Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

Reply

Old 10-17-2008, 02:32 PM
  #1  
Goinstraightup
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
Goinstraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Baraboo , WI
Posts: 2,307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

I'm a really slow builder and this only took a weekend and a few nights to get this far. Fast for me, probably quite a long time for the fast DD builders.

I got it coverd in about 4 hours - again fast for me. I'll try to get some pics of it covered ready to install gear tonight.

Jeff
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx71314.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	1053659   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pl32426.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	57.9 KB
ID:	1053660   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ot46932.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	63.5 KB
ID:	1053661   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qk22341.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	60.7 KB
ID:	1053662  
Goinstraightup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 05:16 PM
  #2  
Goinstraightup
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
Goinstraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Baraboo , WI
Posts: 2,307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up

Covering pics. I need to cut out the fuel tank and hatch areas yet. Jeff
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl30512.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	77.9 KB
ID:	1053780   Click image for larger version

Name:	Oj26084.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	76.4 KB
ID:	1053781   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mr41118.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	69.6 KB
ID:	1053782   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rl25948.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	74.2 KB
ID:	1053783   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vg53562.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	78.8 KB
ID:	1053784  
Goinstraightup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 06:11 PM
  #3  
freakingfast
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mather, CA
Posts: 2,222
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

Oooooo aint that purdy. Yup, you will see that one. Nice job!
freakingfast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 09:42 PM
  #4  
Goinstraightup
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
Goinstraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Baraboo , WI
Posts: 2,307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

Thanks Freakingfast. I did the modification you recommended of the back servo rail hole when I cut out the center ribs. My servo heights came out perfect - just the arm sticking above the hatch. I've got the tank, servo's and RX installed. Need to do linkages, engine mount and battery and it's ready to go.
Goinstraightup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 02:22 AM
  #5  
combatpigg
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
combatpigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: arlington, WA
Posts: 19,891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up

Nice work GSU......is this your first fast delta?
combatpigg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 05:54 AM
  #6  
mk1spitfire
Senior Member
 
mk1spitfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: south, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,208
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up

nice work, whats its dry weight now its filmed up?
mk1spitfire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 09:30 AM
  #7  
Goinstraightup
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
Goinstraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Baraboo , WI
Posts: 2,307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up

Yes, this is my first fast delta. I've flown a buds DD a few times. That one had a 32SX with macs pipe. My current speed plane is a Scat Cat.

No, I didn't get a weight. I should have got a frame up weight and a covered weight but I didn't. I will get a weight when it is ready to fly.

Goinstraightup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 12:13 PM
  #8  
ThunderBirds
Junior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Reedsburg, WI
Posts: 20
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

Jeff, that DD looks great!

What engine and prop is going in the DD and do you plan on flying the new "Patriotic DD" this season? If so I would like to be at the Maiden flight.
ThunderBirds is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 12:21 PM
  #9  
Goinstraightup
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
Goinstraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Baraboo , WI
Posts: 2,307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

I'm going to use a 40FP with macs muffler initially. Then may go to an OS 46SF with Ultrathrust Muffler.

Still need to work on the install. I hope to fly it before snow gets here.

Goinstraightup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 12:44 PM
  #10  
mk1spitfire
Senior Member
 
mk1spitfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: south, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,208
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

what type of hinge did you use? Mylar? 4 each elevon?
mk1spitfire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 01:15 PM
  #11  
Goinstraightup
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
Goinstraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Baraboo , WI
Posts: 2,307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

I used the CA hinges (Mylar hinge is a CA hinge in the UK?). The plans I have 3 per flight surface. I don't think the hinge thing is so critical because the covering goes over the hinge line both top and bottom. It's a very solid hinge line after the covering is on.
Goinstraightup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 01:05 PM
  #12  
ThunderBirds
Junior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Reedsburg, WI
Posts: 20
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

Can you let me know when you plan on flying the DD?
Thanks,
ThunderBirds is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 08:20 PM
  #13  
Goinstraightup
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
Goinstraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Baraboo , WI
Posts: 2,307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

Sent you a PM. I'm not going to be able to fly it for a while. I Still hope to fly it before winter sets in, but it's not going to be soon.
Goinstraightup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 02:21 AM
  #14  
scotty302
 
scotty302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Posts: 85
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

