Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Flap setup for patriot xl

Reply

Old 02-06-2007, 02:23 PM
  #1  
le fou
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Georgetown, Texas
Posts: 330
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Flap setup for patriot xl

Hello,

I am finishing my patriot xl and I am trying to setup my flap servos. I am using a Y connector and I was wondering if anybody could post pictures of their setup - how the servo arms are connected to the flaps. I think that I didn't mount mine correctly...

Thank you,

Le fou
le fou is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 07:44 PM
  #2  
Flyboy Dave
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pinon Hills, CA
Posts: 13,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flap setup for patriot xl

Are you using four servos in the wing....two for the ailerons, and two for the flaps ?

FBD.
Flyboy Dave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 08:30 PM
  #3  
le fou
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Georgetown, Texas
Posts: 330
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flap setup for patriot xl

Yes, and since my receiver has only 8 outputs, I need to use a Y connector for the flaps. Do you have any pictures of your setup?

Thanks,

Le fou
le fou is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 09:19 PM
  #4  
Flyboy Dave
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pinon Hills, CA
Posts: 13,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flap setup for patriot xl

They just mount like the aileron servos. You can mount them straight onto the
wing....make some nacelles to cover them....or bury them into the wing.

These are on my Ultra Stick, a very simple flap set-up.

FBD.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Cz79654.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	143.5 KB
ID:	615403   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ez84006.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	148.6 KB
ID:	615404   Click image for larger version

Name:	Va71560.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	141.9 KB
ID:	615405  
Flyboy Dave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 11:28 PM
  #5  
le fou
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Georgetown, Texas
Posts: 330
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flap setup for patriot xl

Flyboy Dave,

Thank you very much for the pictures. My problems is that the way I mounted the servos (and using a Y connector) made the flaps move like my ailerons instead of moving in the same direction.... I changed the arm on one of the servos but now I have different displacement and velocity on my flaps... Do you have any ideas on how to resolve the problem?

Thanks again,

Le fou
le fou is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 12:10 AM
  #6  
Flyboy Dave
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pinon Hills, CA
Posts: 13,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flap setup for patriot xl

Look at pic #2....see how the linkage pulls from straight on....when the servo is actuated (flaps)
the arm moves to a 90 degree position. This gives me about 45 degrees of flaps. (I never measured
it)....both flap servos move the same way....there is no need for special reversing switch's or
anything. Do you see what I mean ?

Dave.
Flyboy Dave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 11:37 AM
  #7  
le fou
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Georgetown, Texas
Posts: 330
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flap setup for patriot xl

Flyboy Dave,

I understand waht you mean but I am not sure that I am explaining my problem correctly. I will take some pictures when I am at home to make things easier to understand.

Thanks,

Le fou
le fou is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 12:26 PM
  #8  
bob27s
My Feedback: (19)
 
bob27s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flap setup for patriot xl

You can use a reversing Y harness to reverse one servo ......

Or since this is for landing flaps only.... you can probably get away with just swapping the servo arm to the other side..... the deflection offset is not enormouse.
bob27s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 10:11 PM
  #9  
le fou
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Georgetown, Texas
Posts: 330
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flap setup for patriot xl

I swapped the servo arm to the other side and I followed the setup as illustrated in your pictures and it works

Thank you for your help,

Le fou
le fou is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 11:27 PM
  #10  
Flyboy Dave
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pinon Hills, CA
Posts: 13,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flap setup for patriot xl

....[sm=thumbup.gif]

....good luck with the plane.
Flyboy Dave is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service