Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Speed-o-meter

Reply

Old 04-16-2008, 11:25 AM
  #1  
evan-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
evan-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Speed-o-meter

I made up a speed recording system that is transferable between airplanes and have been playing with it on gliders and hotliners. I finaly put it on my Sprint 400 pylon and F5D Nemesis. I was surprised to get a 157.3mph out of the Sprint. I''m very happy with that. I got a 189.1 out of the Nemesis. I have new batteries coming for the Nemesis and will do some experimenting with props...
Attached Images  
evan-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 08:45 PM
  #2  
Stick40
Senior Member
 
Stick40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Escanaba, MI
Posts: 235
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed-o-meter

Very cool, do you have a "control" test for comparison of accuracy or are you just playin around with it?

Stick 40
Stick40 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 09:22 PM
  #3  
vicman
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed-o-meter

Evan,
I have been looking at that thing since they came out with it.
I would love to be able to use something like that for our rally but I'm not sure about how people would feel about us mounting the speed reader on/in their planes. What do you think?
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 09:24 PM
  #4  
evan-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
evan-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed-o-meter

No, they come precalibrated. The airplanes I have had radar'ed have speeds very close to the pitot type system. This is supposed to be very accurate. More than radar, at least sport radars
evan-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 09:28 PM
  #5  
evan-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
evan-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed-o-meter


ORIGINAL: vicman

Evan,
I have been looking at that thing since they came out with it.
I would love to be able to use something like that for our rally but I'm not sure about how people would feel about us mounting the speed reader on/in their planes. What do you think?

How do you want to use it? In a way that would require you trigger it to get a speed at a specific time? If so it's a little harder to do, you'd be able to make a tape on thing like I have and then have a exstension of micro wire taped to the wing going into the wing saddle and plug into the reciever. The good thing is this way you wouldn't need the battery, switch, or charge jack I have on mine.

Why don't you come down and check it out this weekend, we'll put it on your plane...
evan-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 09:43 PM
  #6  
vicman
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed-o-meter

I am very interested in how you have it working.
This weekend is a nogo. I've been away from the hut all week and need to hang with the wife and kids for a day or two.
We have a Q25 and T-6 race in Archdale next Sunday. Can you come up there? Not super fast but fun at any rate.
I will be working in CLT next week and will send you a pm as my schedule firms up.[)]
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 10:11 PM
  #7  
ChrisAttebery
Senior Member
My Feedback: (15)
 
ChrisAttebery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 937
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed-o-meter

Evan,

Can you post some details about what it is and where you can get them? The picture is so small I can't tell what's there.

Thanks,


Chris
ChrisAttebery is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 07:15 AM
  #8  
evan-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
evan-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed-o-meter

Next week I'm in Seattle and Vancouver. Not sure about Archdale but probably not.

I'll take some better pics but here's a bigger pic and the web site where I got the main parts.



http://www.wingedshadow.com/howfast.html
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp43870.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	40.6 KB
ID:	931814  
evan-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 02:32 PM
  #9  
CrashPro
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
CrashPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indio, CA
Posts: 940
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed-o-meter

I have the Winged Shadow system on my Bobcat....heres a speed reading from a flight this morning.

http://home.dc.rr.com/maurie/Howfast.wmv
CrashPro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 03:55 PM
  #10  
evan-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
evan-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed-o-meter

Very clean set up.... Are you going to buy extra tubes to be able to mount it in other airplanes?
evan-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 04:16 PM
  #11  
CrashPro
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
CrashPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indio, CA
Posts: 940
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed-o-meter


ORIGINAL: evan-RCU

Very clean set up.... Are you going to buy extra tubes to be able to mount it in other airplanes?

yeppers evan.......have 5 extra sets....one set will be going in my NM Kangaroo, and in my Cermark F18
CrashPro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 04:23 PM
  #12  
evan-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
evan-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed-o-meter

Very cool, I'm impressed.
evan-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 04:53 PM
  #13  
CrashPro
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
CrashPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indio, CA
Posts: 940
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed-o-meter

Thanks evan....I'd like to make something too that holds the pitot tubes, and can easily be moved from plane to plane.
I really don't want to open up the wing on the F18 to mount the tubes.
Heres a video of my Bobcat...had a top speed of 115.5 on the WingedShadow that day..

http://home.dc.rr.com/maurie/Bobcat%20March%2018.wmv
CrashPro is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service