Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Extreme Speed Prop Planes
Reload this Page >

Flipper/Flipper Deluxe SPAD Speed

Community
Search
Notices
Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Flipper/Flipper Deluxe SPAD Speed

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2007, 01:01 PM
Clean

Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
Default Flipper/Flipper Deluxe SPAD Speed

I'd like to introduce the Flipper and Flipper Deluxe, a couple of SPAD designs I'm working on. I've been flying the Flipper for several months now, but really got to put plenty of flights on it down at Spads over Texas a couple weeks ago. Speeds in dead wind are between 100 and 105 on the Irvine powered 9x4 prop, I have just started playing with props don't don't expect a whole bunch extra with this engine. However, with an APC 8x6 and maybe a moose can, the Irvine will pull this thing right along I'm sure. It's rock solid and quick plastic build. I've have tape of it going by that according to the sound recorder it was doing 128mph, but that was downwind, upwind was quite a bit slower. MAN it was windy in Texas that day.

Pictures

http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=5077537

With the success of this airplane I started on the new bigger ship, the Deluxe. It sports a GMS 47 and is just a tad bigger, 48 inch span vs the 44 of the original. Did not get to put the maiden on it last week and am looking forward to maybe Thursday to this weekend for it. I'm hoping for similar performance from the Deluxe as with the Flipper. Maybe more as the GMS is a pretty cheap Monster and has pulled my Bulldawg up to 131. Small numbers really, barely faster than sport ships, but they don't cost that much. About 4 bucks of 2 mil coro, another couple bucks of 4 mil and a 2 dollar piece of PVC unless you fold the fuse out of Coro.

Picture of the Deluxe and pilot.

http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=5154884