Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 35

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    brookings, SD
    Posts
    149
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    I found a NIB Diamond Dust kit & I'm making templates to have for future builds.

    Does anyone know where to buy Carbon Fiber Tubes for these planes ??

    I found Carbon Fiber arrow shafts for the smaller tube but still need the larger tube.

    Thanks in advance

    Mike

  2. #2
    Ed_Moorman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Shalimar, FL
    Posts
    4,049
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    When I enlarged it to a twin, I bought longer tubes at a kite shop in my local area.
    Ed Moorman, AMA 553, Former R/C Report Fun Aerobatics Columnist. 76 and up to my old tricks!

  3. #3
    nitro junky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    canastota, NY
    Posts
    78
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    The kit comes with fiberglass tubes, not Carbon Fiber Tubes.
    Insanity has replaced reason
    Revver # 167

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Rancho Murieta, CA
    Posts
    2,221
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    You will find that the tubes in the kits aren't carbon fiber but black fiber glass tubes. I had the same problem as you trying to hunting down hunt down the right size.
    Put an ohm meter to the tubes in the kit, they won't conduct at all, carbon fiber conducts very well. There's nothing wrong with fiber glass tubes, they are less likely to end split and have more flex and are lighter (thinner walled) than carbon tubes. Jeff may have done this for a reason, diamond dusts are well thought out. One of my 5 clones will try carbon tubes.
    Oooh eee oooh ah ah(the crowd) ting tang walla walla bing bang!(the plane crash)

  5. #5
    soarrich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Middletown, NJ
    Posts
    4,485
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    Rich Border AMA 77727
    Sig Kadet Brotherhood #2

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Pocatello, ID
    Posts
    492
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    Carbon fiber tubes can be found at CST Sales and Aerospace Compostites. Don't have the links handy, but a search should turn them up quite easily.

    They both have tubing up to .500 in thin wall C.F.

    The C.F. tube is lighter but more expensive. The black glass is a good alternative and they carry it as well.

    Dan
    Dan Gill
    details4scale

  7. #7
    Mike Connor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    2,025
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???


    ORIGINAL: nitro junky

    The kit comes with fiberglass tubes, not Carbon Fiber Tubes.
    I may be wrong but I think my first kit from 5 years ago came with carbon fiber spars and fiberglass leading edges. The fiberglass broke and the carbon fiber did not in this crash.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ca81468.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	49.1 KB 
ID:	613300  

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    brookings, SD
    Posts
    149
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    Thanks guys, I'll check kite supply places.

    Mike

  9. #9
    proptop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Rome, NY
    Posts
    6,698

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    Here's a place I stumbled across while looking for CF and Kevlar...
    I have not ordered anything from them yet...but it looks like they have a great selection![8D]

    http://www.acp-composites.com/ACP-CAT.HTM

    They have all kinds of neat stuff
    < Wrongway Feldman's Kreider-Reisner KR-21...(on Gilligan's Island)

  10. #10
    nitro junky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    canastota, NY
    Posts
    78
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???


    ORIGINAL: Mike Connor
    I may be wrong but I think my first kit from 5 years ago came with carbon fiber spars and fiberglass leading edges. The fiberglass broke and the carbon fiber did not in this crash.
    Your kit may very well have had carbon fiber in it. I am speaking from my own experience, the kit I just finished had all fiberglass.
    Insanity has replaced reason
    Revver # 167

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Rancho Murieta, CA
    Posts
    2,221
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    The fiber glass tube size average measurements found in my kit are : leading edge and spar extenders .300 O.D. X .250 I.D. Main wing spars .355 O.D. X .300 I.D. Note, forward non exstended spar has a smaller tube glued inside it to thicken the wall. As you may have found in searches there is no exact match in carbon, so get the spar material before you make the holes in the ribs, in any case.
    Oooh eee oooh ah ah(the crowd) ting tang walla walla bing bang!(the plane crash)

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    brookings, SD
    Posts
    149
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    The next issue I've found is tubing comes in up to 32" lentgh & the Diamond Dust has a span of 34".

    Do scratch builders just shrink span 2" or has someone found 34" CF or Fiberglass tubes .350-.355 o.d. X 34" long??

    Mike

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampton, GA
    Posts
    1,551
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    A while back when I cracked up my tubes I was in the same boat. I went to the hobby shop to pick up prop or something and then I came across these Dave Brown fiber glass tubes. They looked pretty close so I went ahead and bought them.

    When I got home I compared them and they were dead on. They were the exact same size and all I had to do was cut down to size and it worked well. Here is a link to the rods. It comes in a long clear plastic bag with a white and brown tag at the top. It has the hardware to make push rods but I tossed them to the side and just used the rods.

    http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LA1584&P=1

    Oh I forgot to mention I used these for the leading edge on the plane.
    Revver Brother #79

    www.youtube.com/user/Gig540?feature=mhw5

  14. #14
    Mike Connor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    2,025
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    ORIGINAL: mfracer@itctel.com

    The next issue I've found is tubing comes in up to 32" lentgh & the Diamond Dust has a span of 34".

    Do scratch builders just shrink span 2" or has someone found 34" CF or Fiberglass tubes .350-.355 o.d. X 34" long??

