Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Extreme Speed Prop Planes
Reload this Page >

Anyone have the doppler sound/speed program installed ?

Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Anyone have the doppler sound/speed program installed ?

Reply

Old 10-02-2006, 08:23 AM
  #1  
bob27s
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (19)
 
bob27s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Anyone have the doppler sound/speed program installed ?

Hey folks,

Anyone have that doppler speed software installed and working?

If so, could you go here, and do an evaluation on this QM40 video ?

http://www.lcrc.org/Tony/lcrc_2006_videos.htm
There are two QM40 demo flight videos on there from our club's airshow this summer.

http://www.lcrc.org/Tony/Videos/2006...e%20plane2.wmv

Thanks
Bob
bob27s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 12:15 PM
  #2  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone have the doppler sound/speed program installed ?

Bob, I did three samples and they were all close. This is the best one I did but there may have been faster.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn36253.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	74.9 KB
ID:	533884  
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 12:21 PM
  #3  
bob27s
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (19)
 
bob27s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone have the doppler sound/speed program installed ?

Hey Mike....

Thanks.... that looks about right. Level flight across the microphone area would be about 175.

I had a slightly 'light' prop on there too.
bob27s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 12:25 PM
  #4  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone have the doppler sound/speed program installed ?

The first pass coming out of a split S was actually a tad slower. This was level flight after a turn.
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 12:49 PM
  #5  
bob27s
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (19)
 
bob27s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone have the doppler sound/speed program installed ?

Ah... ok. Light prop, and it was a tad rich But apparently I had the mixture just right for racing.
bob27s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 01:58 PM
  #6  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone have the doppler sound/speed program installed ?

Nice flight, I hope thats sport flying aileron throw
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 02:51 PM
  #7  
bob27s
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (19)
 
bob27s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone have the doppler sound/speed program installed ?

I'm pretty sure that is the racing roll rate (low rate and 35 expo).

I click up to high rate after engine shut down. Usual proceedure.

That is only about 3/16 total aileron travel.

About the same roll rate I set up most of the racing planes with.
bob27s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 04:43 PM
  #8  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone have the doppler sound/speed program installed ?

Some of those rolls looked pretty quick to me, then again, most of the guys that have been doing this for a while (pre dual rates / expo) tend to like hotter setups than rookies like me. I hate using expo, just lower rates.

I'm running 1/8" to start on low, and 3/16" on high and adjust from there.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 04:43 AM
  #9  
CrocEnd
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Darwin, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 684
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone have the doppler sound/speed program installed ?

Where is that programe soft ware from.
This doppler shift is it .
CrocEnd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 08:03 AM
  #10  
Bob.R
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Bob.R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canyon Lake, TX
Posts: 788
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone have the doppler sound/speed program installed ?

Bob - that is haul'n. I'm always amazed when I see a good pylon ship pull G's in a turn.
Bob.R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 08:56 AM
  #11  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone have the doppler sound/speed program installed ?


ORIGINAL: CrocEnd

Where is that programe soft ware from.
This doppler shift is it .

http://www.sprut.de/electronic/soft/scope.htm
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 04:05 AM
  #12  
CrocEnd
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Darwin, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 684
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone have the doppler sound/speed program installed ?

English link would be would be good
CrocEnd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 08:27 AM
  #13  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone have the doppler sound/speed program installed ?

ORIGINAL: CrocEnd

English link would be would be good
There is no English link but this should translate it for you.
http://babelfish.altavista.com/tr

Edit - I encountered an error often during the translation but did get it to work with repeated attempts.
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service