Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Weston Magnum Internal set up

Reply

Old 10-13-2008, 10:47 PM
  #1  
Dblex
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (81)
 
Dblex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corpus Christi , TX
Posts: 680
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Weston Magnum Internal set up

Im putting together my Weston Magnum and I was just curious if some of you could post pics of the inside of the fuse on yours. The instructions have the throttle servo on the balsa plate, but I would like to see where most of you are putting them. Not to mention battery positions, RX ect


Thanks guys!

please post pics or email me the pics

roneperez@stx.rr.com

thanks guys!
Dblex is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 08:06 AM
  #2  
vicman
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Weston Magnum Internal set up

Ron,
I recomend a search for Weston Magnum. There are several pages of info about how to set your plane up for sucess with diffrent engine and prop combos. If you don't turn any good stuff up let me know and I will try to dig some of the old threads back up for you.
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 01:17 PM
  #3  
Dblex
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (81)
 
Dblex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corpus Christi , TX
Posts: 680
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Weston Magnum Internal set up

I searched for a while last night...couldnt get the internal pics I was looking for.
Dblex is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 01:39 PM
  #4  
vicman
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Weston Magnum Internal set up

Not much to see really. The servos go in just like the instructions show. However to get the CG right you will want to cut a hatch further back. I'll take a look for the older posts after work when I have some time. I know Crazy4Flight took a bunch of his.
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 03:30 PM
  #5  
Crazy4Flight
My Feedback: (540)
 
Crazy4Flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 3,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Weston Magnum Internal set up

I put a Dub JETT .50 in the nose of mine.

To balance the Rx battery was behind the elevator servo.

I cut a hatch in the bottom of the fuse to install the battery.

throttle servo went where they made a pocket and I added a hole or two for the pushrod.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp42692.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	49.9 KB
ID:	1053078   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bw73091.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	57.4 KB
ID:	1053079   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sx62790.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	102.0 KB
ID:	1053080   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ic84243.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	98.2 KB
ID:	1053081  
Crazy4Flight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 07:25 PM
  #6  
rmenke
Senior Member
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Merced, Ca., CA
Posts: 2,118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Weston Magnum Internal set up


Hay Crazy:

One of the clubs better "young guns" brought in a Weston Magnum for "Show & Tell" at our clubs meeting last night. It is the first one around, have never seen one fly.
During his naration, he admitted to purchasing the thing to kick this old man's tail. Being the kind soul I am I reminded him this has been a ongoing thing for the past four years, no cigar yet. Words led to words, so now its a race for pinks. I don't want to take a sword to a knife fight, but do not want to loose either. Accordingly, I need to know if the Weston Magnum will turn a pilon decently (using a Q-500 as a base). Am aware they will run in the 180's which is not a problem, but if it will turn, gonna have to take out my "Yellow Jacket" which is faster, and will turn. What do you think?? thanks, ENJOY
rmenke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 07:51 PM
  #7  
Crazy4Flight
My Feedback: (540)
 
Crazy4Flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 3,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Weston Magnum Internal set up

just what motor will he be using?


The magnum bleeds some of speed in tight turns...
so in a pylon race course it will fall behind in the turns.

Even my dog of a Viper, underpowered, carried speed thru the turns
youth and exuberance is no match for old age and treachery.

So hold the trottle back and sand bag the boy in the first heat.

Also the big canopy and thick trailing edges induce a lot of drag.

Having a fast plane is good.

Being able to fly it is better
Crazy4Flight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 08:01 PM
  #8  
MJD
My Feedback: (1)
 
MJD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orangeville, ON, CANADA
Posts: 8,629
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Weston Magnum Internal set up


ORIGINAL: rmenke
Hay Crazy:

One of the clubs better "young guns" brought in a Weston Magnum for "Show & Tell" at our clubs meeting last night. It is the first one around, have never seen one fly.
During his naration, he admitted to purchasing the thing to kick this old man's tail. Being the kind soul I am I reminded him this has been a ongoing thing for the past four years, no cigar yet. Words led to words, so now its a race for pinks. I don't want to take a sword to a knife fight, but do not want to loose either. Accordingly, I need to know if the Weston Magnum will turn a pilon decently (using a Q-500 as a base). Am aware they will run in the 180's which is not a problem, but if it will turn, gonna have to take out my "Yellow Jacket" which is faster, and will turn. What do you think?? thanks, ENJOY
One of the things they do most poorly in relation to a Q500 is turn - the wing incorporates nearly every design feature you could think of that contributes to wasting energy in tight turns. But appearance-wise the shape is somewhat cool, and most definitely plays on so many people's instinctive reaction to jet-looking models - "ooh, that must be fast..". If he tries to horse it too hard around the pylons and depending on his CG, he could even snap into the ground. On my first Magnum flight I snapped it on approach during the turn to final.. hmm, too much throw methinks.. but managed to recover just shy of the treetops and bring it in. That was a Tide moment. I subesquently reduced all the throws at every rate setting and was much more at peace with it.

If your airplane is even close to the same top speed, you ought to smoke his tail without too much effort. The fact that he thinks he can take you in a pylon race speaks oodles about what he thinks the model is capable of that it might not be.. but I wouldn't fall asleep at the joystick either if I were you.

MJD
MJD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 08:46 PM
  #9  
vicman
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Weston Magnum Internal set up

I have both a 424 and a Jett .50 powered Magnum I think I would pick the same engine in a Q500 plane over the Magnum on course. We ran the Magnum past a radar gun at our speed rally and got 159 while a 428 plane got 181. Like the other guys said the Magnum aint not pylon job for sure.

just my .02[8D]
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 09:30 PM
  #10  
Dblex
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (81)
 
Dblex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corpus Christi , TX
Posts: 680
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Weston Magnum Internal set up

Just finished mine today....

Throws on ailerons and elev as per manual?

CG ok as per manual?
Dblex is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 09:35 PM
  #11  
Crazy4Flight
My Feedback: (540)
 
Crazy4Flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 3,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Weston Magnum Internal set up

do a search on the magnum,

I think the manual's CG is might be wrong and it should be father back.

I used dual rates on elevator and 35% expo high rate on landing only
Crazy4Flight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 08:46 PM
  #12  
Dblex
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (81)
 
Dblex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corpus Christi , TX
Posts: 680
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Weston Magnum Internal set up

Shes finished, battery is behind the elev servo, but I cant get her to balance.

May have to add some weight in the tail

anyone have to add weight? she balances around 120mm...but little nose heavy at 130mm.
Dblex is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 08:37 PM
  #13  
vicman
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Weston Magnum Internal set up

You can see weight taped to C4F's plane. I taped some weight on the back of mine too. Small price for the grace you will pick up on landing and take off.
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 06:44 AM
  #14  
phjoker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
phjoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vernon, NJ
Posts: 869
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Weston Magnum Internal set up

yea I had some lead on the back of mine also.
phjoker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 08:59 PM
  #15  
Crazy4Flight
My Feedback: (540)
 
Crazy4Flight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 3,014
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Weston Magnum Internal set up


ORIGINAL: vicman

You can see weight taped to C4F's plane. I taped some weight on the back of mine too. Small price for the grace you will pick up on landing and take off.

The lead weights were glued and screwed to the tail of my Magnum durring final assembly.

Do not trust the sticky back tape for external mounting.

The flat on the back of the fuse is the same width as the lead weights, GreatPlanes brand.
Crazy4Flight is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service