Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Questions regarding my first speed delta

Old 12-11-2007, 09:34 AM
BlackB12
My Feedback: (9)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Questions regarding my first speed delta

I'm looking at Mike's RC Screaming demon to be my first fast plane. I'm primarily a 3D pilot and I want to have something to fulfill the need for speed. The screaming demon looks perfect. I have 3 engines I'm considering using on a demon. They are, a supertigre 51, supertigre 40, or a OS46ax. I realize this will not be a missile like something powered by a Jett engine, but it would be a start. My fastest plane right now is a beater Skyraider Mach 2 with the Supertigre 51 on it. I'm sure it doesn't top 70mph so if I can get into the 100's that would be good. What engine would be best. I emailed mike and he didn't have first hand experience with either engine on a demon, but he thought the ST51 would be fastest. A friend gave me a 60 sized tuned pipe so maybe that could be adapted to the 51. Or maybe it's too much pipe for the smaller engine. I don't know. The ST51 will turn an APC 10x7 at 13,500 rpm. What's the max rpm I should run this engine to? Lots of questions I know, but if anyone can help my move to speed planes, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Mike
Old 12-11-2007, 09:49 AM
bob27s
My Feedback: (19)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Questions regarding my first speed delta

Hi Mike... welcome...

There is no real mystery here. You have a collection of good engines. You just have a different application, thus different props, and slightly different performance setups.

Any of those engines will be suitable for the speed application.