Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Has anyone electrified a F3D?

Reply

Old 05-16-2007, 11:25 PM
  #1  
TheTick
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: , CA
Posts: 357
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Has anyone electrified a F3D?

I've been running some numbers on P-calc and this seems to be a pretty good setup:

Neu 1915/1Y
12s 3200 lipo's
7.4x8 prop

Spins the prop at 28,000 rpm at 212mph pitch speed for over 3 min of runtime. I'm really tempted to give it a shot. Here's a link to the airframe I'm thinking about using.

http://www.bigbruceracing.com/prod03.htm
TheTick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2007, 12:10 AM
  #2  
MarkF
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 120
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Has anyone electrified a F3D?

I converted the stilletto F3d plane. I am currently running a Neu 1521 3D, 12s tp extremes 3850 and a supercool 7.5 X 8 carbon prop. I had a 1521 2y in it before but the rpms weren't up high enough. It did hit 205 in a dive on the radar gun. Now I would say it does 220 mph. Good luck getting the 1915 to fit in the nose. It should go good though.

Mark
MarkF is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 03:16 PM
  #3  
TheTick
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: , CA
Posts: 357
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Has anyone electrified a F3D?

Are you the guy that did the Vendetta? That pland inspired me to try it in a larger f3d airframe. I figured more wing area would be better with all that battery weight and still get around 200mph. I didn't think that the 19 series neu woudn't fit. I'll have to do some more research I guess.
TheTick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2007, 10:25 PM
  #4  
Airbike
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Walnut, CA
Posts: 636
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Has anyone electrified a F3D?

Sooo, After a break in the action, Ben is in need of SPEED again...Haha. Good to see you back.

I'll be working on some stupid stuff this summer. Same MO as always, stuff the biggest, fastest revving engine/motor, into the smallest airframe that we think will carry it and still be landable....(maybe only once, but it may be worth it).

Dan
Airbike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 12:53 AM
  #5  
MarkF
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 120
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Has anyone electrified a F3D?

No Im not the guy that did the vedetta. That would be Eric. Im the guy who did the stilletto F3D plane. You will need to stick with a 15 series motor if you want it to fit in the nose. Or you could probably cut the nose back some and get the 19 series to fit. I actually had to dremmel the front of my motor to get it to fit my plane. I'll try to have it out at the next rabbit dry lake event whenever that is.

Mark
MarkF is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 06:11 PM
  #6  
TheTick
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: , CA
Posts: 357
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Has anyone electrified a F3D?

Hi Dan, it's good to hear from you. I haven't been doing much flying lately, but I'm definately looking at doing something fast. I still have my 200mph nemesis, but I wanted something with landing gear. Just not sure if I wanna put the money into making a larger plane go that fast.

Mark, I would love to hear more about your setup. Is there a thread or a video?
TheTick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 11:48 AM
  #7  
garys
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Stansbury Park, UT
Posts: 937
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Has anyone electrified a F3D?

I've seen Mark's Stilletto go, and it's very impressive. I'm not sure, however, that the Evo will have enough room for the batteries, or if the longer, two-piece wing will handle the extra weight. Mark's airplane is close to 7 pounds, the F3D minimum weight is under 5 pounds (2200grams). I just flew a new Evo Sunday, and the wing does appear to flex a bit. I'm not worried about it for F3D, but I definately would be if I was carrying an extra pound or two of weight. I'm definately a fan of the Evo and will soon be ordering another, but as far as room for equipment in a current F3D airplane, I think the current Dago Red Innovation (not the 3D model of the "new weapon" on the front page) would probably be an easier fit.... http://www.f3d.de/

GS
garys is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 04:53 PM
  #8  
Troy-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Troy-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 525
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Has anyone electrified a F3D?

Big Bruce was suppose to be electrifying one of his Evos in similar fashion to Mark's F3D conversion. I haven't heard much on it for a while but he has the motor and batts.

Here's some video of Mark's plane on a Q40 course. This was the first time it was truly flown around pylons. You'll see it start at 34 seconds... the first half of the vid is Nelson powered Q40's.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H6w_nlqGFuc
Troy-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 10:44 PM
  #9  
MarkF
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 120
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Has anyone electrified a F3D?

Thanks for posting the video Troy. That set up in the video was with a 1521 2y motor. It now has a 1521 3D motor which has a little higher KV. Needless to say it is faster now than what you see in the video.

Mark
MarkF is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 04:03 PM
  #10  
TheTick
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: , CA
Posts: 357
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Has anyone electrified a F3D?

What battery config are you using Mark?
TheTick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 06:18 PM
  #11  
MarkF
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 120
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Has anyone electrified a F3D?

Im using 2 evo 6s 3700s or 2 6s 3850 tp extremes. Some day I should try 10s just to get some weight out and see how she flys.

Mark
MarkF is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 10:07 PM
  #12  
TheTick
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: , CA
Posts: 357
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Has anyone electrified a F3D?

Could you get away with using 3200's? Not sure how many amps you are pulling. Maybe a 10s 3200 might be a good setup.
TheTick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 06:45 PM
  #13  
MarkF
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 120
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Has anyone electrified a F3D?

I think Im pulling around 130 amps. 10s would be around 100 amps. Can the 3200 take that much.
Mark
MarkF is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service