    Mike
    Did your NIB kit not have the spars and leading edge with it? Both of my kits came with 18" cf spars and the rear spar had the fiber glass tubes glued inside them to make them 34" long.

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    brookings, SD
    Posts
    149
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    Actually no my kit is short the tubes.

    I did find arrow shafts that are .300 od X 32" long & still looking for the .350 od with the .300 id. for the spars.

    Mike

  16. #16
    nitro junky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    canastota, NY
    Posts
    78
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    I went to a in door fly in last week in Syracuse NY. It was only about a 15min drive from my house. There was a vender there that might have what you are looking for. [link]http://www.dragonplate.com/[/link] They have Carbon Fiber Tubes up to 48" long. Hope this will help
    Insanity has replaced reason
    Revver # 167

  17. #17
    evan-RCU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    3,907
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    The Dave Brown push rods are what I used...
    Revver #125, Pico Owners Club #3
    R/C Anonymous. My name is Evan and I have not flown for 14 hours.

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    brookings, SD
    Posts
    149
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    Thank you everyone.

    Mission Accomplished.

    Mike

  19. #19
    Troy-RCU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Oceanside, CA
    Posts
    525
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    www.goodwindskites.com has some of the best carbon-rod selections and prices. Nice website and easy to shop. [8D]
    Can you feel that Buddy, HUH, HUH, HUH!!!??
    I Have EXORSIZED the electrons, this plane is clear.
    Revver Bro. #151

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Brandon, FL
    Posts
    42
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    So where did u find the OD .352 ID .300 CF Spars now?? The closest thing I could find was a fiberglass tube:

    http://www.goodwindskites.com/merch/...oductid=007008


  21. #21

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    brookings, SD
    Posts
    149
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    I used .300 OD tubes for everything.

    I went to an archery shop & bought a dozen .300 OD X .244 ID carbon fiber arrow shafts in the stiffest grade they have.

    For the rear spar I used "Hard Oak" wooden dowels 3" long & I inserted 2" of them in each end of the .300 CF tube to make the 34" spar.

    Had to sand a little as they fit really tight & then CA them.

    I actually drilled a 1/4" hole in the outer rib for the dowel to protrude into instead of using the wooden T that is normally used.

    I also cut a 1/4" balsa outer rib so the dowel had plenty to anchor into.

    Seeing how the spar's in the original Diamond Dust use joints that overlap 3/4" to 1" for the .300 to .352 main spars I'm hoping the one piece tube will get the job done.

    I'll finish the Dust in the next few nights & then have to wait for warmer temps to test fly.

    I mounted my NIB MVVS Q-500 .40 rear exhaust engine on it with a .40 GRRT tuned pipe & can't wait!!!

    It is -5 below Zero right now BURRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!

    Mike

  22. #22
    Goinstraightup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Baraboo , WI
    Posts
    2,307
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    Excellent thread!! I was able to buy a NIB DD. I am not going to build the original, just use it for templates to build several kits for myself. I will build those and preserve the original.

    Please post if anyone has new info involving where to get materials.

    Thanks!!

  23. #23

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Rancho Murieta, CA
    Posts
    2,221
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    I still have ribs for templates too. I bought a 10" band saw last year to cut them out and I wish I had it many years ago. I use it all the time for many other things and more than I use a dremel tool. It's a Craftsman Model 119.214000. It's all metal. I think it was around $100. For a few it's fine to saw them out but I made a bunch for my use and I ended up making them on a CNC milling machine. Laser is even faster but it leaves a burnt edge that I sand off where it gets glued.

    You have some choices when it comes to plywood. SIG sells there 3 /32" (.093" ) standard 3 ply that is real close to what the original ribs were made of. Midwest has the same 3/32" size with 5 ply but it's much heavier and its strength is almost Omni directional. For the engine mount I recommend that you use the Midwest 1/8 (.125" ) birch 5 ply, instead of the 3 ply like the kit had. On the engine mount where you cut out for the engine, wick some thin CA in to the edge. Seal the engine mount area with finishing epoxy before you cover. This make the engine mount area rock hard and much stiffer. Several hundred flights and hardly a mark where the engine sits. Only had to tighten a few times.

    The two square holes in the main ribs for the servo mount were move closer and the rear one was raise slightly for a better angle to the control horn. Lay out your servos and optimize it for you.

    If you use carbon fiber tubes you may have radio range reduction on 72 MHz. Others builders please let us know if you noticed this on an all CF tube construction diamond dust. Spread spectrum it should be fine.
    Oooh eee oooh ah ah(the crowd) ting tang walla walla bing bang!(the plane crash)

  24. #24
    Goinstraightup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Baraboo , WI
    Posts
    2,307
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    That is exactly the info I was looking for. Thanks freakingfast.

  25. #25

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Alanson, MI
    Posts
    266
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Carbon Fiber Tubes for Diamond Dust???

    The only DD I had interference issues wtih was my first one which I built from the kit with FG tubes, but that had to do with the interior setup of the antenna that is shown in the kit. It may have been just to close to something I'm not really sure because ever since I started routing my antenna out the wing tip and have never had an issue since and I use CF tubes on everything and good old 72MHZ.


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:07 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.