Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Anyone else getting a Phenom?

Reply

Old 12-16-2006, 01:47 AM
  #1  
Razor-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (50)
 
Razor-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mira Mesa, CA
Posts: 5,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Anyone else getting a Phenom?

So I ordered a Phenom as a selfish x-mas present...I just could not stand idly by while others were building theirs!

The likely powerplant will be an OS-50SX with either a Tower muffler or a UT/Jettstream. What servos are you guys using? The specs. say 70-100 oz. I use Hitec-645MG's on the Whip (133 oz. @6V) and I am ASSUMING the Phenom elevons will be easier to move than the Whip's.

I see Crazy4flight's set-up (which is optimal) so I am jealous but I am still stoked to get one of the first Phenom birds. I am hoping to get it ready relatively quickly so I can get a flight report up on here.

I have been emailing Russ @ Oakdale and we are going to try to meet up (Rabbit maybe?) for some pics and video work when she is flight ready.

If anyone has one on the board or is thinking about getting one- What is your set-up gonna be?

The most fun part- Thinking of a paint scheme! (I do ghetto shaker can jobs though) How about Blue Angels?? To match my rifle?
Razor-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 12:06 PM
  #2  
Rudeboy
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone else getting a Phenom?

I'm definitely getting one. I haven't ordered yet though, but I will in the next couple of weeks.

If I remember correctly, the Phenom uses pin hinges. So moving the elevons won't be a problem. The elevons are big though, so slop free servos will be a real must when using powerful engines.
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 02:25 PM
  #3  
Razor-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (50)
 
Razor-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mira Mesa, CA
Posts: 5,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone else getting a Phenom?

Rudeboy- What are you going to put up front? OPS-60 FIRE?

I am going to do another one and step it up a notch... I really want to try a Rossi-65DF or K&B-82DF or similar. (Remember Chuck Augers Whiplash?)

The Jett-60 is probably optimum for ease of running/ tuning and performance-
Razor-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 02:45 PM
  #4  
Rudeboy
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone else getting a Phenom?

I would like to try to get an OPS 60 RIRE in there... but from what I have seen from Crazy4Flight's pics, I don't think it is quite possible without some major surgery. I will need to redo the front of the plane to match the small spinner for starters.

If the "big block" route doesn't work, other possibilities are various pylon engines. But this thing just screams for a rear exhaust engine. I will wait for some other flight reports though before ordering something radical like Dub's "practice F3D" engine. The Phenom looks like a much better match for a pylon engine compared to DD's and the likes though.

A West 50 is another candidate... but so far, the 60LX seems like the best option.

In other words, I haven't quite made up my mind yet, and I probably won't until I have the plane in my hands.
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 03:53 PM
  #5  
Razor-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (50)
 
Razor-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mira Mesa, CA
Posts: 5,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone else getting a Phenom?

I have my New and Improved West-50 back from Alan so it is a possiblity but right now it is on the Magnum..

K&B 7.5 would be a good affordable option!
Razor-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 08:01 PM
  #6  
Crazy4Flight
My Feedback: (540)
 
Crazy4Flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 3,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone else getting a Phenom?

ORIGINAL: Rudeboy

If I remember correctly, the Phenom uses pin hinges. So moving the elevons won't be a problem. The elevons are big though, so slop free servos will be a real must when using powerful engines.
You are correct! Robart pin hinges 3 per elevon. The elevons 2-3 times larger than the Whiplash. Elevons measure 3" at the root, and 2.5" at the tip.

My whip needed all the up elevator I could get at the last 15 yards before landing. The added area should help at real low speeds.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay75755.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	49.9 KB
ID:	578529   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ni24841.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	30.6 KB
ID:	578530   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mr39979.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	30.8 KB
ID:	578531  
Crazy4Flight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 09:02 PM
  #7  
Sky Dart1
Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Sky Dart1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Villa Rica, GA
Posts: 58
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone else getting a Phenom?

My son wants one (Lomcevak Duck), but I'm not thrilled to see another speeding triangle at the field. [sm=what_smile.gif]
Sky Dart1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 10:06 PM
  #8  
ChuckL
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Alanson, MI
Posts: 270
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone else getting a Phenom?

Mine is going to have a 60LX Fire, HS5625s on the elevons and I have a 8oz jett short tank that should work. I haven't worked on it yet as I have another project that I need to finish first but it won't be long.
ChuckL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2006, 09:57 AM
  #9  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone else getting a Phenom?

Is there a link to buy one of these?
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2006, 10:50 AM
  #10  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone else getting a Phenom?


ORIGINAL: daven

Is there a link to buy one of these?
http://www.oakdaleaircraft.com/phenom.htm
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2006, 07:32 PM
  #11  
Razor-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (50)
 
Razor-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mira Mesa, CA
Posts: 5,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone else getting a Phenom?

I was just running my West-50 on a 9x8 (APC) for kicks instead of the 9x7 or 8x8 usually used. I got 17.5K on 10%, stock plug (WEST?), 70 deg. @ 1,500 ASL.

It is stronger than my used Jett-50 was on a 9x8... Is that normal? I have yet to screw with the pipe and everything
Razor-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service