Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Extreme Speed Prop Planes
Reload this Page >

Patriot XL modifications

Notices
Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Patriot XL modifications

Old 03-14-2008, 02:27 PM
tmproff
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Patriot XL modifications

Well I just bought my first set of Spring Air retracts for a GP Partiot XL that I'm building. I'm an experienced builder, but this is my first attempt at putting retracts on a plane. The retracts were used, but looked in great shape. Just by fiddling with them for about 5 mins, I was able to hook everything up and get them to work properly.

1. Is there any important information that I need to know when installing these?
2. Where is the best place to install the air input nozzle on the plane?
3. Would retract covers make that much of a difference on the performance of the plane?
4. What is the best way to "beef" up the retract area?

Thanks for your help
-Troy
Old 03-14-2008, 03:27 PM
hummingbird111

Default RE: Spring Air Advice (Patriot XL)

tmproff..., I recently built the Patriot XL and the 40 size,, the XL was by far alot easy-ier to build ,,, but i used fixed gear, from what i can tell the retracts should be easy to put in and beef up too. I didn't get retracts because they were too expensive for the larger size. Show us some build picks.

--------------VAROOOOM!!!!------------->
Old 03-14-2008, 04:15 PM
rmenke
My Feedback: (13)

Troy: