Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Shrike 40 size build question..

Reply

Old 05-27-2003, 12:31 AM
  #1  
Frag
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 285
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Shrike 40 size build question..

Lanier RC Shrike 40

When building the front of the plane there is no mention of 'pulling' the sides of the fuse together when gluing in the 1/2 tri stock. If not pulled in, there are large gaps between the fuse sides and the upper and lower front block wood. I can see that maybe if not pulled in, and the tri stock glued in each corner, that maybe while sanding the nose round the gaps would be eliminated. I know a picture would help, but don't have that capability right now. I'm sure some of you shrike builders remember this from your own experience. Seems like you'd have to pull pretty hard to get those fuse sides in. I actually did put a clamp on the fuse and pulled the sides in to meet the front end blocks, but want to make sure thats the way before I ca it in.
Thanks--
Fraggy
Frag is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2003, 02:32 PM
  #2  
Mike Connor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Mike Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,025
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Re: Shrike 40 size build question..

It has been a couple of years since I built mine but I do not remember the issue you are referring to. I do remember there were no gaps in the nose area that needed to be sanded out. There was a lot of sanding to round the nose. Looking at mine now, there is not that much bend in the sides of the fuse in the nose area.
Mike Connor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2003, 03:29 PM
  #3  
Frag
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 285
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Shrike 40 size build question..

I'm going to take a picture of it this evening to show what it looks like. I'm pretty certain I've built it squared up to this point, so I'm probably missunderstanding something in the building directions....
Frag is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2003, 02:59 PM
  #4  
Frag
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 285
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Shrike 40 size build question..

I called Lanier RC. Real nice folks. The rep on the phone said that, yes, you pull in the fuse to meet the upper and lower wood blocks. Thats what I figured anyways. I just wanted to make sure before ca-ing it.
Frag is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service