Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Post your highest speed reached!

Reply

Old 07-31-2007, 01:40 AM
  #1  
chevypower1930
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,006
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Post your highest speed reached!

Hey all... Why doesn't everybody post your highest speed in MPH ever reached with your prop planes and pictures and videos if you have any! hey throw in some highspeed crashes whoever has them! lets make this a big post and see who has the HIGHEST SPEED!
chevypower1930 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 02:01 AM
  #2  
aussiesteve
Senior Member
 
aussiesteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PerthWA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,924
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

This is for the spectacular high speed crash segment.
I had one about 18 months ago where I had just flown inverted through a speed checking device on our runway - clocked at 122 MPH then BOOM. [&:]
The post crash investigation took a lot less time than the cleanup did - Dumb Thumbs won the day when the pilot (who shall remain nameless - OK it was me) pulled instead of pushed. There wasn't much left to salvage.[:@]
aussiesteve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 07:00 AM
  #3  
MustangAce
My Feedback: (3)
 
MustangAce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Old Hickory, TN
Posts: 1,027
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

wm p-51 ---136mph
MustangAce is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 07:50 AM
  #4  
chevypower1930
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,006
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

great yall sorry to hear about the crash aussie haha
chevypower1930 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 08:41 AM
  #5  
combatpigg
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
combatpigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: arlington, WA
Posts: 19,891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

A K&B 6.5 F-1 engine that I modified to turn a 7.2x8.6 23,500 on the ground with open header. On a scratch built DD it turned several 175-177 mph passes through a 330 foot timing zone.
A Webra .50 powered deltas' best clockings were in the 150-155 mph ball park, again after taking several level passes through a 330 foot timing zone. The work of a couple of volunteer timers can be very consistent.
combatpigg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 10:02 AM
  #6  
Razor-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (50)
 
Razor-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mira Mesa, CA
Posts: 5,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

29 MPH

GMP Cricket
Razor-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 02:47 PM
  #7  
Crazy4Flight
My Feedback: (540)
 
Crazy4Flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 3,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

Sig Wonder MACH .75 ( in a box with my suitcase in the belly of a 737)
Crazy4Flight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2007, 03:07 PM
  #8  
Desertlakesflying
My Feedback: (28)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sun Valley, NV
Posts: 2,541
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

Hangar 9 P-51 Mustang 60 size. OS 120 Pumper "Speed Trap" reading between 120 and 130mph. All I know is that'll make ya a little nervous. Thank God this is such a solid flying airplane. Next I want to play with jets.

3 runs at approximately 300 feet distance, air temp 50 to 60 degrees

Number one
2.4 seconds approx. 125mph

Number two
2.2 Seconds was a little high diving into the trap at approx 45 degree angle approx 136mph

Number three
2.5 seconds approx. 120mph
Desertlakesflying is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 02:54 PM
  #9  
mongo2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: , IN
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

I am waiting on a Kyosho Kelly to arrive which I am going to power with a YS 110s and a 14 x 14 apc. Since it is not here yet I have fitt the engine to my Nexstar tranier and plan on clocking it this weekend for giggles. Hopefully the tail stays on...
mongo2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 06:17 PM
  #10  
SPEED JUNKIE
Senior Member
My Feedback: (14)
 
SPEED JUNKIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: GRIFTON, NC
Posts: 488
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

Giant 9' wing span "Butt Ugly Stick"!
Circa 1986.
Super Tiger 3.6 inline twin.
Full throttle power dive about 90mph when the elevator decided to go for a walk.
Biggest lawn dart I have ever seen!
Burned that balsa sacrifice right where it took it's last dirt nap!
Aaahhh the memories.
SJ
SPEED JUNKIE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 10:18 PM
  #11  
Kmot
My Feedback: (24)
 
Kmot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 10,941
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

SJ, what did the motor look like? Got any pics?
Kmot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 09:12 AM
  #12  
HighPlains
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Over da rainbow, KS
Posts: 5,085
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

Highest radar speed 175 with Formula One on the course.

Highest speed measured with unconventional means - about 230 mph.
Also a Formula One, after a bit of a dive on a windy day downwind. Just needed a couple feet more altitude to avoid skipping model off of old Navy concrete runway.

Speed calculated from angle of scratches left by runway on spinner cone, rpm of engine, and diameter of spinner before witness marks place on spinner. Possible source of error in calculation - may have used too low of engine rpm, so 230 is a low ball number.

