Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Flooding carb on F20

Reply

Old 04-26-2007, 03:04 PM
  #1  
jzinckgra
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (11)
 
jzinckgra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Standish, ME
Posts: 729
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Flooding carb on F20

I asked over in the Qand A forum and was told to either use a regulator or smalller tank. My problem is the Mag52xls carb on my F20 is flooding both on the ground and in the air. The tank I have under the canopy is obviously too high, but with the nose gear retract, I can't lower it. If I pull the carb line off w/o the engine running, fuel pours out. In the air, the engine will occassionaly deadstick when I throttle back. I assume the plug is getting too wet. I know the engine isn't running too lean. I think I have an 8 oz tank, which I was told if I went smaller, it may lower the tank enough to prevent siphoning. Have any of you guys had this same problem with this plane and what was your tank setup like? I have the older DC F-20, but I'm sure the newer F20 arfs (at least those with nose gear retracts) are setup similarly. thanks.
jzinckgra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 04:29 PM
  #2  
brewski
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: CAMDEN, TN
Posts: 496
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flooding carb on F20

I had the same problem with a OS 90 2 stroke. The tank was to high in that plane also. I put an onboard glow driver on it to cure the problem. I had it set up so that when the engine dropped below 1/2 throttle the glow plug was on. On board glow is really nice but does add the weight of a sub c battery.
brewski is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 07:36 PM
  #3  
jzinckgra
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (11)
 
jzinckgra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Standish, ME
Posts: 729
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flooding carb on F20

what size tanks is everyone running?
jzinckgra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 10:19 PM
  #4  
Trollmaster
Senior Member
 
Trollmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 375
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flooding carb on F20

Well, on mine I took the retract apart and made it work backwards with the arm facing forward and the wheel stil retracting aft. I mounted the retract servo right behind the firewall and the control rod was maybe an inch long. Works fine all these years. You don't have to have the entire wheel inside the plane, I have about half of it out.
Trollmaster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 04:45 PM
  #5  
Ed_Moorman
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ed_Moorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Shalimar, FL
Posts: 4,059
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flooding carb on F20

you probably still have a small space where you can put a 2 ounce header tank. This would also give you consistant runs. Your carb draws from the small tank, the pressure line goes into the main tank. The feed line of the main tank is connected to the usual pressure inlet on the small tank. Works really well.
Ed_Moorman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 06:09 PM
  #6  
KC36330
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 5,952
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flooding carb on F20

a header tank isn't going to solve the problem as long as the main tank is above the carb like it currently is, you can either move the tank to above the wing over the CG and then run the header tank behind the firewall or i'd suggest the cline regulator.

kc
KC36330 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 06:13 PM
  #7  
Joe Ortiz
Senior Member
My Feedback: (75)
 
Joe Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flooding carb on F20

I have the Juno F20 and the plans says to use a regulator or pump when using retracts.

Joe
Joe Ortiz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 07:55 PM
  #8  
jzinckgra
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (11)
 
jzinckgra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Standish, ME
Posts: 729
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flooding carb on F20


ORIGINAL: Joe Ortiz

I have the Juno F20 and the plans says to use a regulator or pump when using retracts.

Joe
Interesting. I didn't see that in my Juno directions. I'll have to look again.
jzinckgra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 07:23 PM
  #9  
rcflyer1970
My Feedback: (212)
 
rcflyer1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SUN CITY, AZ
Posts: 191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flooding carb on F20

I have a similar problem with a PC-9 with inverted engine S/T S-61, fuel will drain when not running, I just pinch the line till starting, I lean the low end as much as possible and run the idle a bit hi and it is ok now, it used to flood in the air and dead stick with a normal carb setting when I would throttle back.
rcflyer1970 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service