Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Another prop question

Reply

Old 03-08-2007, 10:17 PM
  #1  
WSL
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ridgecrest, CA
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Another prop question

I have installed a Magnum 80 4 stroke on my 40 size Extra 300S and the prop called for (13X6) is real big on this plane so I put on a 12X8. The problem is that the plane will not stand still at idle. I have considered using a 3 blade prop but I don't know what size to try. Or am I using the wrong prop alltogether? I am not insterested in speed, just power. I like the idea of the 3 blade. Please advise. Thanx all. WSL
WSL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 11:00 PM
  #2  
combatpigg
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
combatpigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: arlington, WA
Posts: 19,891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another prop question

One of the most awesome 3D combos I've ever seen was a Saito .72 on a U Can Do .40. I think it had a 13x4 prop. I would check in with the 3D / Aerobatic forum for what they think.
combatpigg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2007, 11:44 AM
  #3  
rmenke
Senior Member
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Merced, Ca., CA
Posts: 2,118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another prop question

WSL:

I run a ac 14 X 4 on my YS 63 and it works well for all 3D. The YS 63 is as strong as your magnum 80. so the prop size should be in the ball park. The 13 is just not enough for the engine. When ever you can, run a prop pitch at 4 for 3D flying. ONly problem you run into is clearance which makes for long landing gear on some planes. When you get up in size to the gassers, things change and the engines require different prop sizes. I still keep theprop pitch as low as possible for engine rpm and quick recovery. ENJOY
rmenke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 10:31 PM
  #4  
wylieruneyjr
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: McClellanville, SC
Posts: 80
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another prop question

Put some fuel tubeing between wheel collars and wheels and push collar back on to create friction sort of a poor mans breaks. adjust tension as needed. When you throttle up it will go.
wylieruneyjr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2007, 02:52 AM
  #5  
Rudeboy
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Another prop question

Most of us here are trying to get a plane to go as fast as possible... standing still at the flight line is not really one of my concerns... Sorry to be of little help But some fuel tubing between the wheels and the collars works... in a limited sort of way.
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service