Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Mini Pipe Section Drawing?

Old 03-12-2008, 05:41 PM
mmattockx

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Mini Pipe Section Drawing?

Does anybody have a section drawing of a mini pipe (Jett or Ultrathrust muffler)? I am just curious how they are assembled and how the folded wave pipe is set up and functions. Feel free to get technical, I am a mechanical engineer with a sound grasp of 2 stroke exhaust systems. I have just never seen a decent explanation of how the folded wave versions work. I don't want dimensions, I have no interest in making my own, for what Jett charge there is no way I can touch it on material alone, forget labor. I just want to know more details and WHY and HOW they function. Bob27, feel free to enlighten me offline with a PM if you prefer not to publicly explain.

Thanks,
Mark
Old 03-12-2008, 11:44 PM
mmattockx

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Mini Pipe Section Drawing?

Nobody? All these old time racers and speed guys and no one can help me out??

Mark
Old 03-13-2008, 06:49 AM
BillS

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Resonance theory in tuned pipes. My oh my what a question. Similar to 'How does the female mind work?' or 'Voodoo and other Magic.' The answers are not contained in a few paragraphs but are ambiguous and span volumes. Not surprising that no one attempted to answer.

But the book "Two Stroke Tuners Handbook" by Gordon Jennings would be a good place to begin. The book is out of print but I have seen it in web format sometime in the past two years. Additionally you might search the web for other similar information.

The subject is very interesting.

Bill
Old 03-13-2008, 12:28 PM
mmattockx

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

ORIGINAL: BillS