Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Putting a BIG carb on a Nelson ?

Reply

Old 05-07-2003, 12:10 AM
  #1  
turbine guy
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (266)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 255
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Putting a BIG carb on a Nelson ?

I have a Nelson sport Q500 ABC motor.
It originally came with a smallish Supertiger carb. -thats why the "sport" designation. Top end is a little off campared to the "race" Q500 Nelsons, but it does idle!

I have heard that some have put the Supertiger 3000! carb on this 40 motor and the top end doesn't suffer.

Can someone enlighten me on performance gains and what's needed to convert?

Thanks,
Jake

bruckler@calis.com
turbine guy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 01:32 AM
  #2  
jlong34016
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: columbus, OR,
Posts: 365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default os 7D

I got my nelson from perf. spec. They put an os 7D on it and said thats the only carb that will work. It works fine til it heats up then the barrel sticks. Maybe i am running too hot or something but it locks up tight until it cools off. I was going to try a jett red carb and see if that works but havent tried it yet. Dont even know if it fits.
jlong34016 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 09:56 AM
  #3  
Rudeboy
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Putting a BIG carb on a Nelson ?

Check the clearances on your bearings... your crankcase shouldn't get that hot...

As for the ST3000 carb... that's a very small carb for a 30cc engine... it is the same carb as on their 10cc (.60) engines. So that would make it about the right size for a Nelson engine.
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2003, 05:28 PM
  #4  
Mac-The-Knife
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fresno
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Carb fr the Nelson

If it is the same size for the Super tigre engines,.60 and up I use the ASP .60 carb and the I.D. of the carb is 4.30",It tunes A hole lot better and it helps the S.T. engines I use on them.I think Horizon hobby has them for around $25.Take care-Wilburn
Mac-The-Knife is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2003, 12:48 AM
  #5  
Fly Fast n Left
Member
 
Fly Fast n Left's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Gatos, CA
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Putting a BIG carb on a Nelson ?

I have talked to Dub Jett and asked for a red jett carb for the jett Q-500 motor and I am just going to machine the carb down and make a shim. The difference between the jett and the nelson carbs is .008". As to the actual hole through the carb it should be close to 9mm or 3/8". I have a perry carb on my Q-500 engine and it turns the same rpm's as the stock air barrel carb. The jett carb is a very nice piece of equipment. What is this ASP .60 carb about? A buddy of mine has a Q-500 engine with an O.S. 7D on it and I can turn about 400rpm's quicker

Jacob
Fly Fast n Left is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 02:42 PM
  #6  
Mac-The-Knife
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fresno
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Asp 60 size carb

Hi,I use the ASP 60 size carb for it's throat size (4.30") and it tune's realy good.The OS 7D throat size is A lot smaller and I put it on my Super tigre engines,60 and up and have put it on A Enya 60X that is blue printed with A pipe and it turned A Master Airscrew 9/8 at 20,000 rpm's and it tuned A hole lot better than the carb that was on it and with that carb was only hiting 18,500 rpm's.I also think the large Magnum carb 60 and larger is the same I.D. and O.D. as the ASP carb and it tunes good.Take care-Wilburn
Mac-The-Knife is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2003, 10:23 PM
  #7  
Fly Fast n Left
Member
 
Fly Fast n Left's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Gatos, CA
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Putting a BIG carb on a Nelson ?

Wilburn-
Will the ASP carb fit in the nelson with out modifications? Do you have a part number that I can order from Horizon directly? I can turn a 8.8X8.75W at 19,600rpm's on the ground on 15% powermaster.

Jacob
Fly Fast n Left is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2003, 03:50 AM
  #8  
Mac-The-Knife
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fresno
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Putting a BIG carb on a Nelson ?

H Jacob,I went the there web site and now they are not selling te ASP engines anymore.Which is not good for me becouse I canot buy anymore ASP carbs from them.I will have to do some seaching for the carbs now. The carb O.D. is 5/8".I will let you know what I find.Take care-Wilburn
Mac-The-Knife is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service