Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Speed indication

Reply

Old 03-25-2003, 08:33 AM
  #1  
WerHop
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
WerHop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Somerset West, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Speed indication

What is the general feeling regarding the measurement of aircraft speeds here.

this forum is about the fast speed prop planes, so one will like to measure the speed of your planes, it that correct, how do most of you guys do this

radar gun, onboard speed sensor, what

werner
WerHop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 01:22 PM
  #2  
sydclement
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
sydclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bridgeton, NJ
Posts: 146
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Speed measuring

Werner:
Presently using a Stalker Radar gun on a Tripod.
Got to line the plane so that passes directly in front
and over the gun. (tough when the winds blowing).
I have a Garmin GEKO 201 GPS ordered and a remote
litho-poly battery pack ordered, that will end all speed
timing controversy, (if it works). Garmin says it will...
So far all I have received is the Remote battery and its
charger. The unit itself is on back order..

You should receive many answers here to your question..

Syd
sydclement is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 02:26 PM
  #3  
jlong34016
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: columbus, OR,
Posts: 365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radar gun

I use radar gun. It is able to clock a bb. But its hard to get the DD or whiplash as its making a pass until its within 600-800 feet. Other planes i can track everywhere in the sky (although the reading only is accurate when going directly toward or away from me.)
jlong34016 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 02:42 PM
  #4  
WerHop
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
WerHop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Somerset West, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Speed indication

Thanks for the reply's - i am trying to get together a speed system for our planes and a rc boat we have.

I here of some transmitting system that sounds interesting from the jet forums and am trying to see if anyone uses them.

Most peaple use radar guns - this works well but it not so easy for one person - a transmitter will be easier ..

what is your views on this
WerHop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2003, 02:41 AM
  #5  
Cyclic Hardover
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Cyclic Hardover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New Mexico,
Posts: 7,296
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Speed indication

I use simple time and distance.

A plane flying down a 700ft runway in 5 seconds gives you 140ft pers second, so the whoole thing looks like this.

700ft divide by 5 =140 x 60=8400 x 60=504000 divide by 5280= 95mph
Cyclic Hardover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2003, 09:38 AM
  #6  
Cactus.
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Cactus.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: CamborneCornwall, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 6,136
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Speed indication

I have a Doppler shift program to download from my web site, just record your planes pass and input the sound file. you also get the engines RPM. works for IC cars, boats and planes, i've even "got" a glider!!!!
Cactus. is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service