Wish you the best of luck on your test flight, should be a tame flyer with the 40fp. Hope you got some skids on the bottom to save the checkerboard, even on grass. Had to recover mine a time or two.
scotty302 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 09:02 PM
  #15  
Panzlflyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (15)
 
Panzlflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 1,960
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

Just got my kit in the mail today...got a Jett 50 lined up for it
Panzlflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 06:59 AM
  #16  
freakingfast
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mather, CA
Posts: 2,222
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

ORIGINAL: Panzlflyer

Just got my kit in the mail today...got a Jett 50 lined up for it
That's about the most perfect "Premium" engine for it. Performance, weight, ease of use, longevity, warrenty, support, avalibility, runtime and ease of launch (F.I.R.E).

But it doesn’t come cheap.
freakingfast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 05:36 PM
  #17  
Panzlflyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (15)
 
Panzlflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 1,960
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

Ah!!! I got a deal from a buddy who has it filled with afterun and ran it probably 10 times so it probably still needs breaking in.
Got a need for some speed, the Outlaw is getting slow although its still a blast to fly.
Panzlflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 08:30 PM
  #18  
Goinstraightup
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
Goinstraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Baraboo , WI
Posts: 2,307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

I'ts ready to go. Weather is not tho'. Not looking good any time soon for maiden. I put some clear covering over the checkers on the planes bottom and wing tips where I think it would get the most landing rash. RTF weight is 2lbs 9oz.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu59597.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	74.8 KB
ID:	1071063   Click image for larger version

Name:	Je11027.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	66.3 KB
ID:	1071064   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ch96778.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	64.5 KB
ID:	1071065   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tm30603.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	74.5 KB
ID:	1071066  
Goinstraightup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 09:56 PM
  #19  
LeeHop
Senior Member
 
LeeHop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Aurora, OR
Posts: 248
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

Lookin very good, Jeff.
What holds the fuel tank in?
LeeHop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 10:37 PM
  #20  
combatpigg
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
combatpigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: arlington, WA
Posts: 19,891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

Outstanding job, GSU!

No solid food after midnight before the maiden.
combatpigg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 02:30 AM
  #21  
freakingfast
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mather, CA
Posts: 2,222
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered


ORIGINAL: LeeHop

Lookin very good, Jeff.
What holds the fuel tank in?
Think positive......G forces.....Kidding

LOOKING GOOD JEFF! You'll do fine on the maiden flight.
freakingfast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 08:28 AM
  #22  
Goinstraightup
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
Goinstraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Baraboo , WI
Posts: 2,307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

Thanks for the compliments!!

I put a few small beads of silicone calk on the tank and set it in.
I've had good luck with silicone holding tanks on planes in the past, but this is more open so we'll see how it holds up.
I'm not sure how well the silicone will dampen the vibes on this plane, but if there's a problem I have a bubbleless clunk to try.

Jeff
Goinstraightup is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 09:25 AM
  #23  
mk1spitfire
Senior Member
 
mk1spitfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: south, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,208
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

great, hope you get some video
mk1spitfire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 09:01 PM
  #24  
freakingfast
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mather, CA
Posts: 2,222
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

ORIGINAL: Goinstraightup

Thanks for the compliments!!

I put a few small beads of silicone calk on the tank and set it in.
I've had good luck with silicone holding tanks on planes in the past, but this is more open so we'll see how it holds up.
I'm not sure how well the silicone will dampen the vibes on this plane, but if there's a problem I have a bubbleless clunk to try.

Jeff
Try it, but normaly gluing the tank in with silicone or ShoeGoop is a no-no. If if foams bad, even a bubbleless clunk can only help so much.
It's almost a sure bet with a higher reving engine you'll turn the fuel to froth that way.
freakingfast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 09:26 PM
  #25  
combatpigg
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
combatpigg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: arlington, WA
Posts: 19,891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Got my Diamond Dust Framed up and covered

It's amazing to see the fuel go from solid to foam when the vibration level is high enough. It's also aggravating when you have a big day planned at the field.
combatpigg is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service