Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Extreme Speed Prop Planes
Reload this Page >

West Eurotec engine eating plugs for breakfast...

Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

West Eurotec engine eating plugs for breakfast...

Reply

Old 05-13-2003, 10:43 AM
  #1  
Rudeboy
Thread Starter
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default West Eurotec engine eating plugs for breakfast...

I'm running 10% nitro, 18% full synthetic oil...

What am I doing wrong?

I haven't run it lean, in fact I'm running it rather rich, as the engine is still very new. If I run it richer, it will start to four stroke and I don't want that...

I've read post of people running up to 15% nitro in their West engines... So I thought I was on the safe side.

And I haven't even shortened the header yet. Well, I have shortened it today, and I tried to start it to see how it would do, but the plug was gone... and I'm out of cold plugs...

I might try a tank of 0% nitro tomorrow, just to see how the engine does on that.

Did any of you speed freaks run your West engine on 0%?
If so, how does the engine react to that?

Of course, I wouldn't mind running 0% nitro...lost cheaper, but I just thought the engine needed some nitro to really come alive.

I'm using a Rossi R5 plug, so that should be ok IMO...
I could buy some R6 and R7 plugs, but I think that would be taking it too far... I thought I was already running a very cold plug with the R5...
Or maybe I should step up to Enya quality, but that would be very costly at the current plug eating rate...
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2003, 11:27 AM
  #2  
MMallory
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: South Plainfield, NJ
Posts: 1,148
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default West Eurotec engine eating plugs for breakfast...

Rudeboy,

Check your head bolts and make sure your carb is tight. You may have an air leak. What RPM are you turning, which prop?

Mark
MMallory is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2003, 11:39 AM
  #3  
Jim Cattanach
 
Jim Cattanach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Larnaca, , CYPRUS
Posts: 2,109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default West Eurotec engine eating plugs for breakfast...

I use enya 3 plugs in my engine & I haven't changed one for at least 30 flights. I am using an APC 8X8 prop & similar fuel to you.
Jim Cattanach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2003, 11:41 AM
  #4  
Rudeboy
Thread Starter
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default West Eurotec engine eating plugs for breakfast...

Carb is tight... it came loose when I fired up the engine the first time, so I tightened it a little more after that.

I checked the head bolts before I installed the engine. They were not torqued equally, so I straightened that out too...

I'm running an APC 8x8 now.

I haven't checked RPM yet, as the engine is still new, and I know myself... when I dig out the tach, I will start to fiddle with things to get more...
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2003, 11:42 AM
  #5  
Rudeboy
Thread Starter
 
Rudeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kortessem, BELGIUM
Posts: 3,508
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default West Eurotec engine eating plugs for breakfast...

An Enya 3?? That's a hot plug...

But hey, if it works for you, I might give it a try too...
Rudeboy is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service