Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Speed prop for OS 55AX?

Reply

Old 05-30-2008, 02:13 PM
  #1  
TruBlu02
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
TruBlu02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sambach, AE, GERMANY
Posts: 842
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Speed prop for OS 55AX?

Hey guys I am heading down to the LHS to get a new 55AX and I need to know which prop to get for speed use. Has anyone used this engine and what props do you reccomend? Thanks guys!!
TruBlu02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 02:56 PM
  #2  
Teedee
Junior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed prop for OS 55AX?

I use a 11x8 pusher prop on my bobcat, but it is cut down to about a 9.5x8. I would use a APC 11x8 and cut the diameter down until you get about 14.000 rpms . My Bobcat was radared at 130 mph in a dive with a hobby radar gun (Bushnell ?). I was getting about 14.000 on the ground . I always made sure it was a little rich as it overheated if I idled it too long.
Teedee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 04:13 PM
  #3  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed prop for OS 55AX?

The prop must match the airframe and the engine. What airframe is it going on?
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 04:45 PM
  #4  
liquid_TR
Senior Member
 
liquid_TR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: ISTANBUL, TURKEY
Posts: 730
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed prop for OS 55AX?

Ive been using APC standard 9x9 , 9x8 and 9.5X8N pylon props with success (stock exhaust). 10x9 is too much prop for this engine if speed is first priority for a sleek and light airframe.

Break it in like breaking in a jett engine, low load, full throttle, rich mixture, high rpms..
liquid_TR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 12:37 PM
  #5  
TruBlu02
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
TruBlu02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sambach, AE, GERMANY
Posts: 842
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed prop for OS 55AX?

Thanks for the info guys. I do have a APC 9x8 in my box that I bought. I was hoping to use it for this plane. The plane I am building is a little different from what you guys may be used to seeing. It is going onto a SPAD Talon made by Plastic Concept Planes. It is much lighter that I thought it would be and I think it is going to be a real missle for a SPAD. I attached a pic from their website.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh16416.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	115.6 KB
ID:	962238  
TruBlu02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 01:16 PM
  #6  
bob27s
My Feedback: (19)
 
bob27s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 5,576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed prop for OS 55AX?

Key to the engine prop it so it runs between 14,000 and 14,500 peak rpm on the ground. (regardless of the muffler or pipe chosen).

Then it is a matter of matching the prop for the application.

For what you have shown there, I would suggest a 10x7. Since its not really spinning high rpm, you want the disk area to make up for things a bit.
bob27s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 03:00 PM
  #7  
combatpigg
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
combatpigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: arlington, WA
Posts: 19,891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed prop for OS 55AX?

I wouldn't worry too much about getting that plane going too fast. Those forward facing wingtips look like trouble. If they don't end up fluttering first, any flexing at all will have you busy trying to keep the plane right-side-up.
combatpigg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 05:33 AM
  #8  
panzerd18
Senior Member
 
panzerd18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: RomseyVictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 266
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed prop for OS 55AX?

I get 12,500 static with an APC 10x8 on a 46AX. On a 55AX I think a APC 10x8 would be great.
panzerd18 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 07:52 AM
  #9  
TruBlu02
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
TruBlu02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sambach, AE, GERMANY
Posts: 842
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed prop for OS 55AX?

Looks like I need to just go grab a big handful of props and just figure out what works.
TruBlu02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 04:21 AM
  #10  
gofastz
Member
 
gofastz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Callahan, FL
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed prop for OS 55AX?

Like Bob said.....10X7 APC is the best bang for the buck....You don't need to go through all the props as I did....10X8 is too much pitch....10X7 is going to give you the RPM to Thrust ratio your looking for.....At least try it first....Could save you alot of time and trouble......Gofastz
gofastz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 11:10 AM
  #11  
TruBlu02
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
TruBlu02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sambach, AE, GERMANY
Posts: 842
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed prop for OS 55AX?

I'm about to walk out the door to the LHS. Good thing I checked this first! Thanks Gofastz!! I am going to grab a few 10x7's. Hopefully they got some in stock . Knowing my luck though....

I did get to maiden the aircraft in question last night with the 12x4 APC I stuck on it for break in. Wow this thing is fast! I am so used to flying 3D that I was amazed how fast this thing can rip from one side of the field to the other. I cant wait to step it up to a faster prop!
TruBlu02 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 07:03 PM
  #12  
rsmith0525
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Merrillville, IN
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed prop for OS 55AX?

What's a good speed prop for sundowner 50 w/os55?
rsmith0525 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 01:48 AM
  #13  
gofastz
Member
 
gofastz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Callahan, FL
Posts: 87
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed prop for OS 55AX?

Go with 10X7apc.....gofastz
gofastz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 08:10 AM
  #14  
Blade47
Senior Member
 
Blade47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Whitehorse, YT, CANADA
Posts: 1,216
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed prop for OS 55AX?

MAS 11x7 scimitar 2 prop works well on my 7.8 lb F-16 with OS 55AX...just make sure you get the Dark Gray prop and not the black.

If you have a APC 11x6 weight it against the MAS 11x7 you will find it is a lot lighter as well.

cheers
Blade47 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 03:35 AM
  #15  
afxdz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: kuala lumpur, MALAYSIA
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed prop for OS 55AX?

my plane is 6.8lbs and use os 55 with tune pipe. which props is the best for pylon? now im using 11X8 apc. dont know it is the best or not. thanks..
afxdz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 03:48 AM
  #16  
freeair
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: queensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed prop for OS 55AX?


ORIGINAL: afxdz

my plane is 6.8lbs and use os 55 with tune pipe. which props is the best for pylon? now im using 11X8 apc. dont know it is the best or not. thanks..
try an APC 10X 7 or a 9 x 8.
freeair is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 06:30 AM
  #17  
freakingfast
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mather, CA
Posts: 2,222
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed prop for OS 55AX?


ORIGINAL: afxdz

my plane is 6.8lbs and use os 55 with tune pipe. which props is the best for pylon? now im using 11X8 apc. dont know it is the best or not. thanks..
You didn't say the make of plane, but I take it that it's fairly clean yet a tad on the heavy side. The APC 11x8 is way too much prop to get in this engine's power band.
For your set up you need some disc area, so I'd start with Master Airscrews 11x7 S-2 series Part # MA1170S (formaly known as Scimitar series) or the APC 11x6 my second pick.

If the plane has more drag a MA 12x5 S-2 or a MA 12x6 S-2 cut down to 11.4x6.
freakingfast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 12:37 PM
  #18  
afxdz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: kuala lumpur, MALAYSIA
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed prop for OS 55AX?

thanks,

can i use any 3 or 4 blades props? what size?
afxdz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 01:13 PM
  #19  
freakingfast
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mather, CA
Posts: 2,222
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Speed prop for OS 55AX?

ORIGINAL: afxdz

thanks,

can i use any 3 or 4 blades props? what size?
Yes but you will loose a bit of top speed compaired too the MA 11x7 S-2, but a 10x7, 3 blade Master Airscrew will increase ground clearance, climb rate and braking.
freakingfast is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service