Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

LR1 servos?

Reply

Old 04-10-2008, 10:00 PM
  #1  
Duane-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Duane-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 548
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default LR1 servos?

Would the Hitec HS82HD or HS82MG be ok? http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXTRE2&P=0 http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXTRE1&P=0
Going to use a .25FX or .32SX start with. Is it a good idea to use a rudder? I don't want any take-off problems, and won't have a helper most of the time. Any other set-ups or tips a greatly appreciated!
Duane-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 11:12 PM
  #2  
Airbike
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Walnut, CA
Posts: 636
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

I'm not sure of the torque on the HS82 but I am using HS-85MG's in one of my LR-1's. So far no problems and it is running a Sport Jett .50
You might get away with the HS82MG if powered with a .25 but with a .32 or larger, I'd think you'd want a little more servo power.
I'd recommend cutting one side of the skin and making the rudder operable, it needs all the ground control you can get.
There was a nice thread on the LR-1 a few years ago, maybe a search will turn it up.
Airbike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 11:23 PM
  #3  
z06kal
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 211
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

I used all HS-81's no problem at all.
z06kal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 06:12 AM
  #4  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

I'd recommend Hitec 225's w/nylon gears.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 12:18 PM
  #5  
bob27s
My Feedback: (19)
 
bob27s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?


ORIGINAL: daven

I'd recommend Hitec 225's w/nylon gears.
me too.

225 is a powerful little servo. Not expensive. Durable.

I like my flight control servos to be mounted solidly with 4 screws. HS-8x is fine for throttle.

Dave, are those expert servos still available? I have not looked lately...
bob27s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 12:47 PM
  #6  
z06kal
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 211
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

HS-225's are great servos but way over kill for this plane IMHO. Not that it is a bad thing. I mounted my 81's to the size of the fusalage via goop. Epoxied the ones in the wing for the ailerons, I may be mistaken tho I may have used 125mg's in the wing I don't quite recall. BTW my LR1 did something like 135-140 level and over 150 out of a dive.
z06kal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 01:18 PM
  #7  
airraptor
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fairfield, CA
Posts: 4,191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

i use the 82's metal gear on mine with OS.25 My lr1 did 134mph on OS.25 slight dive. i have a jett 35 LX for it and the only upgrade in servos i will do will be to install a 225 on the elevator.

the guys in our club they all run the servo arm thru the top skin and put the control horn on the top. i put mine on the bottom since its my first one.

you will need rudder if using the gear. The landing gear will only slow you down though.
The gear monut isnt very strong and if you are not a good flyer that can land a fast plane and you do not fly off a paved runway then you better not run the landing gear anyway. many guys here on the forums and my club tell me it will tear the wing up if mounted on the wing. If you mount the gear on the fuse then it will bounce alot and cartwheel on the ground then tear it up aswell.

keep it as light as possiable. sand the wing tip leading edge's (about 12 inches from tip) to get rid of the mold line. leave the mold line on the inboard portion of the wing.

use a bubble jett or any other bladder type tank as the stock one (that i have ) will have air in the lines fom vibration. I fixed that with a robart super pupmer.

If you can fit a SJ50 then you can run a BSE .60 LX in it. lol maybe i will have to order one.
airraptor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 01:34 PM
  #8  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

The Expert SL-451 is no longer available, but it appears to have been replaced by the JR Sport MN-48

I am testing them in both of my club racers this year.

The 225 weighs in at .95 oz. The Hitec 82 comes in at .58 oz.

For three servos thats about a 1oz difference (total).

You can get away with the mini servo on throttle, but I personally wouldn't skimp on the elevator or aileron servos.

You can get the 225s for $19.99 here.

http://www.southeastrc.com/Items/Std...S&adp=froggle1
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 02:06 PM
  #9  
z06kal
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 211
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

WWOWOW THat is CRAAZZZY cheap for 225MG's.
z06kal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 02:51 PM
  #10  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

Those are Nylon Gears, not Metal.
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 05:03 PM
  #11  
Duane-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Duane-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 548
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

I didn't think 225's would fit in the wing area. I think the 82's replaced the 85's I'll at least use the 225 on the elevator/rudder if they won't fit the wings.
Duane-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 05:18 PM
  #12  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

Does that plane use two aileron servos? Or one in the center?
daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 06:56 PM
  #13  
z06kal
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 211
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

The wing is molded and has servos in the wings. No way HS-225MG's would fit in the wing and no reason why you would need to use them on those tiny ailerons.
z06kal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 07:03 PM
  #14  
airraptor
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fairfield, CA
Posts: 4,191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

it use's two servos. I think the 82's will be fine on the ailerons. the ailerons are .972x 8.25 which give you an area of 8.02 or so sq inches.

you will be using the control horn thats 3/4 an inch away from the surface and should be using the servo arm thats about 1/2 an inch long using the outer most hole for most power. the HS-82's are 47 ounce inches of torque. the 47 is one inch out from the servo so you will have 94 at the half way point. now 3/4 an inch for the control surface will leave you about 70 or so ounces to control the 8 sq inch control surface. I think plenty.