Airplane parts were spread over 600 feet.
HighPlains is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 10:51 AM
  #13  
diggs_74
Senior Member
 
diggs_74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Emerald, WI
Posts: 1,648
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

I often wonder how many planes meet their end diving toward the radar gun.. My personal best was with a quickie was consistent (10 passes or so) mid 160's and with a Q40 probably in the mid to high 180's straight and level.. A big "split s" will get you to the 200 mark on a Q40 without much trouble..
diggs_74 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 11:26 AM
  #14  
vicman
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

I tore a hole in the space time continueom with a GWS tigermoth an 8 cells!
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 11:52 AM
  #15  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!


ORIGINAL: diggs_74

I often wonder how many planes meet their end diving toward the radar gun..
Diving, I would say most. Towards a radar gun, only a few.
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 01:00 PM
  #16  
SPEED JUNKIE
Senior Member
My Feedback: (14)
 
SPEED JUNKIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: GRIFTON, NC
Posts: 488
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

Vicman you kill me!
Are we stable at this time or do I need to hook u up to my "50/50 Nitrophine Drip"[sm=thumbup.gif]

KMOT I think I only have some Poloroid's! Not to computer friendly!
Actually the 3.6 Super Tiger survived and I installed it on a 7' x 3' interior door and flew that!
I won the bet! they said a door couldn't fly! Stupid humans![X(]
SJ
SPEED JUNKIE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 03:29 PM
  #17  
dirtmagnet
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Piggott, AR
Posts: 114
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

i had a king kobra with super tiger .90 and in full power dive trying to out run a midget mustang (not a good idea) lost elevator control. i think the servo stripped on the pull out, radar gun said 133 when it hit the ground. the verticle stabilzer was stuck in the left wing. i have since bought another king kobra but also have a kougar to go along with it so i dont push that kobra to the max like that again. had to get a shovel to find the BRAND NEW engine. it was the 3rd flight on this engine.
dirtmagnet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 03:48 PM
  #18  
Thunderbolt47
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
Thunderbolt47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Beulaville , NC
Posts: 2,143
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

T/F mustang GS, 128/mph level, 152mph diving
G-62/T-6 racing prop.
Thunderbolt47 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 04:13 PM
  #19  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

Not counting Q500 and Q40's, the funnest speed planes I have flown, were my:

15 sized Ace Ultimate bipe with O.S. .25fx, LOW 90's on RADAR
40 sized Scratch Built Eindecker with Jett .50, Radared at 148 mph
Whiplash, never caught on radar, didn't make it out of the split s
Hangar Nine Corsair with Jett .90, Never radared, estimated around 110, maybe faster.
Kyosho Spit with Jett .50, radared at 120 mph.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 07:05 PM
  #20  
novakdrifta
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

i have a multiplex fun jet, 3300kv outrunner 4.5 x4.5 cut down to a 3 x4.5prop running an 80amp esc and 2x 2200 3c lipo. it sounds scary when at full noise, punches out close to 190mph level flight... too scared to try a dive.
also the wings and stabs are clipped. got about 2 flights oth of the motor (not rated for that kind of rpm) was a metal blob.
novakdrifta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 09:18 PM
  #21  
TheTick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: , CA
Posts: 357
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

203mph with my electric nemesis. Here's the vid of a 201 pass out of a dive.

http://thetick.rchomepage.com/Nemesis%20.wmv
TheTick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 09:59 PM
  #22  
combatpigg
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
combatpigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: arlington, WA
Posts: 19,891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

That's pretty cool, just buy the right stuff, flip a switch......then when the run is over with, tell the butler to throw in a fresh $300 pack for the next run
combatpigg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 10:07 PM
  #23  
aussiesteve
Senior Member
 
aussiesteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PerthWA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,924
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!

What gear are you running in that Nemesis?
Motor. Prop, battery etc etc
Looks like it could be a lot of fun.
aussiesteve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 10:16 PM
  #24  
TheTick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: , CA
Posts: 357
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!


ORIGINAL: combatpigg

That's pretty cool, just buy the right stuff, flip a switch......then when the run is over with, tell the butler to throw in a fresh $300 pack for the next run
LOL...the setup cost me around $900. I usually like to land after around 10 min of flying with throttle management. Then it takes about 30 min to charge up for the next run.
TheTick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 10:18 PM
  #25  
TheTick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: , CA
Posts: 357
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Post your highest speed reached!


ORIGINAL: aussiesteve

What gear are you running in that Nemesis?
Motor. Prop, battery etc etc
Looks like it could be a lot of fun.

Neu 1509/2.5D
TP 4200 5s2p
4.75x4.75
CC80 controller
TheTick is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service