Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Extreme Speed Prop Planes
Reload this Page >

Magnum, Irvine 46, what prop? I have no idea...

Community
Search
Notices
Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Magnum, Irvine 46, what prop? I have no idea...

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2007, 11:07 AM
JoeyCoates

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Magnum, Irvine 46, what prop? I have no idea...

Hey guys, I have been flying for 20+ years but in all of that time have never had a seriously fast airplane. Sure I have been a bit interested, and I have had a few slick airframes that would maybe do 100-110, but nothing made for 125+. I really was not looing for one at this time either, but then I ran across the Magnums on Ebay ad for $75 and at that price why not.

I do have a few questions for you though as I am new to this.

#1. I have an Irvine 46 (red case jetstream carb) that I was thinking about using. I really do not know how these engines are timed ie sport, somewhere in between, or speed. Actually I know that it is not made for speed, but will it respond to a pipe or would I just be better off trying to find something else? I do not really want to dump a lot of money in it before I know how I like the speed models, but I do not want to put insufficient equipment in it either.

#2. I I can use this engine, where should I begine as far as a pipe is concerned? I am not very familiar with tuned pipes, but I am willing to learn. I do have a 55ax that I put a Tower Muffler on

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXJB16&P=0

which picked up 900 rpm's, but I think that a tuned pipe would have a better result?

#3. Where should I start in regaurds to prop selection? I have no idea where to begin concerning pitch and diameter.