Now i do also know the 225 will fit but the guys run the servo arms out the top skin and tape them on bottom. if you run the 82's out the top they are flush with the wing.

the hobby shop i bought them from told me also that the 82's would be just fine up to a OS32 with nelson or jett pipe which he runs and gets close to 150 with his
airraptor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 06:33 PM
  #15  
airraptor
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fairfield, CA
Posts: 4,191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

i put my jett 35LX in mine and did 191mph with it and it flew just fine on the HS-82's no problems at all MG of course.
airraptor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 04:22 PM
  #16  
z06kal
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 211
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

191mph on a 35LX? I'll believe it when I see. This thing would be lucky to hit 165 with a Qm40/Q500 Jett .40. The fuse is very draggy.
z06kal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 08:27 AM
  #17  
airraptor
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fairfield, CA
Posts: 4,191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

i have no gear on it and to say it will never go that fast is also a mistake on your part.

It is 3.4 lbs, no gear just a single wire skid, no rudder and 650 nimh pack. the motor turns a stock apc 8X7 at 20,500-20,700 on the ground. its a 35LX with a bit more on the exhaust side and running a tuned pipe set up my Dubb.

no that was the down wind leg and the up wind was 174mph for an average of 182.5 this is with a stalker radar gun. one of the guys at the club was filming so i will see if i can get a copy to show you!
airraptor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 04:54 PM
  #18  
z06kal
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 211
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

8x7 at 20,700 on the ground. Lets say it unloads to a optamistic 23,000 in the air that is 152mph level flight at 0% slip angle. Realistically you would expect something in the 14x range with a big draggy fusalage (landing gear or not) as it has way more drag than say a Q500 or Q40. To give you an idea I ran the LR1 electric turning an APC Sport Prop 7x7 at 23,000rpm. Pitch speed over 150. True level flying speed on the prospeed CR1K was 135mph. Even with 0% slip that is still 152mph level flight. Still a long way from 182mph average. Keep in mind a much more streamlined Q40 on a Jett Racing/Nelson .40 turning a 7.4x8 at around 24,000-25,000 can barely crack 180 level. You must be talking out of a monster dive which is comparing apples to oranges.

FYI A few extra ounces or even pounds heavier or lighter will not make a very measurable difference in level speed as this only represents a very slight increase in drag due to a very slightly increased angle of attack. The difference in weight has a much more measurable affect on acceleration such as acceleration out of a pylon turn.
z06kal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 07:12 PM
  #19  
airraptor
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fairfield, CA
Posts: 4,191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

i know what it ran so i dont care that your trying to dispute. just because you couldnt get your to go fast doesnt mean i couldnt.

with a stock OS25 it did 134. we have two different radar guns and they both were very close only 2mph difference and that could be from the angle it was taken.

the E versions were not fast anyway. on this plane with its wing the extra weight does come into play. my club has over 40 of these planes and i have the fastest one. the next fasest one does 178 average.
airraptor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 07:14 PM
  #20  
airraptor
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fairfield, CA
Posts: 4,191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

since your in CA i should invite you down to watch it fly.
airraptor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 07:46 PM
  #21  
samtech
Senior Member
 
samtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 247
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

Which club is that? I'm not to far away. The best I ever got out of mine was 143 Mph strait and level... and that was with a worked over wolf in sheeps clothing ST45. 18500 on the ground with a 8.25 x 9.75.
191... not calling you a liar but I got see this to believe it.
samtech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 12:48 AM
  #22  
z06kal
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 211
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

Yeah what airraptor is saying is basically 2+2=5 . Math doesn't lie. It is a mathamatical certainly that your airplane is NOT going 182mph straight and level. Prop pitch doesn't lie!
z06kal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 09:45 AM
  #23  
airraptor
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fairfield, CA
Posts: 4,191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

well zo6 your not helping this trhead out by disputing my i say, so the heck up! i dont care if you believe me or not! I fly at vaca valley RC in fairfield.

[:@][&o]
airraptor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 11:43 AM
  #24  
samtech
Senior Member
 
samtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 247
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

You flying this weekend? It's going to be a little on the windy side but the morning should be nice. Oh well, I used Hs-85mg's all the way around. But I ditched the stock hardware and used ball jointed horns,carbon rods, ball joints and locking clasp. Zero slop.
samtech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 06:26 PM
  #25  
airraptor
My Feedback: (66)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: fairfield, CA
Posts: 4,191
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: LR1 servos?

i might go sunday but I have to fill in for someone that had to go home on emegency leave.

I used the stock hardware except the elevator set up. I replaced the wood dowel for a hollow carbon rod. soldered the Y end together.

It has been windy here all week. we are just of the bay. last two days have been over 25 knots. I have been thinking of joining the woodland club beacuse they dont hae as much wind and they have alarger group of racers plus they have alow turbine's
airraptor is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service