27-2006, 10:37 PM
ChuckL
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: speed motor recommendation

Anything with the name Jett will be hard to beat. I have several they are by far the best engines out there as far as I'm concerned, trouble free and they scream. Call Dub he will set you up with an engine that will meet your needs. Besides all that they are built in the USA which counts for a lot in my book, parts are available anytime or service if needed and Dub actually answers the phone.
Old 09-27-2006, 10:42 PM
ChuckL
My Feedback: (2)