Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

viper 500 help!

Reply

Old 10-03-2006, 07:56 PM
  #1  
mds007
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default viper 500 help!

Ok got finished with the build and set it down in the grass and realized very quickly it was not going to take off or land in the grass. I need a taller landing gear and or wheels. Any sugestions for the guru's?



Thanks,
MDS007
mds007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 08:38 PM
  #2  
Ken Bryant
Senior Member
My Feedback: (10)
 
Ken Bryant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 1,385
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

Hand launch. Or bring a mower to the field and cut that stuff SHORT
Ken Bryant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 09:13 PM
  #3  
Flyboy Dave
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pinon Hills, CA
Posts: 13,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

Go to the hardware store and buy a piece of 1" wide, 1/8" thick aluminum
flat stock, and make your own landing gear. Put a skid on the rear to raise
it up some too.

FBD.
Flyboy Dave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 10:09 PM
  #4  
easton24
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: STEDMAN, NC
Posts: 371
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

The plane will hand launch very easily. Just remember to have it on high rates when you hand launch it.
easton24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 11:37 PM
  #5  
Flyboy Dave
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pinon Hills, CA
Posts: 13,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

It might be better to hand launch it, really. Those planes don't have tail
wheels, so getting off the ground in a normal manner might be tricky.

FBD.
Flyboy Dave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 11:55 PM
  #6  
matt3D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 338
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

Is the viper 500 a good speed airplane? What motor would fit it best?

Thanks,
Matt
matt3D is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 01:29 AM
  #7  
Flyboy Dave
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pinon Hills, CA
Posts: 13,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

....anything from a nice hot .40 up to a .50 will give you all the thrills
you want....mine has an OS .40FX in it....it turns a 9-7 MAS at over
16,000 RPM on 15% Power Master sport fuel. They use this set-up for
Club Racing....

I haven't flown mine yet.

FBD.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig12262.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	40.2 KB
ID:	535006   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kf13150.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	156.1 KB
ID:	535007  
Flyboy Dave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 04:08 AM
  #8  
vertical grimmace
My Feedback: (1)
 
vertical grimmace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ft collins , CO
Posts: 7,202
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

You might try laying something on the grass like a piece of carpet upside down. We used to do this at pylon races years back when flying at sodfarms. If powered properly you will have no problem getting off of the ground. Let it go at full throttle and hold full up elevator until you break the ground. Make sure you CG is right on. If you are nose heavy you will have trouble. Landing should pose no problems. Just try not to come in too fast.
vertical grimmace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 07:22 AM
  #9  
mds007
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

Thanks everyone.... May have more questions later or crash pictures. lol
mds007 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 10:59 AM
  #10  
bob27s
My Feedback: (19)
 
bob27s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

www.lcsperformance.com for the larger landing gear.



Most Q-500 will indeed take off and land from reasonably short grass without much of a problem. Usually they roll about 6 feet on take off
bob27s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 06:16 PM
  #11  
Rudeboy
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

Hold full up and full throttle during launch... it should work.

If your prop is clipping the grass too much, it still works most of the time, but it can get tricky. It will veer to the right VIOLENTLY if the prop really digs in, so be prepared to chop throttle immediately.

Use APC Q500 props... don't try 10" props and stuff like that.
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 07:50 PM
  #12  
HighPlains
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Over da rainbow, KS
Posts: 5,085
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

Just hand launch it. Hold it infront of the wing, throttle up to full, and just pitch it upward at a 30 degree angle. Nothing to it.
HighPlains is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 10:53 PM
  #13  
Flyboy Dave
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pinon Hills, CA
Posts: 13,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!


ORIGINAL: HighPlains

Just hand launch it. Hold it infront of the wing, throttle up to full, and just
pitch it upward at a 30 degree angle. Nothing to it.
....just make sure you don't turn the swith off when you throw it.

Don't ask me how I know this. [X(]

FBD.
Flyboy Dave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 11:23 PM
  #14  
matt3D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 338
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

Thanks for the input guys, how fast do you think ur 500 will go with that .40fx?
matt3D is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 02:01 AM
  #15  
Flyboy Dave
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pinon Hills, CA
Posts: 13,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

....just a guess....around 135 or so....

FBD. [8D]
Flyboy Dave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 08:29 PM
  #16  
easton24
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: STEDMAN, NC
Posts: 371
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

Question. Does anybody know if it is worth switching engines from a 46ax to a 50 sx on a viper. Right now i am turning a 9x7 apc prop on the 46ax with a stock muffler 15800 rpms. I purchased a mac pipe but havent tried it yet. I noticed they have the 50sx listed to turn 20000 rpm's.
easton24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 01:07 AM
  #17  
crasharama
Senior Member
 
crasharama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mt Coolum QLD, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 580
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

I think they are some what optimistic with their output figures....[:@]
crasharama is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 02:02 AM
  #18  
rcflyer1970
My Feedback: (212)
 
rcflyer1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SUN CITY, AZ
Posts: 191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!


ORIGINAL: easton24

Question. Does anybody know if it is worth switching engines from a 46ax to a 50 sx on a viper. Right now i am turning a 9x7 apc prop on the 46ax with a stock muffler 15800 rpms. I purchased a mac pipe but havent tried it yet. I noticed they have the 50sx listed to turn 20000 rpm's.
I have a 50SX in the plane below, it's faster than my OS SF46 Piped Q500, I still have to put the race wheels on, bury the servos in the wing, adj. pipe length and instll my Hyper Carb, havn't started prop testing, been running a 9.75X7 APC for break in, the only glitch is the 50SX suuuuuuuucks fuel[] so I need to fit a larger tank (somehow), I only get about 4 times around the field WOT and I'm dead stick, it runs nice thou. The engine may have some potential but I've been waiting on the cooler weather to tinker. You may run into the fuel tank issue with the 50SX since you don't have much tank space in the Viper.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr49204.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	50.8 KB
ID:	535972  
rcflyer1970 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 10:44 PM
  #19  
Gray Beard
My Feedback: (-1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hemderson, NV
Posts: 14,380
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

One of our club members went to the three blad prop on his to clear our weeds. 135?????????
Gray Beard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 11:41 PM
  #20  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

We were getting about 120mph with the .46FX on the race course, and about 5-10 more with the .46AX.

In a dive and propped for straight line speeds you should be able to get in this ballpark.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 09:51 AM
  #21  
bob27s
My Feedback: (19)
 
bob27s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

Yeah, that is about right.

The TT40 powered Q-500 airframes generally fly 110-115 on the racecourse, and hit 120+ in level flight. Propped a big heavier for sport flying, 125-130 is possible. With a properly setup .46-.50 130-135 should not be within reach, even with the stock muffler
bob27s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 01:58 PM
  #22  
jaka
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Upplands Vasby, SWEDEN
Posts: 7,788
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

Hi!
I make a higher landing gear for the Viper that suits 10" props...How many do you want??

Regards!
Jan K
Airracing
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge96790.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	75.2 KB
ID:	536576   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd90958.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	109.2 KB
ID:	536577  
jaka is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2006, 01:28 PM
  #23  
tsuskas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Serres, GREECE
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

what type of propeller should i use on os 46ax for the top speed?
tsuskas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2006, 01:46 PM
  #24  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: viper 500 help!

on 15% Nitro I would use the 9 1/2" x 8.0 9 1/2" x 8.25 or 9 1/2" x 8.5 APC pylon prop for best overall performance. You can also try the 8.8x9.5 APC prop for best top speed in a dive, it will be a little sluggish getting off the ground but will get going.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service